We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel in the best location in Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Notts UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in the best location in Newcastle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

This hotel is in the best location in Newcastle- a fresh and revived area by the millenium bridge but within walking distance of local attractions. The hotel is very classy and the decor is daringly purple- but it works. The room we were given had an excellent view of the bridge and was warm, comfortable and stylish. We enjoyed our stay very much. Some surfaces were a little dusty but I guess black granite
shows dust more than other surfaces. We did not use the restaurant but
were very happy with the reception staff who were helpful and attentive.

  • Liked — Purple contempary style
  • Disliked — Dust
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    723
    315
    128
    67
See reviews for
217
1,134
48
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2007

We had booked in here for a luxurious weekend (2 nights) away in November 07. We were in a Chateau Suite on the top floor.

When we arrived (a few minutes before our dinner reservation) we were told our room wasn't ready, as the hotel had a problem with overstaying guests, but it would be ready by the time we'd finished dinner. As compensation, they offered (we didn't neeed to ask at all) a bottle of VC Champagne with dinner, as well as 50% off our first night's accomodation. They provided a room to get changed in before dinner. Front desk were superb, very apologetic, and we thought this was a geneorus offer. They obviously were expecting a problem, as it was offered to us immediately as we arrived, and they really seemed to appreciate that we weren't spoiling for a fight!

Dinner was lovely, service again excellent from the Maitre'D, waitress, and bar manager, who were attentive, but not overbearing.

After dinner, our suite was ready as promised, was spotlessly clean (despite presumably a quick turn around) and stunning. It was comfortable, warm, efficient and quiet air conditioning, big bed, fantastic and fun toiletries, and a wonderful shower. The sitting area of the suite had a comfy sofa, and big TV, with DVD player. In the bedroom area was a smaller TV, and again a DVD player.

We ate breakfast in the hotel one morning only - it was good, not rushed, but not too slow. The buffet was nice, and the cooked breakfast very good indeed. It was a nice relaxed Sunday morning, with newspapers available. The staff looked as though they all got on well with one another (hello handshakes when they arrivd on shift etc), and were good with the guests too.

Check out was similarly easy - the hotel looked after our bags for the day.

Parking opposite was £4 per day, added to the room bill by taking a ticket from the front desk.

Absoluetly nothing to complain about, and a service and level of comfort which I'd rave about. I accept that things sometimes go wrong, but when the problems are resolved as generously, and easily as the check-in issues were, I am going to be very happy. It saved us a lot of money!

  • Liked — Great service and luxurious room
  • Disliked — Nothing much to say, though this level of luxury is not cheap!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Noisyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire dales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

malmaisons are basically an upmarket travellodge with the odd bit of habit interior chucked about. I usually stay in them outside london because they are reasonably okish. however the suite i stayed in at newcastle was not only small for the money but was reminisant of of a teenage goths bedroom - lacking in natuarl light and an overuse of purple.
when we arrived they was a complimentry bottle of champagne in the room with two glasses however we we arrived back after shopping it had vanished - apparently it had been put in the room by mistake *rubbish housekeeping*!
in short i wont be returning.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank djharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

i was very lucky that I got a cheap deal for a room. I was a bit surprised to find the name ( of a previous occupant) scratched on the door. it is no what you expect to find in a hotel with a room costin g one hundred and sixty pounds !!

We had a lovely room with a stunning view. The meal in the evening was not that great and expensive. I ordered tea in the lounge and the girl accepted my order and then left for the day and forget to put my order into the kitchen.

The reception staff were great. I have a feeling that the marketing people are into maximising their overheads. I felt a bit fleeced.
But some one checking out at the same time as me , said he had had a fantastic time. If you think spending lots of money is synomous with enjoying life, you will like it.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — very nouveau riche
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lordy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

From start to finish it was a issaster and was so glad to check out. Food was excellent but the service of it and all other aspects of service were disgraceful

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank TheJacksons54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon before flying out to Italy. We were really pleased when we arrived to have been upgraded from a double room to a suite, which was amazing. Lovely comfortable beds, fantastic bathroom, cosy sitting area for watching DVDs etc and great views of the Tyne.

Although we didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, we did have breakfast there, which was also lovely, with lots of choice.

A big thumbs up for a romantic get-away!

  • Liked — Luxurious atmosphere
  • Disliked — Pricey breakfast (but still tasty!)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

What a fantastic building, apparantly the rooms have just fairly recently been refurbished and they really are chic! I did manage to have a little sneaky peak in a few other rooms (while the chambermaids were busy cleaning them) which obviously hadnt been refurbished yet, they still looked ok though.

The reception staff could be a little more welcoming, but It didnt ruin my stay, the brasserie staff were really friendly.

Definately go and stay there, greta position if you want to be in the hub of the busy Quayside.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank truthcounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing