We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here at the end of September visiting friends in Newcastle after having a good experience at the Manchester MEN/Printworks hotel.

Room: quite small but had 2 chairs to put stuff on and a few hangers to put clothes on. It had a nice big mirror but the curtains didn't pull across the full way so left a gap for sunlight to stream through and the net curtains were grubby. Bathroom moderately clean, though not to the same standard as the Manchester one (the bath sides were clean but the bottom was distinctly tired and could've done with a good scrub). Lighting and mirror in the bathroom was good, but in the bedroom itself you only had 2 lamps he bed and a little desk lamp. This made getting ready for a night out a challenge!

The toilet wasn't very clean when we first came into the room (I won't go into details...) but while we were out for the day it was sorted and the beds made (though this business of tucking the duvet under the mattress gives me the heebie jeebies, anyone else?)
The beds were nice and clean and the room had extras and spare towels which was good. There was a tv but we didn't really use it and the heating was easy to use and made the room nice and toasty, albeit being a little noisy.

We didn't have the breakfast or use any extra facilities other than the vending machines in the foyer (which were a little overpriced but a godsend while you were between meals. I liked that there was security on the doors after coming in during the earlier hours, having our names checked off meant that you wouldn't get anyone sneaking in and wandering around.

The location was great for us, being a 5/10 minute walk from the city centre shops and Monument Metro station. There is a club right outside the entrance but we didn't feel intimidated getting back to the hotel and as we stayed around the side of the building, didn't get any noise.

For a cheap weekend away as a base it's great, though it doesn't match up to the standards set by the Manchester one!

Pros: price, location, basic facilities.
Cons: needs updating, size of room, poor lighting (if you're going for "seductive", may I suggest installing a dimmer switch?)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Myself and my cousin stayed at this premier inn on a friday night as we were going to see Nickelback at the Metro Radio Arena. The hotel is in a good location, about 10-15 minutes walk from the train station and within easy access of the shops and tourist attractions. The hotel supplied us with a clear map of Newcastle centre which was handy to have. The hotel also gave us a taxi number which came in use for when we went to the areana. We could have walked but we took the easy option and the fare only came to £3.80 which is amazing considering the hotel staff said it would cost about £5.00.
Our room was very clean and tidy, exactly what you would expect for a premier inn. We walked back to our hotel from the concert venure because it was a long wait for a taxi. When we got back to our hotel at about 11.00pm we could hear noise from the club which is opposite the hotel. We were on the 5th floor. When i booked this room I was unaware that there was a nightclub nearby. All we could hear was a constant bass noise but we eventually got to sleep. When i woke during the night I couldn't hear it because I presume it closed at around 3am. Ideally it would be good if premier inn could install noise proof windows.
My cousin told me she woke during the night because she could hear people above us singing for about an hour, which she was not impressed with as you can imagine.
In the morning we went down for breakfast which was very enjoyable, the all you can eat fry up was lovely and the cereal and juice choices were really nice.
Overall a good stay, but the noise from the nightclub at the weekends might disrupt people from getting to sleep, at a reasonable time, like it did ours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobylou8424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Great Location, view of the Tyne, but no noisey disturbance .even on a friday night! Stayed with my children and was very pleased with the size and comfort of the family room.Breakfast yummy with plenty of choice. As usual staff friendly &professional-room, building and car park clean and well maintained. Booking already for next time we are back in Newvastle.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lejeun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stay at this hotel about 12 times each year. The staff are always helpful and the rooms are a decent size. The restaurant isn't great, but there are loads of places to eat within walking distance. Good place!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a number 6 or higher (ie. 406, 706 etc) as the rooms nearer the lifts can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisatobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

loved this hotel all the staff very helpful and cheerful excellent location for shopping and night life, breakfast was fantastic very fresh and great selection i would defiantly stay at this hotel again i can't fault it at all .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have stayed in many Premier Inns lately and all have great staff which makes such a difference. This hotel is very well located, we stayed her for a visit to the University and it very conveniently placed. It is next door to a night club (hardly suprising in Newcastle) so there was quite a lot of noise but staying on a higher floor would probably help with this (we were on the 3rd floor) Great value for a city centre hotel.

Room Tip: ASk for a room on a high floor to reduce the nosie levels and be able to see over the roof tops of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziggy45a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Right in central of Newcastle city, within walking distance to all major city destinations.
The friendly and helpful receptionist will certain make you very welcomed.
Hotel is clean. Room is clean. Bed is clean. And yeah, comfortable pillows!!

Room Tip: Am happy with my room, with window looking towards the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarenceC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,092 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,978 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Address: Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $68 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing