We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T USE IT'S DISGUSTING!”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I had booked this hotel for myself and partner as a change from a holiday inn,photos online looked nice and they had a room available at last minute for a decent price,was hard to find but as soon as we saw the grotty sign we knew it was going to be minging.The outside looks grotty and horrid compared to the photos,reception was lovely,staff member was nice but then we opened door to stairwell and what smelled like rotting cat pee/damp followd us up to our room.I don't know how staff work there with that stink.There wasnt a chance in hell i was using the lift which looked like it was put there 100 years ago,the bathroom had tiles falling off,shower curtain was stained and smelly it was down right disgusting!Please do not use this hotel it is minging!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 590 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

This hotel is located close to city center but you'll find it hidden in it's street. The entrance is in the back of the building, you approach it either through the slip road of a public car park (NO hotel reception sign) or via some stairways. It is an old building, the lift was built in year 1923. The rooms are equipped well and show a bit of their age. But finally it was a nice room, not very quiet. But a good location, nice English Breakfast included in the room rate. Not a strong, but a recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

What a s--- tip. What a let down. Rooms grotty. Bathroom all mouldy. Carpets all stained with suspicious looking marks. Needs a total revamp. Only good thing was location good but very noisy at night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparky11-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Great location for a cracking night out in Newcastle. We had a room out the back facing the car park thinking it would be quieter.
Turned off the lights to go to sleep but it made no difference it was still as light. Looked out the window to realise the halogen car park security lights were lighting up the whole of the rear of the hotel.
Every 30mins during the night the nightclub below emtied their bins full off glass bottles into one of the skips out the back.
At 5am people were still fighting in the street with police sirens and screaming.
A horrific stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diddydarbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The thermostat in the shower did not work, and the room on the street was noisy at night. There was no tea or coffee in the room, and we felt it needed a makeover.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madwoman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

the room was small and dirty. didnt have a proper duvet, just an old blanket. tv was very old and with 4 channels only. window panes as if never been washed. but maybe not a problem as all i could see outside was a multi-storey car park. the worst was mouldy bathroom..
the lift wasnt working most of the time but you can live with that.
hotel was very noisy at night..
the only good point about this hotel is location (i dont mean the car park just next to the hotel; close to the quayside and shopping centre as well as railway station). breakfast was also ok (full english). but they should change the way they serve tea and coffee. it's a hotel and not budget accommodation for school trips...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanca_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Entertaining customers, so unsure what time I would be finished decided to book a room in this hotel for the night (Saturday)
Possibly worst hotel I've stayed in, freezing cold, tatty room, bathroom overun with mould, couldn't care less attitude of staff.
AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZincD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#42 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#54 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $63 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing