We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location but rip off for executive rooms!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Reviewed March 4, 2013

There was six of us staying in four rooms for two nights and we had booked two single rooms, a double and an executive. One single got upgraded to a double and ha I g looked at all the rooms, the e e Ito e was no different whatsoever!!!! Don't pay any extra money for this as it was exactly the same as the others that cost £20 less!!!

The hotel is on the quayside and is a brilliant distance for just about everything.
No taxis needed into town - just a 5 minute walk away.

We found the hotel very quiet and clean and it had a nice contemporary but relaxed feel to it.

There were a good brew kit available and nice toiletries in the bathroom that was also a wet room. Fresh towels and restocks every day.

The breakfast was very impressive for the price - loads of continental choices, and a selection of hot meals as well with food being of a good quality, service fast and friendly.

Check in was 12 which is really good for a hotel, and check out was also good at also 12.

We ate out at various places, though the pub round the corner was doing two meals for £8 which were really good quality and value, and the fish and chip shop opposite had lovely chips and curry.
One place definitely NOT to eat was Chase bar on the corner towards the quay. We ordered burgers that took 45 minutes to arrive, came raw, and when we complained were told it was because they were boiled!!!!!! Urggghhh!!! The replacement baguettes we got were not much better and all in all it all took 2 hours!!!! Disgusting place!!!

But all in all a great hotel that's very cheap in a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmorgan202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 424 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the Waterside on a Saturday night. It's location is perfect for all the Quayside bars and restaurants and is just a 10 minute walk over the bridge to The Sage. Rooms are basic but clean, the shower/wet room was great. Our room was on the front so there was some passing outside noise, but it didn't spoil our enjoyment. What did, was our neighbours who at 4am decided to bang on doors and shout at one another looking for a phone charger - not the hotel's fault at all just the ignorant people who stayed next door to us. The staff are fantastic as is the cooked breakfast. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faffalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went to the waterside as it had a central location and some good reviews. However, although we could not fault the staff, the place itself left a lot to be desired! The room we stayed in was in need of a thorough deep clean and update. The bathroom had faulty lights and a badly repaired bath. The breakfast was hot and there was plenty of toast and tea. As an overall experience it was not to be recommended...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem in Newcastle. It's location is perfect for access to both the quayside and the town centre. The rooms are all done out really nicely and although small have everything you need in them - plus have a really nice cosy feel. In reference to the review about the 'small' bed and 'small' tv the bed is a standard size double and the tv is a normal size! The staff were so friendly and went out there way to accommodate us. There is a nice bar which is nice for a pre-dinner drink and breakfast was really nice - including continental buffet, cereals and a full English. Plus breakfast goes on to 10am which is good if you have a heavy night out! The parking is free and you can also leave your car as long as you want the next day - even though check out is 12pm - this is really good as it can be expensive normally to park in newcastle. I would 100% stay here next time I am in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faydudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have nights away several times a year. First time i have walked out. Do not know where their photos came from. Were let into hotel early as business was slow. Saw the room and contacted reception immediately. Two could not get into the bed and the television screen was about the size of the computer screen i am using but on the wall so could hardly see. It was cold and the bathroom needed cleaning. Told could not get a bigger bed. Decided to leave immediately. On the way out the four staff were sitting doing nothing apart from discussing a fight involving their friend. Lost my money- better than staying! Wish i had taken photos

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just back from a stay at the Waterside Hotel which we enjoyed thoroughly. Nice room and a terrific breakfast - melon, croissants, cold ham and everything to help yourself. Then a nice waitress takes your order for a full English breakfast which is immediately cooked for you. A great start to the day! A local bus took us to the shops in a few minutes. All the staff were friendly, especially Heidi, and made us feel welcome. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very friendly infact lovely staff. Greated by recpetion staff on arrival. Rooms were clean and tidy. Only thing i did not like were the metal cups in room for tea or coffee but thats just me! Beds were nice and soft. Bedding was spotless. No dust at all in rooms. Good value for money. Breakfast was good a cooked full english with soft drinks. Rooms were clean and tidy. Ideal location for newcastle shopping. Loads and loads of bars, resturants and nightlife so ideal base. Free car parking opposite hotel. They have a room after checkout to leave your goods in rooms and then go and do more shopping. Next to the quay. I would strongly reccomend this hotel to anyone. We paid pittance for B&B and got a brilliant service and good honest value for money. Glad we did not pay extra and go to one of the larger chains as i dont think we would of got the warm welcome service we got during our stay. We would deffo be returning back next time we want to go shopping again in newcastle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tila97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#71 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
#32 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 48-52 48 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $56 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing