We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of Kenilworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

OK by first impressions you would think this hotel to be a bit of a dive but i found it to be the oppisite. it has a good carpark round the back very comfy rooms with real good food served OK it is a pub with rooms at the end of the day which can get a bit noisy but if you want a good cheap hotel that offers a good standard of rooms and good food at an excellant price look no further it is not the ritz but very good for anyone who is on a business trip of overnighting in Newcastle on Tyne

Room Tip: Room 2 nice comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    31
    25
    48
See reviews for
26
52
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

It was disconcerting walking in to this hotel as the reception area is the bar. The gentleman who booked me in was extremely helpful giving me a map a telling me how to get to the places I wanted to go to. The room was basic and clean although the decor a little dated. There was a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and milk and when we managed to exhaust these more was provided on request. The twin beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was, again a little dated, but clean and the over-bath shower powerful enough once the temperature had been sorted. The breakfast was tasty and well-cooked.
The hotel was further from the centre than we had anticipated but we travelled in on the bus the first day and by metro the second.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed on a Saturday. The room was quite big and clean. Bathroom was functional (although a toilet brush would have been nice). Breakfast in the morning was very good. Staff very friendly. We wouldn't recommend staying here if you're planning on going to bed before midnight though as there's a bar downstairs which is quite loud. All in all good value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleen_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Worst night's sleep for along time. Bed was clearly a joke and should have made its way to the tip years ago. Staff appeared indifferent. Guests need to use their own cell phone to ring reception to get anyone to open the door. I have concerns over security of the rooms and entrapment issues behind locked doors.
Accommodation very tired, bar area rather sticky at breakfast time. Evidence of violence in one of the rooms? Has a DSS feel about it. Looks reasonable as a bar at night but would totally avoid it for accommodation. Owners need to take an honest self critical look at the business. Previous poor reviews may have embellished gripes interspersed within them, but the underlying trend of poor accommodation appears to be a strong theme.
Customer advice? Strongly avoid.
My business advice? Focus on the evening trade side of the business. The accommodation needs killing off or significant investment now as it is detremental to the business. Give a damn, spend a night in every room and ask youself "is it good enough for me?". If you think it's acceptable, think again. The investment in this business is more to do with care and attention to detail than pure finances. Train or hire suitable staff and consider their appearance. Change the name of the business as the reviews appear to show the current situation to be a basket case and more dished than the beds.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhoteladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahhemy, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
DSS and violence in the rooms? Could this customer please provide evidence of this as we would be very interested to see it! The Kenilworth is a small. family run hotel and in 20 years of trading we haven't had either. The Fire Brigade and AA Inspector found no safety issues so not sure how the reviewer did.
We are a 2 star, independent business with well trained staff and comfortable rooms. The hotel provides a good breakfast, free car parking and free Wi Fi all at competitive prices Thanks for the (anonymous) advice but it would mean more if it was constructive and not merely a rant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

WIRRAL, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I can see why this place gets mixed reviews, and I think it has to be assessed in context. The rooms are a bit "tired", but I have stayed in a number of hotels on Osborne Road and generally they are all like this, no matter what they have spent on the facade.The windows did not shut very well, and it was a bit noisey, but this is Jesmond and the students are out there! The room was clean enough, and the bed was comfortable, but we were in an upper room under the roof so headroom in places was limited.The staff were friendly and helpful enough. Breakfast was OK. The room rate was reasonable, and we were there over The Great North Run weekend so it is probably fairly cheap at other times.
If you want a modern good size room at modest price such as you might expect from a Premier Inn, I suspect this is not for you. If you want a room in this area at a reasonable price and not too worried about a slight "seediness", you'll probably find it alright.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

just wanted to write this reveiw as there aren't many good ones on here for this hotel, and most of them are unjustifyed, a group of 18 of us stayed in this hotel 29 july 11-31 july 11 and had an excellent time. The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to help you, the food was superb as were the rooms, the bed was comfier than mine at home! hotel rooms and bar are clean and the location is excellent for town (worked out at £1.25 one way per person)

Very relaxing place to hang out after a hard night on the town. If in newcastle again I would deffinatly stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I come here regularly for business and think it is a brilliant little hotel. All staff extra friendly and also great location for Newcastle centre or the busy nightlife on Osborne Road. Brilliant value for money and will be sure to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charl0tte_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
510 reviews
0.0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#56 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel

Property: Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 44 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing