We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in a premier and would recommend. excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Reviewed December 4, 2012

read tripadvisor so asked for a quiet room but as stayed on a Sunday there were no revellers. Very clean. Staff were very friendly, polite and courteous. Only paid £29 so excellent value for what I needed. Only niggle was the heating system would not get hotter but as I was going to bed did not bother reception so I turned it off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent for shopping and a night out in the centre of Newcastle, being just minutes away from shops, restaurants, cinemas etc. We stayed here to do some Christmas shopping, have a meal out and catch a film and it was a perfect base.

The hotel itself is a little tired in places, but I think this can be expected at such a busy place. It's also very noisy with traffic, even throughout the night but the glazing cuts most of this out and it's only if you need to open the window that it becomes a problem.

Parking is a bit of a problem. There's a small multi storey car park right next door with a connecting door into the reception, but when we arrived (on a Sunday) this was full and it took half an hour of waiting and driving round and round before, thankfully, a space became available. The car park was secure and well lit though.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room itself was clean and very comfortable. Little things like grubby net curtains and discoloured tile grouting stood out as the rest of the room, linen, bed etc were spotlessly clean. Having said that these were minor things in our opinion as overall our stay was very pleasant and comfortable.

Breakfast was of a good quality and very relaxed.

We paid £90 in total for one night including our breakfasts. I thought this was good value, but this was a Sunday night and the same stay on a Saturday would have been £140 which I would have considered expensive.

I would definitely stay here again though.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PollyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I decided to stayed at this Inn for its very convenient location. However, this is the best I can say of it. It is cheap, but what you get in exchange is not so much: the room was small, artificial lightening insufficient, the hitting did not work properly, ... and during the weekends it is impossible to sleep (it seems it is very popular for stag parties). Staff was great but this does not make the defficiencies up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alis77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Im generaly a big fan of Premier Inn, though perhaps Ive been spoiled by the beautiful new properties of Leeds City North and Edinburgh airport. This Premier Inn is far below average for the brand as its old and outdated, not the new lightening or curtins. The bathrooms are also not the usual standard. The furniture was old and stained. The room was freezing cold though we were provided with heaters for both rooms upon request. Noise from adjacent rooms. We were refunded our money without question for both rooms it was so bad. For the good reputation of Premier Inn, they need to give it a complete overhaul or close it down. Would never stay here again

Room Tip: Stay at the more modern properties on the quayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyingboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This premier inn had a very comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom, and a good price especially for the location, what more do you need! I can't speak for the breakfast as we decided against it due to the cost - £8.25 for all you can eat, good if you eat a lot, but not if all you wanted was cereal! The hotel itself was quiet, there was a bit of road noise but nothing unacceptable for the location. Would definitely try a premier inn again after this experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktffos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent a night here with friends on a recent visit to The Sage. We paid £40 for the room and just over £5 for the continental breakfast. We arrived 2 hours before check in time but our room was ready so that was a bonus. The room was spacious and comfortable, if a little cool. There was a bath in the bathroom, not just a shower. Everything was very clean. There was tea and coffee available and a hair dryer and the bathroom had soap and shower gel. We were at the front of the hotel with a view of the river and we had a very comfortable and quiet night. The continental breakfast was excellent. We had large bowls of fresh friut and compote. There was a good choice of cereal and you could have porridge if you wanted. Tea,coffee,toast crumpets and croissants as well as muffins and plenty of butter jam honey and marmite available. We thought it was excellent value and would look for a Premier Inn again. The staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddlesbroughJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night in October, it was our first ever stay in a Premier Inn and our first ever night away together. We stayed here because of the price and location, we were going to a gig at the O2 Academy and it was just a 10-15 minute walk away. It was surprisingly quiet in our room on the 3rd floor, when we arrived we were greeted very warmly and friendly. Our room was very clean and well presented, we were very happy with it! Bed was comfy, the only thing that bothered me was the air con vent, it kept me up a little bit but I slept fine other than that. I had a breakfast the next morning and it was lovely. Had a wonderful time here and are definitely staying here again whenever we come back to Newcastle. (hopefully very soon!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Address: Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $59 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing