We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor from hotel manger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Well where do I start this is the second vist to this hotel from doing the great north run stayed here last year when the hotel suffered a flood, the hotel was undergoing a revamp and smelled of damp under the circumstances we didn't make a fuss or complain after talking to the hotel manager she promised us if we come back next year she give us good rooms with baths, after recomending this hotel to friends after telling them how good the hotel was we was very let down we was given the Worst room which smelled of damp and was small we were all put on separate floors totally let down by the manger who was apparently on holiday,will say the staff are brilliant friendly and hard working, will not be coming back next year!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 434 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

A friend and I stayed for 3 nights (midweek) in a twin room. The room was small but perfectly adequate. Everything worked fine. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were unbelievably helpful and efficient. There was a good choice at breakfast (continental), and the 'full English' seemed to be served up extremely quickly. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - among the nicest people I've come across in hotels anywhere. There are plenty of eating places within easy reach, and to suit all tastes. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Specify if room size is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAB1449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed to nights at this hotel when we did a two night cruise to Amsterdam, On the outward stay we had a normal room which was a bit small, facing the back of the hotel,
en-suite compact, quiet side of hotel, clean and serviceable.
On the return journey we had booked a higher graded room facing the river. A much bigger room, better en-suite, better outlook. We were in one of the two rooms on corridor leading to breakfast room, we found that we certainly didn't need a early morning call, staff entering breakfast room, voices coming from there, early morning guests going for breakfast from 7am made sure you didn't sleep in, So if you want to lay-in be sure to check the location of your room? or you may get unexpected early morning call! This apart we found it a very nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, reception manned 24hrs

Room Tip: As per review, Check size and room position for quietness so you get what you require?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnet173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location in Newcastle centre and there is free parking
Rooms look newly done up and there are duvets on the beds which is a plus for me
Showerooms small but efficient
Breakfast excellent and freshly cooked
All staff seem to be trained to be friendly and efficient
Stayed here twice now and will again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter but you are in a city so there is bound to be traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a room with no air con - make sure you ask for a room with air con because the ones that don't face onto a main road. This leaves the following options - be kept awake by jerks who can't drive or keep the window closed and sleep with a wet towel on your head. I did the latter. Also I didn't make the most of the cooked breakfast - do, because the continental option is not great. The staff can't do enough for you, there is free off road parking and for me the location was spot on. But with a better budget i wouldn't go back. This is also because they did not replenish the biscuits in my room after i tucked into them on my second night :(

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here got one night as we were watching cricket at Cheste-le-street over 2 days. Free car parking space opposite the hotel. Lovely twin bed room with a modern bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy. We stayed here in a Sunday night so there's wasn't any noise from the normally busy street below. Staff really friendly. Breakfast was great. Lots of choice, cereals, fruit and a choice of cooked breakfasts. This was our second stay here and we would definitely stay again and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ange_boro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Decent hotel for an overnight stay, we had a deluxe room which was fairly modern and a good size.

Location of hotel was good, plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Free parking is included which is located just over the road from the hotel.

Breakfast was OK, can't really have any complaints...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#71 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,081 reviews
1.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#72 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 48-52 48 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $53 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing