We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned home from a night at the malmaison Newcastle.. What can I say this place is amazing ...totally loved every moment and everything about it. Room was very large with everything and more we could need for the night and spotlessly clean. Fab views onto the river. Well worth anybody's money. Not expensive for drinks and meals. With fantastic staff. Well done to everybody who works there. Keep up the great work. Thankyou.... Can't wait to try the rest around the country..............

Room Tip: Ask for a water side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,644 - 1,650 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay, was an absolute splendid time. All staff were extremely polite and helpful in particular a young male room attendant on my floor called ellyon, he told me the best places to visit in Newcastle while on my stay. Will most defiantly be coming back and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bankingteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed on dinner, bed and breakfast at the Malmaison for my birthday (watch out for the small print as now breakfast only means continental and you have to pay to have cooked - little cheeky). The meal on the Friday night though was out of this world. It was simply perfection itself. Could not fault the food at all. One of the best meals that I've ever had. Unreal.

Room Tip: Room 615 is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Likestotravelallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I live in Newcastle and therefore have never had any real reason to stay at this hotel, but my wife surprised me for my birthday with a romantic break in one of the extensive suites on the top floor.

I must say that the hotal furnishings are fantastic, with sumptuous sofas and bedding as well as nice little touches in room such as the lounge areas.

We had a great view overlooking the Tyne Bridge, and I would highly recomend a stay here, to sample the more refined delights that Newcastle has to offer.

Tip: the cocktail bar and restaurant can get booked up well in advance and are always busy. Get booked up as soon as you can.

Room Tip: Any of the suites are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Good location on quayside. Room was decent (superior king) - good size, big bed and it was clean. The b'fast was really good (great to order to freshly cooked eggs Benedict) and the bar was nice too with friendly service. Never got a chance to try the spa!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosy-Maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here midweek in a beautiful corner room which was big enough to have a sofa area, given we were there for two days this was a nice 'extra' although I would say that the bathroom was very small and pokey. Loved the bar area, husband used the spa however on one occasion he had to wait because it hadn't been turned on. There was an awful smell near the lifts which we could smell on both days of our stay. Parking is over the road and discounted at 10 per 24 hours, you pay the hotel. Hotel is in a nice position just next to the millennium bridge, and the city centre is a 10/15 minute walk away.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ireallywanttogothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent 2 nights mid week and could not fault it. Location is amazing, our room was huge with a wonderful view of the river and sunrise. It was also quiet with very little noise transference compared to some hotels we have stayed in. Staff were extremely friendly, efficient and helpful and the spa was wonderful (I had the best facial ever). Things we particularly liked - well stocked minibar and nibbles for peckish travellers, lovely filter coffee in room, crisp linen napkins with all meals, full menu for room service, fresh orange juice and amazing breakfast, fab shower, good evening meals. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WardKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $109 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing