We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This was my second stay at the Osborne in Jesmond. I had a spacious single room on the second floor.

My only quibble was that the shower cubicle was grubby which, with better cleaning, would be absolutely fine and the mattress a little soft. The rest of the room was spotless.

The staff were nice the area is good.

It was ok for a one night business trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Osborne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Osborne Hotel is largely a “no frills” operation, but as a result can offer very competitive prices for the area. Those prices include an excellent cooked breakfast and a fairly convenient location, just one Metro stop from the central area of Newcastle.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Jesmond Metro station (although it took me longer than that the first time as the Metro station exit can be quite confusing, so even after consulting the “local area” map at the exit of the station I had to get oriented first).

The room I had was fairly small, with a shower, small flat screen TV and only a stool rather than a chair to sit on – but the bed was comfortable enough, and the room temperature OK. Although my room faced the road, it was far back enough to mean that road noise wasn’t a problem.

As long as people don’t expect the gushing sort of welcome they might get in some hotels they won’t have a problem with the staff, but there can be an issue if other guests aren’t considerate when they return to their rooms after a late night / early morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here for one night to see a Newcastle show, staff very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms clean and comfortable with very comfortable beds. Tea and coffee in room, towels provided, next morning a lovely cooked breakfast provided. Excellent and would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollynorthtyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

the hotel's about 20 mins walk from the city centre, or 10-15 if you walk to the local station and take the metro

it's on a busy road, but otherwise the area's very pleasant and there's a lovely restaurant next door

the room I had was small, but clean and contemporary - the bathroom was looking a bit dated, but was clean

staff were helpful and friendly, the cooked breakfast is also quite decent

for the money, I think it's good value

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was in Newcastle for 2 nights for business. I got a single room in this hotel. The was quite small but was clean and with comfortable beds. My room was on the front side, so there was some noise (nothing major) from trucks passing by around 7 in the morning on the adjacent road. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Jesmond Metro station. There are a number of restaurants up the road from the hotel, mostly upmarket.
Breakfast was in the restaurant next door. There was cereal, some canned fruits and cooked breakfast at request (all included).
The staff were super friendly, courteous and helpful. Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: choose a room on the rear side for reduced road noise
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yehia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel is situated in an excellent area with many great bars and places to eat. It's an ideal location if u are running in the great north run as it is only 10 mins walk from the start. Not a place I would stay with my wife however great for a lads weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou4406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We only stayed a couple of days at the Osborne as a base to look round Newcastle and walk along the great wall. We were made welcome and the room was clean but perhaps a little tied and in need of refurbishment.

Good meals both at breakfast and in the Itialian restaurant at night time.

Room Tip: Can be noisy on the front at the weekends
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadget-Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#45 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 13 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $57 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing