We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs refit and clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“needs refit and clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Entrance staff helpful , room very noisy ,and very cold, needs duvets,at least ,our room curtains needed washing and fixing up as would not close,street noisy very loud(double glazing would have helped ) bathroom black mould around bath not a good look,neither was hole in the bathroom door , its just in need of modernising

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1nightstay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    158
    149
    85
    136
See reviews for
43
191
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Me and a friend stayed at this Hotel for one night on Saturday December 18th. We were greeted by a pleasant young man however that was all that was pleasant about this Hotel. We were in room 8 which was on the first floor. On the way to the room the stair carpet was that worn it had holes in it and there were marks all over the walls. When we got to our room we were greeted by a freezing temperature. There were no radiators working. The curtain was hanging off, the bed covers had holes in them. The room was very dated. The bathroom had mould all over it (disgusting). On the morning we went down for breakfast. The room was freezing and other people were commenting about the temperature. The breakfast came and it was the cheapest of food, sausage was terrible. The coffee and orange juice was watered down. Overall although we got a good rate at £50.00 per room b&b I would never stay here again and will gladly pay alot more for a better Hotel.

Warren

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woz1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

I stayed here with my best friend in November for one night when we came up for the football and had a night out in Newcastle. Because we arrived at half 5 in the morning, we knew we couldnt check in yet and walked round Newcastle for a bit. We went to the hotel at about half 10 but it took us quite a while to find it, and after finding out it was above a gentlemans club we couldnt stop laughin! We explained we were early but could we just chill in the living room and change in the bathroom. We were kindly told we could do this, yet 10 minutes later they had managed to sort out room which we were so happy about!!
This hotel is not suited for people staying for a week, but if you are like me and my friend who just wanted to rough it for a night not caring where we stayed, this hotel is decent. Bed, bathroom, heater, you dont want much more. Yes they arent the best standards but your only sleeping in there!!
Also, after a night out of a lot of drinking, i had managed to lose my hotel key. After apologising lots and explaining i would pay for an extra one, I left not having to pay anything, they were very kind and helpful, and not agry that I had lost the key!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FulhamFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Have just stayed in this hovel of a hotel.

Upon arrival we were asked for payment and then were told that the card machine was not working. When explaining we didn't have £80 in cash on us the receptionist asked if we could go out and get the cash there and then. We then proceeded up the thread borne stairs and got to our room. There were stains on the carpet and curtains with mould all around the bath.

After having a night out I can usually sleep through anything - not in this room. The window would not shut and apart from being freezing due to the poor excuse for blankets on the bed I got woken up by someone vomiting outside then by people having an argument and the list goes on. I refused to go for breakfast but my sister went and came back up after 15 mins after not eating much due to the poor quality. Upon walking down the stairs we were faced with half eaten kebab boxes.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weefles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

This hotel is absolutley grotty. Four of us booked hotel for a one night stay, to do some shopping and have a wee party. When we booked in the lift was not working...seems to have been that way for some time. On our way up stairs, we noted the smell of stale urine and the carpet on the stairs war worn and torn. Very dangerous. Our room 27 looked as if someone had tried to kick the door in. 2 very uninviting single beds with grotty looking blankets on it. The furniture was falling apart. The windows were craxked and dirty. The net curtqins were ripped and torn and the heavier curtains were not even up properly. They were all filthy. The toilet had a leaking cystern and water on the floor. The bath had black mould right round the edges....mingin....yuk...the tea and coffe facilities....well the water tasted bad and 2 of our milks were empty.
The room was very noisy, with people fighting all night. Another pub emptying glass into bins. Sirens all night. And everytime a car went over the manhole cover in main stret it clanged.
Breakfast was good.....however a bitty disorganised. I asked for a fresh jug of coffee as what was left in the jug had been there for ever and was politley told by the lady that 'when this was done, she would then make a fresh pot. About 20 mins later, she then emptied the dregs into a wee teapot and put a fresh pot on the plate and then put a sign up saying that this was not for use as it was still brewing.......
All I can say, steer clear of this tip. The poor staff at reception are so used to the complaints that they just hand out the contact details.....I have stayed in the likes of Oulton Hall, Leeds for £95, which is a far superior hotel o the Surtees, who charge £80 for same , one night bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukeedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

I had booked this hotel for myself and partner as a change from a holiday inn,photos online looked nice and they had a room available at last minute for a decent price,was hard to find but as soon as we saw the grotty sign we knew it was going to be minging.The outside looks grotty and horrid compared to the photos,reception was lovely,staff member was nice but then we opened door to stairwell and what smelled like rotting cat pee/damp followd us up to our room.I don't know how staff work there with that stink.There wasnt a chance in hell i was using the lift which looked like it was put there 100 years ago,the bathroom had tiles falling off,shower curtain was stained and smelly it was down right disgusting!Please do not use this hotel it is minging!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornheim, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

This hotel is located close to city center but you'll find it hidden in it's street. The entrance is in the back of the building, you approach it either through the slip road of a public car park (NO hotel reception sign) or via some stairways. It is an old building, the lift was built in year 1923. The rooms are equipped well and show a bit of their age. But finally it was a nice room, not very quiet. But a good location, nice English Breakfast included in the room rate. Not a strong, but a recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Property: Surtees Hotel
Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing