We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location at Good Rates”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Location at Good Rates”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We got one of the refurbished rooms and were very happy with the cleanliness and comfort. Trains passed nearby but did not disturb us. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were ideally near to quayside and shops and night life. We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilagdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    164
    154
    87
    139
See reviews for
47
196
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had little choice when staying at the Surtees Hotel in Newcastle as I was running the Great North Run and all the decent hotels were booked up or required a minimum 2 nights stay.

Where do I start:
This club is above a strip club
Entrance is via a dodgy alley
Check in, they didnt have our key as the previous guest took it.
Hallway and corridors were dirty, having to squeeze past bags of rubbish, Carpets were dirty and unhoovered.
Bedroom was cold
No bbc channels on tv
Very noisy, thin walls meant we could hear our neighbour too well
Got woken up by drunken idiots
Got charged double the usual room rate as it was the great north run.

Room itself was ok, new and clean but cheap.

Not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIRST1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Yeppoon, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived at this hotel (and I use the term hotel loosely) to stay overnight for the princely sum of 150 pounds. Upon checking in we then proceeded to the lift, to find and empty shaft and the bugger not working. We negotiated the narrow staircase, with its quaint twists and bends with our suitcases in tow! Upon entering our room, we were greeted by the sickly yellow, ill fitting curtains, 3 single beds a la 'youth hostel'. We pondered our surroundings with dread and shock! However, we thought "well...we are here now, let's just settle down and have a cup of tea" whilst taking in the sights through the filthy windows...Hey presto! No kettle!!! We telephoned reception with our own mobile, as there was no phone in the room, and were not feeling up to negotiating the staircase at this time...
To their credit, a kettle was delivered promptly. It resembled something a boy scout, or girl guide would have in their kit, and to say the least, it struggled to make 2 half cups. I looked around, observed a large wodge of toilet paper covering a damp patch next to the huge, dead hornet on the window sill. I made my way past the polystyrene balls that where surprisingly not noticed by housekeeping staff, who had failed to vacuum them up with the other bits of debris, flotsam and jetsam about the place. I was going to watch the television, but when I picked up the remote control and noticed the back missing, I may have got a bigger shock than the one that was sinking in over this 150 pound per night hovel, which by the way, did not include breakfast that came at an extra 8.95 per person. With this, we thought 'sod it!' let's drive back to Liverpool. The only positive was the receptionist was very understanding of our request to leave and to be reimbursed, and dealt with us promptly and professionally. Needless to say, WE WON'T BE BACK!!! Oh! And where's the free WiFi you told us about?!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here in late August 2011. Having secured a good deal on a website we booked it before reading the reviews on Tripadvisor so we were a bit wary about what awaited us.
We were really pleasantly surprised. Our room was exactly like the picture in the website. It was clean, frsh, bright and modern. The bathroom suite was particularly nice. The staff were friendly and engaging and the breakfast was hearty and very tasty, served in a lovely big bright room.

The pros:

1) Great location, you couldnt ask to be closer to both the quays and the town centre.
2) Fresh modern decor
3) Clean (though not immaculate)
4) Good breakfast
5) Friendly helpful staff

The cons:

1) The front entrance is round the back and looks more like a goods entrance
2) The mattresses could have been better quality
3) No bin in the room except a small bathroom one
4) More storage wouldnt go amiss

We'd happily stay again, I gather the hotel was suffering a lot a bad reviews before the refurb but it's well worth reconsidering now.
I think things must have changed for the better and it's great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandmikeChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment and unfortunately we got an old room. The location was great although it was very noisy ( to be expected in the centre of Newcastle). The ceiling in bathroom was covered in mould and the bed creaked badly. Several times our power cut off when we turned the lights on and off and when we told the staff they just said to turn the power back on at the fuse box?? Not helpful and quite dangerous we thought! Luckily we got a good deal but we would not stay here again. Saying this, maybe the newer rooms are better than the outdated 1920's room we had!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Andie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

On first arrival staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean, tidy and modern. We had a wonderful time in the city, all within walking distance from the hotel.
On spending time at the hotel our room was directly near railway lines, no double glazing or blackout blinds, street noise could clearly be heard. The hotel was on a main street near all the night time pubs and clubs, so the noise level increased. The only thing that made the night even worse were the people in the next room to us. They were up all night playing loud music which could clearly be heard through the walls, so it felt like we were in the room with them. This hotel was lovely but would best suit people who are there to go partying all night not trying to sleep.

Room Tip: On main street near to all pubs and clubs high noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samhi2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

If you are a group staying DON'T allow your credit card to be used as a guarantee . The hotel has a 24 hour bar and is used by stag and hen nights, our group has just been ripped off to the tune of £150 after being charged for being noisy . If that was the case you would expect at least a warning or more so a request to keep the noise down. Neither was given and the first time anything was said was at checkout , when we were informed that a party of females had complained about noise not sure if it is legal or not just be warned .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deckerpti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#53 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#54 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Property: Surtees Hotel
Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing