We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Very handy for Sage, Baltic and Quays generally - 2 mins walk away from riverside. Free parking and great breakfasts. Highly recommended - also quiet at night, far enough away from all-night clubs in city centre that you will get your sleep!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastvisitor001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    397
    204
    80
    46
See reviews for
154
362
87
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We booked this at the discounted rate of £29 for the night, which is a total bargain.

As usual, it lived up to the usual high Premier Inn standard. Warm and friendly welcome, lovely clean rooms, if a little on the small side and a rubbish view but I was there to sit looking out of the window all night!

There is a late night bar which stays open until 1am, we went for a drink and it was nice, not too badly priced either for a hotel bar.

My only grumble was that it was a bit too far walk out from where we wanted to be. There is nothing wrong with this hotel at all, but I wouldnt book it again because of location - I'd book something further into town (mainly because I'm lazy and dont want to walk too far after a day's shopping and a night out drinking!)

I must say, Newcastle is such a nice city. I've never been before but would definitely go again. The people are fab, so friendly and nice and the choice of shops and bars (once we'd found them) are fantastic. I can't recommend Newcastle enough. And for the less lazy amongst us, Premier Inn Central too :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklady1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Has everything that you need for a short stay. Convenient location for the city centre, clean and tidy rooms, late bar, good breakfast. Payable wi-fi through Spectrum is the only downside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank konarob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hotel offers exactly what it says it does, a clean and welcoming place to rest, very close to the historic city centre. Ample and cheap car parking, marred only by the smell of stale urine, is available in the council operated car park next door, with a handy ground floor link to hotel reception. Staff were very professional and friendly, giving the impression that nothing would be too much trouble and making 'check in' a smooth and easy process. The lobby area was clean and well furnished, the lifts spotless and quick. Allocated room 458, I arrived to find a bright and airy room, tidy in every respect, if a little small to accommodate a very large bed. Everything worked well, with plenty of free tea and coffee, a good sized flat screen TV and a neat bathroom with plenty of towels. The shower was brilliant, far better than I have experienced in hotels charging 5 times the price, the bath a little small but equally good. The bed was comfortable, with crisp clean linen and spare pillows. The air con worked wonderfully well, the double glazing ensuring a quiet and peaceful nights sleep. Breakfast, on the second floor restaurant, was excellent in terms of choice and quantity, although the food on the hot servery could have been hotter. Again, staff were efficient and friendly. Overall a very good place to stay which, whilst lacking in some luxuries, remains excellent value for the weariest of travellers.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

good restaurant although a couple of the dishes were out of stock, hotel was clean and tidy lots of free parking and close to the bits of the city we wanted to be close to would stay again definately

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Don't know if I sould stay here it at the weekend, but it was fine for a 1 night stay. Short walk from the train station, and very central. Handy for Northumbria University too. Friendly staff, reasonable restaurant. Room was very small, but clean and quiet. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruralbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed here with my mum last week as we were off to see the Take That concert in Sunderland. I'd had problems finding a room as so many people were in the area for the concerts and I was worried that this place might be a bit shabby. However I was very pleasantly surprised.

The staff were friendly and helpful... but then most Geordie's are. However the room was the real surprise. Spacious and very, very clean. Nice flat screen TV... clean white sheets and not a speck of dirt in the bathroom. The shower was great too. I was sharing with my mum and she said it was the best nights sleep she'd had in ages. The food was also OK. Better than average anyway! And the good thing is that it is optional.

The location is a little out of town but there are buses nearby and it is about £6.50 in a taxi from Newcastle Central station. Across the road from the hotel there are some steps down to the Quayside... and you could walk into town from there - about a mile I reckon.

I would highly recommend this hotel. The overall standard was as good as anything I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms at front overlook a busy road, can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynzi_j79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Address: (New Bridge Street) Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing