We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel while on business. The hotel is ideally located and easy to find in a very nice place called Wickham just next to Newcastle city centre. The rooms are large and spacious and quite modern. there are plenty of eating facilities in the hotel which are very nicely furnished the food is lovely and the portions are huge. There is also plenty car parking on site and near the hotel. All the staff I came across at the hotel couldn't do enough for me so I definitely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigp280885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    101
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
57
65
5
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We used the Gibside hotel for our daytime and evening reception to celebrate our wedding with family and friends. Everything was amazing and the staff at the hotel helped make our day extra special - special mention to Paco for all his help and support during the day. If your looking at wedding reception venue's i would defiantly check this place out you wont be disappointed. Great rooms and food was fantastic.

Thank you

Peter and Anthony

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Peter and Anthony
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your special day .
Thank you too for your kind comments regarding our staff and food - I will make sure they are passed on to Paco and all of his staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in April 2013.Looked it up on the web first. It was easy to find. Parking at rear in public car park that cost £1 per day, the area is nice and there is a small shopping mall nearby .Receptionist was very helpful and polite. Room was excellent, nice big comfortable bed, clean room, good wardrobes ,TV was modern, and wifi was free.Bathroom was very nice with good towels and a heated towel radiator. Room was warm and quiet. Very clean hotel.We will be recommending the Gibside to our friends .It does exactly what it says on their website

Room Tip: Room 405 is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghetto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good night, good staff (fit reception lady at night) deluxe room is nice, but too singles put together, uncomfey, especially if your at it ;) only 2 things wrong, 1. The bed situation 2. NO BUBBLES FOR TE BATH!!!!!!!!
Cheers the now

Room Tip: Don't sniff the bible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

In Newcastle on business and hotel booked by employer. I checked website and on arrival was not dissatisfied at all. The food and service in the paco restaurant was excellent. Service throughout was very friendly, well it is the North East, Yes I wasn't paying but would not be objected if I were. 3star rated but delivered 5 star quality

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Rachel
Thank you so much for your very kind comments - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed your meal in Paco's Restaurant . I'm so pleased our staff were helpful and courteous , and we do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back at the Gibside Hotel in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Due to a bereavement my wife and I needed a cheap, convenient and quiet hotel as we journeyed 335 miles from Kent to Wallsend. The room was discounted but there was no mention on the website for the extra cost of breakfast. The staff were very good to me as my Aunt had just died in the afternoon and we received an upgrade to our standard room (Thank you for your kindness). The food in the restaurant was excellent however the house wine was very rough! Our stay was a mixture of standards. The bed was excellent and we both had a quiet nights sleep. The town of Whickam stuck on a steep hill is very run down. The food in the restauarant was excellent, but nearly £13 for a cooked breakfast and nearly £9 for continental is far too steep. The coffee the first morning was stewed. I liked the bathroom but there is a lack of attention to detail: two people staying for 2 nights and 1 towel! No extra soaps given. The extractor fan did not work.
So to sum up: staff were friendly but the hotel is disorganised and not 4 star. The village might be ideal for the metrocentre and the A1 is nearby but not a great place to start a holiday exploring the North east (there are about 10 car parking spaces only)!
I would not book here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetachyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel . I'm so pleased you appreciated your up grade to a Delux room , I do apologise for the towel situation, our policy is a bath sheet and large hand towel for each guest - I imagine that the room had originally been set for single occupancy, and unfortunately when you were up graded - the additional towels were not put into you room - if you had let reception know we would have got them to you immediately. I know that wine is very subjective , we have been trying different suppliers recently , - its a very personal thing and many of our customers drink our house wine on a regular basis and enjoy it .
I'm sorry you thought that Whickham was run down - it is actually a very historic village - but sadly has suffered the same fate as most hight streets in the country , with shop closures .
Again, apologies for your coffee at breakfast -our breakfast staff would have been happy to replace the coffee for you had you mentioned it .
As far as parking is concerned, we have about 12 spaces immediately outside of the hotel - but immediately opposite the hotel - just on the other side of the road, is a public car park with about 200 spaces - which is free of charge from 5.30 pm - 9.00 am , otherwise the parking charge for the day is £1.00 , or 20 pence per hour - which we don't feel is excessive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an executive room which was reasonable, dinner and breakfast was good, but far too expensive, breakfast was £12:50 which I think was over the top.

Decided to order a double gin and tonic as house doubles were offered for £3 but when I checked out I was charged £6, was told by reception that house doubles offer only applied to vodka which annoyed me.

She offered to call the manager but I didn't want to make a fuss over a couple of quid but it soured my stay.



Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#40 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
Address: Gibside Arms Hotel Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing