We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute joke of a hotel”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute joke of a hotel”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stated in this s###hole for 2nights for my anniversary . When we got to dean street i just new what we were letting ourselves in for . No front entrance which i was a bit shocked at . My heart sank to the floor when i walked thru thr door .reception area filthy carpet coming away from the floor .one girl behind desk nothing like what you would get in a proper hotel . Rooms was out of 10 i would give it 2. no telephone or mini bar . and surprise, surprise no lift. Out of order as far back as may 2012. Very very noisy i was on the second floor the music from the pub below actualy made our windows shake .no double glazing . My problem was i never checked tripadviser before i booked . so whatever you think about booking this place then please read all reviews because believe me that was my downfall. Yuk. Yuk
.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

In regards to the lift, we are aware that this can be unsatisfactory when out of order but unfortunately the lift is protected by National Heritage so we are unable to have it removed and replaced. The lift does date back to 1923 and as such when there is a fault or issue we have to wait a lot longer for parts to fix the issue. We do however state on all of our booking sites when the lift is down to make guests fully aware of this before they arrive. With it being an old fashioned listed lift it does break more than a modern one and therefore it can seem like it has been broken since May 2012 but that is not the case.

I am sorry you were unhappy at not having a mini bar in your room, but as we are a 3 star hotel we do not provide items more likely to be found in a 4 or 5 star hotel. We do however advertise the items we do include in our rooms clearly on all sites including the fact we do not have telephones in the room.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    164
    154
    87
    139
See reviews for
47
196
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked this hotel with mostly positive revues...Turned up yesterday for a 2 night stay..Next to a Lap dancing club..You have to enter the hotel at the rear..The hotel is filthy..Stains all over carpets in reception, Stairs, Rooms etc carpets should be skipped...As previously reported lift is not working..Not that it affected me but this should have been pointed out during booking because if you have mobility problems you would NOT be able to get to your room at all.
The Rooms, so called refurbished...Carpets with stains all over them..Net curtains had chocolate or something all over them, Main curtains not wide enough to close properly so let lights in all night, Hotel is approx 10mtrs from main line railway bridge with trains going past every 5 mins, Main road 15mtrs away with heavy traffic all day and most of the night...Windows in room Old wooden frame single glazed not sealed properly and did nothing to prevent all noise...Sleep is not an option in this hotel...After spending 1 night of a two night stay we left..After using hotels and B&B'S all over the world this wins hands down as the worst we have ever stayed in...DO NOT get fooled into using it for its location etc..There are alot better around ....

Room Tip: nothing good to say. Dont do it go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philljonrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the fact your stay was disrupted by outside noise and understand this is unsatisfactory. I agree that double glazing would make a huge difference unfortunately as we are a listed building we are not allowed to replace the wooden sash windows although we are looking at ways to improve the situation without going against planning permission.

I am sorry the lift was out of service during your stay, but the lift is also protected by National Heritage stopping us from making any changes or repairs to it as quickly as we would like. As it dates back to the 1920's we have to wait longer for parts and repairs as these can be difficult to find.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

On our arrival there is an awful stench, lift was broken so had to walk up 3 flights of stairs, staff unhelpful never at desk when needed, room really dirty, marks on walls, skirting boards, stains on carpet and curtains and net curtains, bin was not emptied from previous occupants, shower is so low even for me and im small, damp smell in bathroom,, bed when you sit on it or move in middle of the night. Remote for tele was not original one was replaced with a cheap one that would not go off sub titles, or do anything , milk they give you was caked in dust and looked like it had been there a while. So we bought our own milk supply.

If we hadn't booked this off ebookers cheaper than the rate the hotel asks for id be looking at getting there prices reviewed, we paid 78.13 should of cost 126 according to hotel, I felt dirtier when I left than when I sat in a car for hours travelling to this hotel.

Location is great, windows so dirty could hardly c out them, single pane glass could hear everything and windy. Room do nit look like the picture on there site.

Also eventhough there's no carpark for hotel one is right next door it's a rip off you pay 1.30 an hour so if parking all day quite expensive, free from 5pm to 8am so u hav yo get up early to go pay, so think bout goin round corner I can park all day there for £6

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d81186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are implementing a full repair programme at present to correct the issues in the hotel i'm sorry that was not completed in time for your stay.

We are aware the lift being out of order is an inconvenience to our guests but unfortunately due to the lift being listed it takes longer to get get parts and repairs carried out, all of our booking sites advertise our lift being out of order and pre-warn guests about this.

II'm sorry you had problems with the number of staff available to you during your stay and this is something we will look to address.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were disappointed with the service and attitude from staff at this hotel - the night manager was very rude and not very accommodating. They did not make us feel very welcome at all. City centre location was great but single-glazed windows on a noisy street makes for a sleepless night. Street works outside our window with a jackhammer on saturday morning also very unpleasant.

Although we made our booking well in advance, our group were placed in rooms very far apart from each other - the building is a complete maze and it was a nightmare finding each other.

Wouldn't particularly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am very disappointed in the service you received from our night staff during stay and have spoken to the member of staff involved, we pride ourselves on giving good customer service and this is unacceptable.

I understand your unhappiness at your groups rooms not being next to each other but as an older building our rooms are all of different size and shape due to the buildings layout. Therefore we can not get a group placed all together when they have booked certain room types.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would give this hotel one or two stars. We arrived at the train station and the hotel was about 5-8 minutes’ walk away which was very convenient. What wasn’t convenient was the fact that it is not easy to find the entrance, in fact we walked past it twice and I had to call them in the end and the entrance was around the corner and down an alleyway. It wouldn’t have taken much for the staff to notify us of this when we booked, however this was probably asking too much considering we didn’t even receive a confirmation email.
Once we were inside the staff were very polite, courteous and helpful, to be honest the only reason for the stars I have awarded as they really were happy to help. Our room was, to be completely honest, a disappointment. There was what appeared to be a firmly rubbed in chocolate stain (what I am hoping was chocolate) on the floor which we had to avoid, stains on one of the bed sheets and the bathroom was home to some short dark hairs that belonged to neither my friend nor I. Also, the room we were in overlooked the main road and of course you expect it to be noisy, but they could invest in double glazing as the windows were extremely flimsy. Coupled with the fact that we were woken up early in the morning by roadwork’s, (again, a quick email notifying us of this would have cost nothing) overall not a great experience.

Room Tip: Definatley not G03 as it overlooks the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our hotel and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

I'm sorry you found the hotel difficult to find and understand your frustration. I would like to apologise that you were not contacted in advance in regards the external road works being carried out by the council and this is something we will address.

Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is really good value for money, I stayed here with a couple of friends for two nights. The hotel is right in the centre, so we didn't need taxis anywhere! 'The Gate' where you'll find tiger tiger, sinners ect is a bit further away but still in walking distance! Bojoux, Madame Koo and floritas are all just a 5 min walk away! Would definitely recommend this hotel if your looking for somewhere close to the infamous 'nightlife scene'! Newcastle overall is AMAZING!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Newcastle.

We appreciate all feedback and hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and were very happy overall. Staff were very friendly, room was lovely and clean and spacious and looked exactly as they did in the pics. Only disappointment was that there was no hot water for a shower from when we arrived on the Thursday (my birthday) right through until the Friday evening. After travelling some distance and having booked a restaurant and being unable to wash properly beforehand and then again to go out the following day was hugely disappointing. Staff were most apologetic but because we paid by voucher not too bothered whereas other guests offered full refunds. On the plus side breakfast was lovely and the location was rare and central.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, I am glad your found our staff to be helpful and friendly as we strive to provide excellent customer service.

I'm sorry about the problems you encountered with the hot water, this is something we have rectified and have replaced our boiler.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#53 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#56 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Property: Surtees Hotel
Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing