We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre hotel”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the hotel on a theatre trip. The hotel is signposted on Dean Street but no signs as to where the entrance actually is.
The hallways are a bit 'off-putting' but the rooms are fab and really worth every penny! Would defiantly stay here again! Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle_mcisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time for leaving us a review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay with us again.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which will see our public areas and hallways a lot more welcoming than what you experienced during your stay. We're sorry this wasn't completed before your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 596 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

For the price you pay for this hotel you cannot complain, great location for nights out. Room was comfortable for 2 people but the double bed could be bigger, I think it was more queensize. Bathroom was clean and had a decent shower. Our room was at the back of the hotel so did not get much noise at all. Carpets could be cleaner but I'm not there to sleep on the flooe but could do with a hoover.
Quayside side is less than 10 mins away and on Sundays there are market stalls. Nice place for 'classy drinks'
Bars and restaurants are right on your doorstep.
Only thing I would recommend is the hotel should get a deal with the car park rather than having to keep going and paying throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time for leaving us a review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms comfortable.

We apologise that you found our beds somewhat smaller than you'd expect. All of our double beds are standard size and are placed in all of our standard double rooms which are purchased at the same size double as you'd find in the shops. If you decide to stay with us again, we recommend you book a twin room which would give you 2 separate beds or can be made into king size.

Thank you for your suggestion that we should look into getting a deal with the car park outside, this is something we have already looked at but what they have offered us unfortunately does not offer any cheaper hourly rates or benefits.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is what it is - for rooms at this price you aren't going to get the Ritz. What we did get was a room that was clean, comfortable, quiet, perfect for a cheap one night stay while we caught Mickey Flanagan at the City Hall. The girl on the desk was charming and very helpful, and we managed the stairs just fine...And it is wonderfully placed too

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveMilnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us such a fantastic review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A nice big bright and airy room in a great location. Very noisy when the window was open, but being in the centre of dean street, what can you expect. You wouldn't stay there for a quiet retreat! Great for being in the hub of things, and great for the price. The carpet could have done with a decent hoover, bits of fluff everywhere but otherwise okay, with a good powerful shower and a great comfy bed. Lovely varied selection for breakfast whether you wanted cooked or continental. Friendly staff with a warm welcome. We'll be back for more.

Room Tip: Lovely bright room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review.

We would also like to thank you for being so understanding about the noise we pick up from outside revelers.

We take pride in providing a comfortable and memorable stay to all of our guests and I will make sure all of my staff are aware that their hard work is paying off.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

booked a 'deluxe' room and was probably worst i've had... ever!!! top floor, lift broken so was 4th floor via stairs. attic type room/cupboard with sloping roof you had to limbo past bed to get to window which was about 2" square. ridiculously hot room even without heating on and window open no air con, actually dripping sweat lying on bed. staff said was to do with boilers near to this room. eventually gave up and checked out at 7am. staff mostly couldn't care a less.

Room Tip: don't be tempted by cheap deals, false economy!!! stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenziko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

We apologise that our lift was out of service during your stay with us and you had to take the stairs to our 4th floor - which unfortunately we don't have as our hotel goes up to 3rd floor.

We understand that our hotel can become extremely hot and we would love to install air conditioning but as a grade 2 listed building, this is something we are unable to do.

I would like to apologise that you would made to feel like my reception team didn't care about your problems, I have spoken to the members of staff involved.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Although the hotel was clean and tidy, the top floor rooms had no air conditioning and you suffer, when you open your window, with noise from the road and street. There is also NO lift. The corridors and stairs are narrow which makes it difficult when carrying a large bag to your room.

Staff were very good but would I book again, No.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jlucas090866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

We would firstly like to point out that we do have a lift but unfortunately it was out of service during your stay, we apologise for this. We understand how inconvenient this has been. Our lift is now back up and running and we are sorry that it was not fixed in time for your stay.

We would love to install air conditioning in our hotel but as a grade 2 listed building, we are unable to do so.

As a Newcastle city centre hotel we are going to pick up outside noise, we apologise that this affected you during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

stayed in this hotel for one night after a concert at city hall, we had room 39 on the top floor the lifts where broke so it was abit of a hike to the room but no problem as we are both fit. the room had been modernised but the carpet was old with burns from the iron on it, apart from the room was great. the heating was off but the room was so hot we slept with the windows open all night so it was alot noisier than it would have been, tea and coffee where provided in the room and toiletries too, plenty of towels and nice bedding but with a runner over it that had yet another iron burn on it. would we stay there again? yes as it was cheap clean and tidy and in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenj520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review of your stay with us.

We would like to apologize for the issues you had with the carpet in your room, unfortunately some of our previous guests have not shown respect to property of our hotel. We are slowly but surely replacing necessary carpets in our hotel and we are sorry that this was not completed in time for your stay with us.

We would also like to apologize for the noise you experienced from outside of the hotel during your stay with us. Unfortunately we have no control over outside noise and being a Newcastle city center hotel we are going to pick up noise from outside revelers. We are currently looking to install secondary glazing to our windows which should hopefully help with this problem.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#45 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#60 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#57 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $57 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing