We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant apart from room size”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant apart from room size”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Came here with a friend for a birthday on Thursday 13th and Friday 14th June, great central location which was ideal for us going into town on a night as we didn't need taxis. On arriving we had booked a twin room but went up to our room to find a double bed and very small room with barely any space to move which was annoying as we were staying for two nights. So we went back down to reception and said we had booked a twin room and if possible could they put us in one of the bigger rooms. The lady on reception "Jo", was brilliant and quickly sorted us a new twin room out that was a lot bigger than our first one, she was very friendly and not at all annoyed by us wanting to change rooms, she was very nice when we first checked in too and very efficient and professional. Aside from that hiccup we had a brilliant time, staff were lovely, location was great and hotel was spotless.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    425
    221
    89
    51
See reviews for
170
390
93
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Room size & facilities. Reception staff refunded the cost of the room after my wife mentioned that a local disco had kept her awake until 2am - this was made as a comment, not a complaint, but the staff immediately offered the refund without being asked!

Rooms at rear of building can be disturbed by noise from local disco. IIRC, no tea/coffee in rooms. Room we had was on the cold side and temperature could not be raised

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, stay away from the rooms at the rear of the hotel on Fridays/Saturdays b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeallen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seamer
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

stayed on 11th june 2013 just one night. good sized clean room in a good location for town centre and all shops etc. staff efficient and friendly
is easy to find and just over the bridge.
dont bother using the dining room -from ordering to serving was 40 minutes and it was only 25% full. plenty of alternatives within short walking distance.
car parking is right next to hotel £1.30 an hour or £8 for full day from hotel.
would stay there again

Room Tip: 3rd floor is walkable if lift is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardseamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tyneside
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A friend booked two twin rooms for his birthday as we all live some distance away from newcastle and getting taxis home would have proved expensive. Same usual high standards of comfort and cleanliness for a bargain price as I've come to expect from this brand.
Views really non existent but central location can not really be rivalled for this price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKvisualartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are staying in Newcastle, you can't go wrong with this hotel. Centrally based it's in a great location for the shops and only 10 mins to quayside. Staff were excellent, knowledgeable and very friendly. Breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel which looks over a busy road, although the noise didn't bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ok, so it's not the prettiest hotel in the world, reminds me of a converted office (which it most probably is!). But for £29 it was a great stay.
The staff are superb and could not have been more friendly or helpful and once you get over the slightly ageing common areas the room was super clean, the bathroom gleaming and the bed and pillows very comfortable, in fact all the things my recent stay in London at a large chain hotel wasn't and paid £160 for!
The car park was attached to the hotel (run by the city council) and was very cheap, free after 5pm until 8 next morning.
All in all a surprising hotel and well worth the (not a lot of) money we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKJJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight, paid for 3 rooms at a very reasonable price so thought the quality would not be fantastic. I was wrong, the staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean & comfy, the bar area great and we had a very good breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bananange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Address: Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing