We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel- will be returning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel- will be returning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night out in Newcastle. Gorgeous room (deluxe room) decor was lovely, huge bed, ample pillows and towels. Short taxi ride into the city centre, this cost around £8. The room was immaculate. Reception staff were friendly and helped us with our enquiries and booked a taxi for us. Would much rather stay here and pay for a taxi into the centre than pay the same price for a budget hotel in the centre that aren't as nice. Thanks gibside, we will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leannemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this hotel a year in advance and had family and friends staying aswell it was our honeymoon night had a fantastic day then got to hotel about midnight had a drink in the bar then went to our room what a disgrace it was two single beds pushed next to each other and we had paid for a deluxe room it was shocking would never stay there again and they had the nerve to charge you for breakfast what a rip off hotel..

Room Tip: dont book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianhodgson377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel . I am sorry you were dissatisfied with your bedroom. Our Delux rooms all feature Kingsized beds , which when required, can be seperated to make 2 singles . The beds are specially designed to be used either as kingsized or twins - and most of our guests find that they are extremely comfortable and very large .
I am sorry that you thought Breakfast was included in your rate , our bookings are all confirmed very clearly as either room only or Bed and Breakfast - had you requested Bed and Breakfast , we would have been happy to arrange that for you . Our Breakfast rates start at £3.95 - we have 3 choices , or the alternative of going upstairs to our lounge bar for just a bacon sandwich or toast , so we do feel that we offer a fairly extensive choice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went up for my brother-in-laws 40th birthday for 2 nights so needed a bit of space - booked a Junior suit which was perfect - 2 single beds, living area with 2 sofa's and 2 bathrooms. Staff really friendly and bar/restaurant buzzing in the evening - glad i didnt go for the cheaper hotel options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very clean,lovely helpful staff only fault needed more towels in bathroom but would stay again plus location is great very close to metro centre,takeaways and small shops would recommend to a friend bar and restaurant reasonable prices and clean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago and had a lovely stay. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a fantastic treat. Our room was well equipped although the only complaint was that the TV was very small considering it was a deluxe room. We ate in the hotel as nowhere in the village took our fancy and found the food and service of excellent quality. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoL186513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I have been gohng to this hotel for the past 6 years. 12 of us guys stay here on our annual golf outing to the area. Rooms are very clean. They were recently refurbished. The hotel has a huge bar and dining area. Hotel is under 10 mins away for Newcastle. Ideal base for trips to the area. Stay here you won,t be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen_lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCL / KUL
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have been staying here every year we come back to the UK to see our family - stretching back to 14years ago. We have never ever seen any sign of it being (as one reviewer puts it) a "local hangout for lonely singles" !!!!! We used to put up at the Travel Lodge down Derwent Walk way but have long decided that Gibside's location is preferable especially if we want to avoid driving after a drink or two.

This summer, we checked in and out of Gibside three times as we travelled around the North. First two occasions we had the standard room which was decent enough. The third occasion we had the deluxe which appeared to be very recently refurbished and was very nice indeed. Staff at the recetion are always very friendly, with a smile, typical of the warm Geordie hospitality !

Room Tip: Out to the main road of Whickham, turn right, pass the news agent and cross the road at the traffic...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jacqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#10 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#15 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
6.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#29 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Address: Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#