We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Premier, named correctly in the bedbox hotel category”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable and everything works! Just what most travellers want but add to that the Geordie welcome, a good bar and very acceptable food and as I am increasingly finding, Premier have just got it right!
Obviously I am not comparing it to a five star experience but I would much rather stay here than risk staying in a so called four star which may be good or may be not, this is just consistent and great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Although the room decor and staff were excellent I have the following points to make on my recent visit to this venue:

Positives
(1) Helpful members of staff
(2) Room decor, modern and nice
(3) Room cleaned early in the day
(4) Quiet, central locations 5 mins walk from Eldon Square

Negatives
(1) Only one lift was working during the stay. It took 3 days for the second lift to function
(2) The TV was distant from the bed
(3) Room was cold despite climate control system, temperature took long to go up
(4) Breakfast overpriced

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CesareCamestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

i stayed here whilst my wife was visiting the royal victoria hospital, she underwent major surgery and the staff were great, would especially like to thank joanna (dark hair and glasses, ) she has being exceptional always asking how my wife is and even gave me a get well soon card for her. Also Jake he has being so understanding getting me taxis etc, these 2 need a medal for great customer service. The location of the hotel is great also a short walk away from the city centre. We will most definately wil be back under better circumstances i hope. Thanks again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights midweek in April for a city centre break. Very good price for a basic hotel. Fantastic location right near the main shopping area and a short walk to the quayside (taxi back to the hotel was about £3). The carpark isn't owned by the hotel but is attached to the building. The hotel offers a full day ticket for £6 which is great value for city centre parking.
The rooms are small and basic but have everything you need. We were initially put in the wrong room but this was rectified immediately. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was ok - my boyfriend wasn't impressed by the cooked breakfast buffet but I was more than happy with the continental selection (although it could be better quality/more choice for the price).
My only complaint is the bathroom wasn't as clean as it could have been and the toilet did not flush properly/the tank took about 10 mins to fill back up. The shower wasn't brilliant either and was difficult to turn on/off. We spoke to maintenance and the man told us they were fitting new bathrooms and ours was one of the older ones, so I guess this will be fixed in the near future. Also girls may want to bring their own hairdryer as the one in the room was rubbish!
Overall we enjoyed our stay, perfect location, comfortable rooms and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rchl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good room in the very lively enviroment. The service from the staff is excellent. The night life is very lively.The price might be much but it is definitely worth it somehow.Would not mind visiting there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulE803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night while attending a gig at the o2 Academy.
No free parking but you park in the multistory next door and get a pass from reception which costs £6 per day which I thought was OK seeing as it was just for one night.
The lady at check in was very friendly and helpful and gave us all the info we required.
Our room was bright and airy and the bed was huge and comfy.
I would say the bathroom was a little dated but very clean which is all you need really.
We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was OK - average pub grub but tasty enough.
Again the bar and restaurant staff were all bright and bubbly.
Plenty to choose from at breakfast so all was good there.
Would stay here again if visiting Newcastle as it is so central and easy to get to places and if you book early you can get a really cheap deal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMSM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night break, very good location seconds from the shops and bars. A slightly older premier inn but the quality of the beds etc is still very good. All the staff were so friendly nothing was too much trouble. Ate in the hotel in the evening and the food was good. would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollypolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Address: Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $59 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing