We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surtees Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$67
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Euro Hostel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$90
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$82
$66
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Newcastle Central(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$54
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveler rating
35
172
167
95
142
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
172
167
95
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehotel entrancean ironfull englishnight lifelight sleeperbit datedtyne bridgequaystoiletries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 611 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend, and had a wonderful time. Hotel very comfortable and clean. Breakfast excellent, and staff were very helpful when we needed directions, recommendations etc. Quirky cos of layout and room shapes- obviously converted from something else!
Central location so good for tourists. Parking very handy as you leave the hotel.
Close to quayside for restaurants etc, and also close to City centre.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinsley_Ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I booked this hotel for a weekend with friends. Good location for shopping and a night out.
There was one person on duty 24hrs who covered reception and the small bar, all were very friendly. The bar was small and poorly stocked ( I have never been in a bar that has no vodka).

Room was clean with comfy bed and good bathroom. Unfortunately the noise from other guests made it impossible to get any sleep. It started around 2am until 5.30, with constant banging and shouting and slamming doors. At one point I was concerned as I could hear a woman who sounded very distressed, there is no phone in the room so I could not phone reception to report this.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for couples or families and didnt feel it was good value at 95.00 for room only

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed two nights on a kgb deal. The entrance is very poor, shabby and quite intimidating in the dark. However, the receptionist was very welcoming and friendly. We received a bottle of wine with our deal (warm with no wine glasses or ice bucket in room so a waste really) We were given a room right over the entrance which we asked to change as it would obviously be noisy late at night due to the proximity to local nightlife. The receptionist happily moved us but unfortunately we could not upgrade to a "superior" room as they were fully booked even though the deal was supposed to be a "luxury 2 night stay in superior room" The room we were moved to overlooked the railway and proved to be very noisy too. There is no double glazing so the street noise at the weekend was constant both from the trains and revellers so if you are looking for a nice sleep this is unlikely. The bedroom had been refurbished with a new bathroom and flatscreen t.v.but this was spoilt completely by a very old bed with dirty mattress and broken castors which creaked every time you moved. The linen was clean enough but the pillows were stained and old. The curtains were falling off the old rail and were very heavily stained and didnt close properly.A very cheap old shelving unit was also the only storage space with no fridge or hairdryer available. I can only assume that these items may be changed in time but it seems a vey short sighted approach to refurb as it means the difference to a guest returning or not. There were also several clumps of hair on the bathroom door which would suggest that the cleaning could be improved. The breakfast was surprisingly good as we did not expect much as the bedoom facilities were so poor and the lady who seemed to run the breakfast room single handedly was pleasant. The hotel is geared to stag and hen guests really and ideally located for them.With a bit more attention to detail it could be quite nice but as it stands is not a place I would return to.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ells2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I booked this hotel as part of a stag weekend and have to say it was fit for my purpose.

We were given a room with an unofficial balcony which we enjoyed. It's not a hotel that I recommend for families or couples but if you are looking fr somewhere cheap that you will be spending a minimal time in then this is for you

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gafferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My friend & I bought a 'KGB' weekend deal in Newcastle at this hotel. From the outside the hotel is nothing special; inside it is small, quirky, clean and friendly. The lift has heritage status!
Our room was on the third floor, it was big enough for two, single beds close togetherthat were incredibly comfy, small but lovely bathroom.
We had breakfast included and found there to be a good choice with lots of healthy options.
The only faults were the poor water pressure in the shower & other guests who slammed there doors at stupid-o-clock because the locks are stiff. This was mentioned to staff and they have said they are in process of changing to key cards which will solve that problem.
The staff were helpful & knowedgable.
I would go back again, if someone says that, its a good review!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derbyclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Keep an eye on our website for more special offers similar to the KGB deal.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews