We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, desperate for a facelift.”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night in December (a Saturday) having spent the previous night at Malmaisson and actually paid a similar amount.

Firstly the plus points - the staff are friendly and efficient and couldn't do more to help and the hotel is perfectly placed for Newcastle's bars and clubs - just metres away really.

Unfortunately the hotel is desperate for a facelift and I dingy and tired. Our room was of a decent size but the walls and carpets were noticeably stained and there were signs of damp above the window (which looks onto Dean Street).

This hotel could be one to consider for a stag or hen weekend when location is important and you just want somewhere to sleep, but it's unlikely we will return unless some serious money is spent bringing the place into the 21st century..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graemeb19799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are undergoing a large 'facelift' of the hotel this month, with new carpets throughout our public areas and a full repaint of the whole hotel. I am sorry this was not done in time for your stay.

I'm glad to hear you found the staff helpful and friendly as we take customer service very seriously at the hotel. I hope you will come back to visit and see the changes we are making.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 590 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location.

The bad list is endless...Worn and damaged carpets, noisy stair and street below, unusable shower, door key stopped working, lift never moved at all, uninterested receptionist, small double bed despite requesting a large double.

We hated the hotel so much we paid to change our train time to leave 8 hours earlier than planned...says it all!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Victoria2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel and i'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are having all of our public area carpets replaced this month and i'm sorry this was not done in time for your stay.

In regards to our lift, I can understand how frustrating it is when other guests do not close the door on exit stopping the lift from moving for other guests, but as the lift is listed we can not make any changes to this. There is however signs on all floors stating that a member of staff would be happy to close the doors for you if asked.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Firstly when we entered our room we were welcomed by the room smelling of sick and urine. The one radiator (in a triple room) was off meaning that the room was so cold it was infact warmer outside. The carpets were coming up and falling apart of which I tripped over a couple of times. The television cut out every 5minutes or so. We asked the member of staff on the reception desk where several landmarks were of which they didn't have a clue and told us they didn't know anywhere around the area. Finally when we came in to go to bed there were people in the lobby who weren't even staying at the hotel, they also ended up standing outside our room at one point, this hotel had no security whatsoever and my friends and I couldn't get out of there quick enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayl111986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review , I am sorry you were disappointed in your stay at The Surtees Hotel.

In response to your review i feel i should point out that your group were the guests causing a huge noise disturbance in the hotel and were asked on 2 occasions to quieten down by our Night Security staff.

We ask all of our guests to have respect for other guests in the hotel which your group did not, by shouting and screaming in the corridors you affected the stays of other guests which we then had to refund.

I spoke to you all on check out in regards to the complaints about noise and charged your group for the refunds i had to give other guests. At no time did you make any reference to any issues you had during your stay, and even admitted it was your friend who was making the noise and agreed she was out of order in her behaviour.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have recently stayed at the surtees hotel and have been truly disappointed. The hotel smelt like urine and the carpets were stained .The rooms were very basic , bed was cheap , duvet stained and nowhere to hang towels in the bathroom. Hardly slept due to all the noise going on outside , and the tv signal was disturbed every time a truck went past . In terms of staff they are very stubborn and ignorant . A friend sprained her arm tripping on the raised carpet in the room at early hours of the morning . When checking out we were charged for another customers stay due to apparent noise disturbance , however this was the result of other customers walking around the corridor. overall extremely disappointed and will defiantly not stay here again . we felt quite discriminated against as we are quite young , if we were an older age maybe we would have been treated with some respect .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightinnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and i'm sorry you were so disappointed in your stay with us.

I would like to reply to the comments you made in your review. Firstly I spoke to you all on departure in regards to the complaints about noise from your group, you had been asked to quieten down on 2 separate occasions by our Night Security staff, which you failed to do and this in turn affected the stay of other guests within the hotel. Who we then had to refund.

In regards to your friends sprained arm, she informed our Night Security staff that she had injured her arm whilst out drinking and refused any medical treatment offered. This is the same friend who you all stated had caused all the noise and told me she had been out of order in her behaviour.

All of our beds are hotel standard beds which are made to a much higher standard than normal beds and all of our bedding is cleaned daily. Your rooms were fully check prior to arrival and cleaned to a high standard.

We do not discriminate against any guests and age plays no part in our behaviour, we do however expect guests to treat the hotel and other people staying with respect which your group did not by disturbing them with your disruptive and noisy behaviour in the early hours of the morning.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We needed a central location for a short stop over. The room was clean & the bed was comfortable but I was cold & trains kept me awake through the night. No one had warned us of a £50 deposit on the room incase of damages. The staff were polite & helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojonorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hotel, all of our reviews are important to us.

I'm glad to hear you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. Customer service is really important to us and its great to hear that this had made a difference.

I'm sorry you were unaware of the £50 deposit scheme that is applied to bookings of 3 rooms or more. It is advertised on our website and also all booking sites. We also send out a group contract to the person who made the booking asking them to make sure their group is aware of this policy.

Once again that you for your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This has to be the worst hotel i have ever stayed in,its filthy,over priced and very run down,carpets were all ripped,stained and smelly our room door didnt even lock and the staff are ignorant...........................i wouldnt go back there for free!!

Room Tip: there aint no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelsoPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we take all reviews seriously and i'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are getting all of our carpets in the public areas replaced this month and i'm sorry this was not done in time for your stay. In regards to the staff I am sorry you found them to be ignorant, this is not normal for us as we take customer service very seriously.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

First off I must say this is a lovely hotel...
This location is great, All the staff were helpful and nice and friendly, the room was nice & clean but soo hot it was a bit uncomfortable even with window open. I would stay at this hotel again in one condition... You sort out that stupid lift.
Twice I got stuck in it cos of some terrible system where if someone on any floor opens the wooden door (it's an old fashioned lift with a pull across metal cage before you close door) the lift stops!!! So annoying, I would normally use stairs but I was on top floor. And not once did my card key ever work without me having to go back to reception to get it re-programmed. Very annoying when you don't want to use the lift so running up and down stairs becomes very frustrating.
Apart from that, it's a good hotel..

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Domanddaveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#43 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $63 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing