We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem on the quayside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Balham, London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Little gem on the quayside”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised to find this quality hotel after booking a weekend break for 4 and not realising it was Great North Run weekend and every place I looked at seemed to be fully booked. I was worried there might be a good reason that the hotel still had vacancies but it soon became apparent there was nothing amiss here. The staff were very friendly and attentative, the location is brilliant for quayside ravers, the rooms were of very good quality (the double glazing keeps out almost all of the noise from the bars below), and the breakfast (full English or continental) is terrific quality. Having always defaulted to Travel Lodge - a hotel that will not allow you to leave your luggage after check out! - or one of the other chains when I visit 'the toon' I now know where my first port of call will be.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor. There is a room which has the best view of the Tyne Bridge but I won't reveal it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    140
    104
    45
    47
See reviews for
30
172
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed here so we could see a band on at the Venue just across the road where you park also for the hotel The satnav took us straight to the Hotel from Leeds A1. £67.00 for both of us with a nice full english breakfast....you cant go wrong for that price !! Friendly staff, location brilliant, rooms small but clean. Some of the comments putting down this Hotel got their head's up their bum's !! Get a life !!

Room Tip: Book on line. Phone if you need anymore details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is not a luxury hotel, it has 3 stars for guest accomodation and is Very good value for money with my single room just £113 for Saturday and Sunday night. The decor is modern with marble shower room which is a little on the side of tired. Newcastle is a party city on a weekend so I expected some noise but didn't find this disturbing at all. I would think that during the week this would be perfect for a business trip. The staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast has everything you could want. Free WIFI too. I wnated a cheap and cheerful ( and safe) place to stay while meeting friends and this was perfect for my needs. I will definately stay again

Room Tip: if the TV is importmant to you then ask for it to be working
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed one night, having booked online, I paid on check-in. I had a pleasant room at the back of this all no-smoking small hotel, recently updated, a good shower room, freeview TV, coffee and tea making, and a safe. Breakfast was very good, included in the cost, and served by friendly ladies.
The area is on the Quay by the swing bridge, there's parling across the road, and loads of pubs and restaurants within 100 metres or so. Ten minutes walk from the station, all in all a great location in a lively part of town.
I would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonya999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I chose this hotel for it's location and because the reviews on laterooms were generally good. The corridor to the room smelt appallingly fusty, the lift was old and creaky,the room hot and very noisy with the window open. Breakfast was very average and the TV in the room was the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel, only marginally bigger than my laptop. Really was disappointing and there is noway I could recommend this hotel to anyone. It really needs a major overhaul.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Festivali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

surrey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The sat nav will not be able to access the hotel through the post code as the route shown is impassable. The friendly receptionist agreed that this was an issue and needed to be changed! Aim for quayside is the answer. There is a car park (free - but limited space) across the busy road . The rooms are fairly small, stuffy and accessed through narrow corridors - tea making facilities are provided. The TV has to be tuned into the satellite system and I could not get it to work. The hotel needs renovation - however is reasonablly clean - I did not take breakfast so could not comment. Evening meals are not provided. It may be ok if you are on a leisure trip - but, for business, after a long drive, and just wanting to relax it was certainly not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dotcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The recceptionst was great , Very helpful and pleasant, however from there it went down hill
The room was hot smelly and the springs in the bed was comimg though the mattress.
The breakfast room was dirty and the saff spent more time smoking in a non smoking room then serving breakfast
Worst hotel we have every stayed in

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alford-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#72 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 48-52 48 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing