We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked this for a mid-week break for myself, sister, daughter and mother - we looked at the pictures on the site and it looked lovely and then we arrived and could not believe it the room was shall we say very tired or maybe it is called shabby chic - stained carpets, a yale lock on the door for secuirity, The entrance was not even attractive enter by a car park - on a steep hill and not 5 min walk from train station more like 15 minutes. Reception was not the most welcoming and then we had paid the extra £7.95 for full english breakfast which consisted of everything being cooked in the microwave unless you wanted fried eggs, toaster did not work properly and the dining room was like a school canteen - awful awful awful would not recommend this to anyone unless. Best thing they could do with it is demolish it.

Room Tip: pay the extra for another hotel nearer the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are in the process of carrying out a full and thorough repair programme to all of our rooms and public areas and would like to apologise this was not done for your stay.

In regards to breakfast I am sorry you did not enjoy it, our breakfast is cooked to order with freshly prepared local ingredients with a wide variety of items available.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    164
    154
    87
    139
See reviews for
47
196
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pretty awful place - entrance is behind a multistory car park and right next to what my taxi driver told me is a lap dancing club where he picks up the 'girls' from late at night.... great

Hotel is very worn, shabby and unloved.

Room was sparse and featured a smashed pane of glass in window, torn net curtain, carpet with tears in it. Duvets are thin and the towels are small, scratchy and thin.

Incredibly noisy - was VERY glad I had my earplugs with me... noise all night, bins right outside my windows and next to the multistory car park. The only good thing I could say is that the breakfast room ladies were lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and apologise for the issues you encountered. We have recently implemented a full and thorough repair programme and can only apologise this was not in place when you stayed.

I am glad to hear that our breakfast staff made such a good impression.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

An awful hotel! Very noisy as on a main road. With only having single glazing windows aswell this doesn't prevent noise from loud youngsters partying on the street, buses driving past from 6am, window cleaner at 7.30am!! Walls are paper thin so can hear everything from the next room from talking to banging doors. youngsters running up and down hallway. Room didn't get cleaned on our stay. We did get clean towels however (which were left outside our door). So just be warned its very noisy and I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toonlad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we are a listed building and are not allowed to put double glazing in as much as we want to

I am also sorry that other guests disturbed your stay and would like to apologise for this

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is the worst i have ever stayed in! The entrance overlooked bins and a multistorey carpark.The room was supposed to be a deluxe! Wot a joke no hairdryer, bottled water was deffinatley not deluxe, the room was a horrible shade of green with stained curtains and carpets! On entering the room it was clear it had not been cleaned proerly the carpet was full of bits and the furniture was full of dust! Had to go to reception to get it recleaned! Breakfast was a joke! The dinning room looked like a builders canteen with plastic chairs and half the food wasnt avaliable that was on the menu! The dinning room was situated nxt to the dirty laundry room so u had to step over dirty bags of linen to eat! Hygenic? I think not!!! Oh and breakfast wasnt included in the price had to pay extra!!! All in all a most horrendious experience!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to firstly thank you for your review, and I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I am sorry you found our colour scheme so unappealing and that your room had not been cleaned properly this is completely unacceptable and I have spoken to the members of staff involved.

Once again thank you for your review, customer feedback is always helpful to us and we appreciate the time guests take to notify us of any issues or problems

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

i stayed here with my fiancee for a couple of nighst,found the hotel clean and tidy with the staff helpful and pleasent. i would not hessitate staying here again yes there is some noise in the evening as some folk are enjoying the nights out but the hotel is right in the city centre. the breakfast was plenty with a varied choice. this is a budget hotel not a five star but overall very good.

Room Tip: if you dont want the noise of passers by ask for a room facing the back but be warned it faces a mul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and I am glad that you found our staff helpful and friendly.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh , scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you want a city center hotel near the nightlife this is for you. this is a clean hotel with comfortable beds dont stay here if you expect a quiet night as close to the nightlife but still an excellent city centre hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idandmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all reviews and i'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

am currently at this hotel as i tap away on my phone....no wifi..trying to sleep wishing soooo much i checked this site first. It is so noisy i might as well be trying to sleep in the street....when i booked here the receptionist was lovely but when i told her i was treating my 7yr old to a trip to theatre she might have mentioned hotel was above strip club and was noisy. Entrance up alley where we had to step over sick, bottles, fags and rat traps. Lift broken, got moved from third floor room as radiator stuck on full and was roasting and tv didnt work, moved to first floor which on reflection might have been better on third flr red hot n tvless, had to retune tv myself in new room as only bbc working, Rooms nice but stairwells n corridors really tatty. Both rooms have old single glazed windows and both rooms have cracks in more than one pane with most ov windows stuck shut. What with trains, strip club goers, music and bottle tipping from club evry 10 mins i Am seriously considering checking out and getting train home... Will complain and see how i get on. Such an inappropriate place for a single woman with a 7yr old to stay. Gutted as this was meant to be a real treat, and at 109 pound its not really cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dix251980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#53 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#54 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Property: Surtees Hotel
Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing