We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trying to be something different - but in the end nothing special...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“trying to be something different - but in the end nothing special...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights fro business. The hotel was fine, I found the bed a bit too hard and pillows a bit too soft, but no big deal. Overall a good hotel, with excellent location just by the river and the millennium bridge. walking distance to restaurants, bar and if in town for business, you can still go for a walk in the evening and get a nice view.
I personally found the place a bit too...dark. it was hard to get light enough in the room in the morning and it was a bit noisy. I believe a lot of business travelers stay here, and as of 6 AM I constantly heard the noise of showers and suitcases being dragged in the corridors. Prices in the bar/minibar very reasonable and personnel friendly, as "normally".
Doesn't really manage to be that "different" as it tries to be, and therefore the french voice in the elevator becomes just....weird.

Room Tip: river view is nice I assume, so ask for that if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlitaEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    723
    315
    128
    67
See reviews for
217
1,134
48
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have stayed at The Malmaison, Newcastle twice in the past month (both times on business trips) and have found it to be quite exceptional. Everyone, from the front desk, through to the restaurant and bar - and including "back of house" - have been cooperative, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Nothing has ever been too much trouble for them. The rooms are great, especially the ones overlooking the Millennium Bridge. I have stayed at many hotels both here, USA and Canada over the past 18 months and Malmaison is up there with the best of them. In terms of UK standards of friendliness, service and value for money, it sets the bar in this country, and is far and away the best that I have experienced here.

Room Tip: Definitely go for rooms at the front overlooking the bridge. And don't forget your camera!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for a romantic break with my wife, 15 years was something worth celebrating so i booked this hotel hoping it would meet all my expectations. Well it certainly did that and more!!!
Our room was massive, with 2 TVs should you have needed one, a sofa and chairs, work area ( unused by us :) ) massive bed and a smart modern bathroom, it had everything you could need in the room. The decor was very nice and tastefully done, yes, its odd with the corridors all being purple but that's just part of the boutique appeal i guess. They made us feel very special with real rose petals all over the bed and a free drink at the fantastic bar, you need to see this bar its very very stylish. The staff were very welcoming at ALL times and couldn't do more for you. The location was great for us, weather was nice and sunny so when its like that the quayside is a great place to be. Its a fair walk into the main shopping area but there's plenty of taxi's and even a bus service should you not manage the long steep hill. Outside was pitcher and piano which is a very nice bar looking right over the Tyne.
Would i stay here again? you bet i would, could i afford it again? well i better start saving but to us it was well worth it, first time in 13 years away from the kids and it was worth every penny

Room Tip: The Tyne view is worth it, ask for a room with a view. we had a corner room but no idea if this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I booked this 1 night stay for my parents 40th Wedding Anniversary on the 29th of September.

The pre-stay service and communication was superb. I requested a special message and greeting for my parents and if possible as many romantic touches as possible. Jenna dealt with my requests and was incredibly helpful. I must thank her for her special efforts in particular!

I was not disappointed - they reported back to say they had the best time ever. Rose petals on the bed, an upgraded breakfast and service that was unrivalled. It was enough to make me want to take my partner there for an overnight stay.

The river views are spectacular and the decor tasteful. I know the city well and can comment on the location - being useful for a spot of shopping, but also close to several bars (Pitcher & Piano) to relax and have an evening beer. It is of course close to the Baltic, just across the river too for a spot of culture.

Although the price is high, you are paying for luxury and that is what you receive - even the bath amenities are custom made and huge! If you choose this hotel you will feel special!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here 1 night for a work meeting. The staff were all friendly and efficient at check in/check out. The food although tasty had unusual combinations and food was not ready when expected which is important for meetings. The rooms are lovely, cannot fault. I saw some of the top level suites and if you can afford it go for them, really high quality. Bar area in evening worth having a few drinks also.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 27steve118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed with my daughter here on a nostalgia trip. Could not fault the room with a view of the Tyne. bed linen, towels etc. were excellent. The only niggle I had was twice requesting milk and coffee, once at 10:30pm and because it never arrived again at 8:15 am the following morning, which again did not arrive. On Reception acknowledging our calls, we advised we were going to breakfast. My daughter was also extremely disappointed to find the breakfast waffles not available either morning. The food was good and freshly cooked and the staff very friendly and helpful. All in all a lovely short break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJPWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights and found this to be a lovely hotel. Having read the comments on trip advisor prior to booking I paid the extra for a Millenium Bridge view room and this was definitely the right decision. The view is fantastic, but the down side is some noise from the Quayside venues. Also, as we stayed over a weekend there were a lot of groups (Stag/Hen parties) staying so it was a bit noisy at times during the night with returning party goers.
The room was nicely decorated and finished. The room had queen sized bed which we found to be very comfortable, a large TV and a seating area. For us the only down side was a lack of drawer space for clothes, although there was a double wardrobe with mini bar, iron/ironing board and safe. The bathroom was very modern and my wife liked the fact that you were invited to take the generously sized shampoos etc. with you on departure.
Breakfast was excellent and I would recommend the full fry up, delicious and well presented. The serving staff were very friendly (as expected) and provided a high level of service. I can’t comment on the dinner service as we ate out on both nights. We had cocktails in the bar on Saturday evening and again found the staff to be very good.
The car park across from the hotel was good value at £4 per night at weekends. The location was very good, a short walk from a wide range of bars/ restaurants although the city centre is slightly further away. Overall we left with a good impression of this hotel and if visiting Newcastle in the future we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argonaut61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing