We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here recently with my daughter and found this Premier Inn as comfortable as all the others I've recently visited. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast, while a bit pricey, was of excellent quality.

My only moan is how much we had to pay for the same room on the Saturday compared to the Sunday. It would appear that the World descends on Newcastle to party on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front if you do not want to disturbed at the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel was located in a convenient place, being only a few minutes walk from Monument, and Eldon Square. Perfect for shopping or catching a bus/the Metro.
The room was a good size, and very comfortable. I especially liked the bed, which was very, very easy to fall asleep on.
The only down side to the trip was that the room didn't have a window that opened (which I like to have open when I sleep at night), and the temperature control on the air-con was a little difficult to figure out.
Other than that, the staff were GREAT, they tended to our needs, and answered all queries politely, professionally and with good knowledge of what they needed too.
Overall, I was very happy with my trip and stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Convenient for city centre and very pleasant and helpful reception staff who are struggling manfully - and womanfully! with an ageing hotel. I understand that a new one is being built right in the centre - will this one then close or have a complete refurbishment? Air conditioning in room worked only fitfully despite hotel maintenance trying to fix it. I understand that this is a regular fault and as the windows do not open it can be a real problem if you happen to be there when the weather is warm. Bathroom had dodgy shower and fitments. Car park arrangements worked well. Breakfasts were good and the evening meals were of good quality but service of the junior restaurant staff was not up to usual Premier Inn standard. Will probably try a different hotel when next in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent service at the hotel. The staff really made me feel like a valued guest. Premier inns are always comformtable with the soft pillow option, always a bonus. The air conditioning was a real bonus on this occasion, with hot weather and was easy to use. Overall, very happy with my stay!


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Provided all we needed for a quick visit to family. Convenient location for Metro links and city centre, good price, clean, comfortable bed and friendly staff. Not looking for a stylish hotel on this occasion, just convenience, cleanliness and easy booking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Premier Inn for a stag do over the 3 days and it was good. Perfect for large parties or visiting Newcastle. 2 minutes walk from the centre and about 15 from St James' Park. The metro route is close by too. Very competitive on the price, they even refunded a whole nights stay due to the fire alarm going off in the early hours in the morning! Recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jayproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hotel staff great , rooms clean enough , central location, but room was tiny and as I paid the going rate would expect the same size of room , aspparently if only satying one night you get the smaller rooms, My mother had to squeeze in as dfar as she could to the dressing table while drying her hair whike I squeezed past sideways to get to the bathroom !!!!! NOT GOOD ENOUGH, No room for any luggage, very claustrophobic indeed and not a particularly cheap room !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persains7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Address: Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $59 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing