We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Reviewed March 29, 2013

You know where you are with these Premier Inns. If you are elderly, this one is good for several reasons. Of course the rooms are comfortable and well equipped; you expect that. The resturant and bars are excellent well-appointed places too.
Its location is perfect for visiting Newcastle. It's at the same level as the greater part of the town with all the important attractions, shopping centres, theatres, galleries, museums and restaurants within easy walking distance. You must visit the quayside while you're there to see the extraordinary array of bridges and the amazing buildings and galleries etc. To do that you can take the special quayside buses that are nearby. And there are two Metro stations within ten minutes stroll, from which, in hardly half an hour, you can spend a bracing sea-air experience in Tynemouth, Cullercoats ( our favourite ) or Whitley Bay.

We have stayed here before. The staff are splendidly professional but offer such friendliness and genuine attention. You know you'll want to come back.

Room Tip: Higher the better at the back of the house, that's the quieter side, especially at the weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here last weekend. The location of this hotel can not be faulted, slap bang in the middle of the city and within easy access of bars/restaurants/clubs/shops etc. Room was clean and bed was comfy but the one thing that really lets this place down is the lack of central heating in the room. It was a cold weekend (-2 outside) yet the heating system in our room did not work. They had provided a dimplex heater but it didn't really do the job and our room was cold at all times! I went to reception and asked for extra blankets which they kindly dropped to my room and even the staff acknowledged that some rooms were very cold. Room cost £70 per night so I dont think this is really acceptable.
Staff were friendly and efficent and breakfast was good if a bit expensive. Dont think I would stay here again unless it was summer and the weather was warm.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel (uneven numbers) are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donegalboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for only £29 and what can I say but fantastic value for money. Paid extra for breakfast but what a selection and tasted amazing! Guy that checked us in was very helpful and polite. Rooms good size. Only a stone through from the shops :) and also only cost £8 in a taxi to the metro centre. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A colleague and I had to go to Newcastle for several days on business and needed somewhere close to the public transports links for ease of travel . This hotel suited our needs perfectly - a five minute walk from from the metro station and the main bus station. Ten minutes away from the excellent entertainment, shopping and eateries of the city. The hotel was easy to find, the welcome from the staff was warm and friendly but not intrusive and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Looks odd from the outside but fine once you get inside, Hard to beat for value and convenience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

stayed there last weekend (15th-18th march) great place 2 stay nice clean room bit on the small side but sure, all the staff were friendly even at 4.30am at the bar when every1 was wasted lol. Club across the street was pumpin gud spot 2 hit if ur there 4 a drink. plenty of stag groups in the hotel that said didnt hear much and we were the closes room 2 the lift! if/when i go bac 2 newcastle i will deffo b stayin in this hotel. The food in the hotel was very nice

Room Tip: the odd number rooms are the opposite side of the hotel 2 the nite club if you are worried about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern_ireland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice clean hotel and room good location minutes walk from city center shopping and bars .not the best looking building iv seen but hey it does exactly what's expected from a budget hotel. We stayed on a Wednesday night so was pretty quite I would expect it to bd full of stagg and hen party's for weekends but I dont have a problem with this. Staff were very helpful and friendly , room was everything I expected nice large bed .don't know what some folk expect when they moan about noise etc if you dont think its value for money then go elsewhere .I booked well in advance and paid under £40 for 1 nights stay.we went out for food as I feel there's lots of better deals in Newcastle centre as to the restaurant in the premier inn. Bar had a pool table and duke box that was good but thought £3.65 a pint of stella was a bit steep but hey im Scottish. Overall good value for money .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Since my first ever trip to the UK last year, I've been standing by my choice of accommodation in the Premier Inn chain. This particular property in Newcastle Centre was wonderful for several reasons but mainly down to it's location and value. Newcastle is a tranquil little university town with young students from all over the world enrolled in the City's several colleges and varsities and this particular PI hotel is literally a stone's throw away from the city centre. I gather it is 5mins walk the city centre and monument metro station, 8mins from Newcastle central train station (which quite easily link u to rest of the UK - I've travelled to Manchester, Leeds and London from this particular platform) and 10mins from Quay side, a restaurants and drinking holes littered little avenue. Real good location with excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarsonSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Address: Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $59 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing