We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Booked this hotel as a base for my son's graduation. Got a great deal,£57.00 for one night via booking.com and paid £49.00 when we added another night via calling the hotel direct. This was for a double room and breakfast for two. We stayed in room 208 which is on the second floor and our weekend was blessed with really hot weather so we had to leave the windows open which meant our quality of sleep was very poor due to the noise levels on the very noisy quayside., this started from 6am to about 2am the next morning. Our room a little on the small side but clean. The room was dated and paint work needs a sprucing up................... cracks in the bathroom ceiling, scuffs on the skirting boards and shabby worn carpets. Bedding clean, bed comfortable, small flat screen TV and Tea & Coffee facilities provided. Breakfast served in a small room on the third floor, breakfast ok if a little greasy, I prefer grilled to fried as a healthier option. My fella and I enjoyed a good giggle listening to all the staff gossip coming from the open kitchen and in such a small room it cannot be helped. Waiting staff friendly and attentive. Reception staff also helpful and had a lot of local knowledge. I would deffo go back to this hotel but sleep with my windows closed and if weather too hot you can always ask for a fan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 432 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed on a Friday night. Free parking available across street. Location good for Quayside, and 5 mins from town up steep Grey Street. (Thought the quayside area towards town was very dirty compared to previous visits..). Staff were pleasant. Bar was open on request. Drinks in drink machine were warm.
Room was quite small but quite tastefully decorated. Breakfast was good although a little slow as there was a rushvof people when we arrived and kitchen is quite small. Price was cheap which swung me to booking through Otels.com?
Would I stay again..... Possibly? Nothing wrong of note but have stayed better...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviepate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here midweek. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I had a room overlooking the street so it was noisy from about 6a.m although with the double glazed windows closed (or if you are a heavy sleeper) this wouldn't be an issue. There is a night club next door which wasn't open that night. I don't know if it would be an issue at the weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie_lonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived 30 mins early and the room wasn't ready but it was no hardship as the quayside Sunday market was in full swing. We went back later and checked in our room was lovely, quite spacious a very comfy bed and a great bath. TV is a little on the small side but other than that the room was great.

The location of the room meant that it can be quite noisy from the busy road outside and the air con unit (which didnt work too well) goes off with the electricity ( when you go out) so windows open was the only way too keep cool so we were woken every morning at the start of the rush hour.

Breakfast was OK, a good selection of cold food on offer along with a hot breakfast. The kitchen and breakfast room are together and everything said in the kitchen can be heard in the room. Unfortunately we heard all about an disagreement between the server and someone else and when one of the guests asked for a fried egg 10 mins before the end of breakfast we heard the small rant from the chef about the pans being in the wash and that she couldn't believe that she had to rewash a pan for one egg, my husband and I were embarrassed for the couple concerned.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggshants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for one night on the 3rd floor of the waterside hotel in newcastle we all had an brillant time and the staff were extremely helpfull and kind . Cheaper to book online but we were all quite suprised that we got breakfast the next morning after having a fanastic night out in newcastle .Two of our friends had 308 and there room was stupidly small compared to 309 that we had . even though they had an bath and we had a shower they were still complaining we had the better room ..overall great and funny stay !

Room Tip: dont choose 308 to small compared to other twin bed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matty r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would recomend the waterside hotel to any body looking for a short stay in newcastle we had booked to see a concert at the metro arena . the location was spot on and in walking distance of the venue . there are pubs and restaurants in the immediate area with ample choice of types of food .the parking was free.The staff at the hotel are friendly ,helpfull and profesionall nothing to complain about at and a very good, budget price

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for four nights from the 3rd to the 7th June, arriving at 2.30AM to a very warn greeting offering any help that may be needed. there were a few different faces on the reception whilst we were there, & each one was fantastic. The breakfast was serve quickly and very hot with efficient staff.

Plenty of bars & restaurants close by with a great Wetherspoons close by called the Quayside, but the hotel room was nice & quiet.

Room Tip: We booked an Executive Room for the Wi-Fi room 216, no nice views but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#72 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#32 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 48-52 48 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $54 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing