We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Billsview”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Billsview”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Surtees hotel is sited perfectly in the city centre and ideally placed for the dozens of shops, bars, restaurants cinemas etc which are all within a few minutes walk away. There is a multi storey car park beside it. The hotel is old, perhaps quaint and it boasts a lift which was installed in 1923!!! Staff are helpful, polite and friendly and the hotel is spotlessly clean. Our twin room was big bright and airy with an excellent ensuite bathroom and great shower. Tea making facilities are provided and biscuits too. There is even a hairdryer, iron and mini ironing table. We were given a complimentary bottle of red wine on arrival and it wasn't the worst I've tasted. The decor looked fairly new but was let down badly by the careworn carpet. There's a nice big and bright breakfast room with a great choice available. We had the cooked breakfast. It was made to order and extremely good too. All in all this was great value for money and I would not hesitate in returning. You only get what you pay so don't expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bilbo471118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    158
    149
    85
    136
See reviews for
43
191
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Alarm bells started to ring as soon as we walked up the to reception which is at the rear of the hotel , the path was covered in weeds ,broken beer bottles , cigarette buts ,not a good start . Our room on the first floor was at best "fit for purpose " no air con , old fashioned single glazed sash windows and curtains the thickness of o poppadom , this all combined to made a goods nights sleep well nigh impossible at the hotel is on a main road besides lots of bistros , bars etc, where revellers are out until after 3am.. When we booked we were promised a bottle of complimentary wine this took 3 attempts to get . Whilst breakfast was nice the dining room( I use the term loosely) resembled a school canteen with plastic picnic furniture . All in all I wouldn't use this hotel again

Room Tip: Don't book one go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineMcClymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

.Bodmin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and found it perfectly acceptable. Nice comfy bed and decent TV and shower. OK it's not The Ritz but good central location. A little bit noisy at night but ideal if you are looking for a reasonable hotel in the city centre. Yes, I would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Firstly for what we paid via wowcher this was a super deal. Also the breakfast was great with Loads of choice for everyone. The staff seemed really friendly too. Very helpful and this includes cleaning staff who keep tea and coffee well stocked. The location is also superb for all attractions to be had. End of positives.
Negatives.
The lift never worked once in three days. This was a real pain due to my dad being not the best on his legs anymore.
If you are thinking of staying here with children please think twice. There is a strip joint two doors down which can been seen with prying eyes if not careful.
If you are willing to pay for the above save your money. On return to our room one mid afternoon we witnessed a couple having full sex completely naked. They made no attempt to go when they realised we where in our room. Need I say anymore?!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was our final hotel of our C2C bike ride. Very well located, rooms we're clean and sufficient .
Staff were very helpful as they let us leave our bikes stored at the hotel which was peace of mind for us, although there is a car park with bike storage space opposite the entrance of the hotel .(which is round the back, by the way).
Would recommend this hotel although ask for a quiet room if you want a good night sleep because our room on the Main Street proved very noisy due to music from nearby pub.

3 Dutch cycling girls

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed using a Wowcher deal have to say if we were paying full price it would not have been a reasonable stay. Hotel is in a great location but it is in need of some tender loving care. The alley to side of the Hotel which is the main access is a bit of a fright, rat bait boxes every few yards covered in fag ends broken bottles the top of the alley is brick paving but more than a few are loose especially the ones that are a step! Have to fight your way through the smokers at the entrance. Our room was OK clean and comfortable but there was no loo roll holder and the carpet was frayed at the bathroom door, The rooms are not serviced next day. Fire Door in corridor to room was not working so a hazard. The staff at Reception were very helpful and polite as were the other staff. The breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and was very tasty. All an all good Hotel with good food helpful staff in a great location but spoiled by lack of TLC.

Room Tip: Use the entrance to the Multi Storey Car Park in Dean Street to access the Hotel it avoids the dingy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at the Surtees hotel on Fri night with friends , great central location its a basic hotel but very clean and tidy, rooms are a decent size with comfortable beds has everything in room from an iron to a kettle. Big bath with overhead shower. The downside reception is hard to find it looks like your turning into a multi storey car park the hotel reception is on the right at thet rear of the building. We were on third floor the old fashioned lift was out of order great start when you try ti find your room its like a maze up little flights of stairs down stairs till you find your room. Then you have to find your way back to reception fun.its even more fun after you have had a drink. Overall a good basic hotel very close to all the night life 8 out 10 it would also do with an upgrade to air conditioning very hot in room

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Property: Surtees Hotel
Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing