We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“honeymoon night”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this hotel a year in advance and had family and friends staying aswell it was our honeymoon night had a fantastic day then got to hotel about midnight had a drink in the bar then went to our room what a disgrace it was two single beds pushed next to each other and we had paid for a deluxe room it was shocking would never stay there again and they had the nerve to charge you for breakfast what a rip off hotel..

Room Tip: dont book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianhodgson377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel . I am sorry you were dissatisfied with your bedroom. Our Delux rooms all feature Kingsized beds , which when required, can be seperated to make 2 singles . The beds are specially designed to be used either as kingsized or twins - and most of our guests find that they are extremely comfortable and very large .
I am sorry that you thought Breakfast was included in your rate , our bookings are all confirmed very clearly as either room only or Bed and Breakfast - had you requested Bed and Breakfast , we would have been happy to arrange that for you . Our Breakfast rates start at £3.95 - we have 3 choices , or the alternative of going upstairs to our lounge bar for just a bacon sandwich or toast , so we do feel that we offer a fairly extensive choice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    107
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
70
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went up for my brother-in-laws 40th birthday for 2 nights so needed a bit of space - booked a Junior suit which was perfect - 2 single beds, living area with 2 sofa's and 2 bathrooms. Staff really friendly and bar/restaurant buzzing in the evening - glad i didnt go for the cheaper hotel options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very clean,lovely helpful staff only fault needed more towels in bathroom but would stay again plus location is great very close to metro centre,takeaways and small shops would recommend to a friend bar and restaurant reasonable prices and clean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago and had a lovely stay. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a fantastic treat. Our room was well equipped although the only complaint was that the TV was very small considering it was a deluxe room. We ate in the hotel as nowhere in the village took our fancy and found the food and service of excellent quality. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoL186513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I have been gohng to this hotel for the past 6 years. 12 of us guys stay here on our annual golf outing to the area. Rooms are very clean. They were recently refurbished. The hotel has a huge bar and dining area. Hotel is under 10 mins away for Newcastle. Ideal base for trips to the area. Stay here you won,t be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen_lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCL / KUL
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have been staying here every year we come back to the UK to see our family - stretching back to 14years ago. We have never ever seen any sign of it being (as one reviewer puts it) a "local hangout for lonely singles" !!!!! We used to put up at the Travel Lodge down Derwent Walk way but have long decided that Gibside's location is preferable especially if we want to avoid driving after a drink or two.

This summer, we checked in and out of Gibside three times as we travelled around the North. First two occasions we had the standard room which was decent enough. The third occasion we had the deluxe which appeared to be very recently refurbished and was very nice indeed. Staff at the recetion are always very friendly, with a smile, typical of the warm Geordie hospitality !

Room Tip: Out to the main road of Whickham, turn right, pass the news agent and cross the road at the traffic...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jacqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
216 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice Hotel, but always too hot....friendly staff and okay rooms....if you get in the newer part. Pacos restaurant is very good with a nice selection of wines. But why is this hotel always so hot..Good place to stay you won't be disappointed....it's a £10.00 taxi ride into the city centre....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
3.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
376 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
#41 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
239 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
826 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gibside Hotel

Property: Best Western Gibside Hotel
Address: Gibside Arms Hotel Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing