We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at the Newcastle Malmaison overnight on 5th September with a party of 11 work colleagues - would recommend it in every way. Firstly the hotel did an amazing job in fitting us all in - 12 rooms at less than 24 hours notice because the hotel we had booked was well below standard. Had a superior king sized room, excellent in every way apart from the view but not bothered about that as was there to work anyway! Have stayed at the Malmaison in Leeds on numerous occasions but not the Newcastle one before but will certainly go back - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTraveller401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,766 - 1,772 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night as we were in the city watching Jimmy Carr, hotel was very boutique, clean room was lovely although it was on the Quayside... in heels it's a bit out of the way... HOWEVER perfect for couple of nights break, lovely hotel with the pitcher and piano just opposite:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked our stay on the bed, bubbles and breakfast and upgrade to have a two course meal on the first night which cost £240. Well worth every penny. The bed was perfect large and very comfortable. We paid £2 extra per person per day for the full breakfast instead of continental. Service in the restaurant was a little slow especially on Friday night. Food was very good I had the salmon which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was good and served until 11.

We found the bar expensive £4.50 for two thirds of a pint. Staff were friendly and the bar had a good feeling to it.

Parking is across the road from the hotel and cost £8 Friday evening until Sunday.

A lovely hotel in a great position.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Northerners91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Up in Newcastle for a wedding and decided to treat the family to a night at Malmaison.
Great location with views over the river. Service very good but they have overdone the subdued lighting. In fact it was so dark in certain parts that it was quite dangerous i.e. stairs down from rear of hotel. Air conditioning didn't work so room was too warm.
Certainly not value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayL1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from an amazing weekend staying ta the Malmaison It is situated right beside the new Mellenium bridge, and all the bars and eating places along the water front at the quayside.
The hotel rooms were beautiful with very very comfortable beds.
The service was excellent and the bar upstairs at night was really lively, again with great service from all the staff and the cocktails were yummy!!!!!
Book this hotel and you will not be disappointed....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I decided to splash a little more money for a one night birthday celebration. We chose a suite for that reason. The location is on the Tyne and parking is just behind although you have to drive all the way to the top floor . You're also charged for the parking regardless of the room cost. Our corner suite (709) had no views of note. The layout is poor with shower and bath stuffed into spaces. The drench shower is fine but its only shoulder width wide. The mounted tv was tiny and no pay movies option?? Or it didn't respond to pressing the remote at any stage.

The lifts take an age to arrive and there are only two so you wait a long time for the top floor suites. Surely you could offer more to your highest payers?

To end, it's hard to recommend this hotel as its delivery isn't refined nor hip and edgy. I just hoped for boutique quality but didn't find it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20kg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The position was great, right on the side of the river, opposite the Baltic Art Gallery and the Sage Concert Hall, and next to the Millennium Bridge. Our room was large, with separate sitting and sleeping areas, and had excellent views. The room was of a good standard with interesting décor but was just starting to look a little tired, as were some of the public areas. Service was very good throughout, apart from in the bar where it was perfunctory, and where the TV was so loud that it drove us out to the restaurant. The evening meal wasn’t particularly good - I chose a Moroccan lamb dish and although the lamb was fine the chick peas were severely undercooked – however, the price of the dish was deducted from our bill. Breakfast was very good – a wide choice of continental and cooked dishes. Parking is available at discounted prices at the nearby Sandgate car park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voxhumani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#10 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $109 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing