We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hadrian Wall trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Hotel

Avenue Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Parrish, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hadrian Wall trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staff was very helpful with suggestions for my day of sightseeing. Also great restaurant tip and directions to a shop i needed for some staples before my walk. The breakfast was great and they helped me get to my jump off in good order.

Room Tip: Best I could tell no pool or fitness center, neither were missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie2450, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It is lovely to hear we helped you get your walk off to a good start. Sightseeing around here is so easy as there are lots of choices for all tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at The avenue for the great north run weekend and found the staff there very friendly and helpful and they recommended a great ( and cheap!) taxi firm and good places to eat out.
The room was very clean and the breakfast was lovely. I felt that they looked after me while I was there and would recommend them to others.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nikki l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie2450, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thankyou for your kind words about The Avenue and the staff. We always recommend the same taxi firm as they have always been reliable.
Hopefully we will see you again next year fitness allowing for The Great North Run?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the avenue and had a very pleasant stay. The guest house is in a good location and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The tasty breakfast was served in a bright,airy and cheerful dining room overlooking Jesmond cricket ground. The bedroom was spacious,very clean and had plenty of storage space with good en-suite facilities. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at The Avenue to visit Newcastle for the first time. The bed and breakfast was ideally situated in a quiet residential area opposite the Newcastle cricket ground. We had a lovely room with a superb view of the ground. The room was a reasonable size and was very clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful,they even suggested we visit St James Park to have a tour as I am a huge footie fan. Breakfast was a very well presented full English,very tasty. We walked into the city on two occasions which took us around 20 minutes and was very pleasant.A taxi to the Central station on our departure was only £5.50 . Would definitely like to return and will be recommending to all of our friends to stay at The Avenue. Thankyou!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cricket ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although room was small,it was clean and warm. Bathroom was also clean.Would recommend as a cheap and friendly bed and breakfast. Our only fault, was that it was far from the centre and had to take a bus, taxi, or metro to get there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stopped at the Avenue for 5 nights while my mother was in Freeman hospital. Place clean and tidy, staff very friendly and helpful. The Jesmond cricket club just over the road is a great place to chill out and have a good pint.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thankyou for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. The room was very shabby and although fairly clean, could have done with a coat of paint and a new carpet. During our stay we only saw one member of staff - a very pleasant young girl who was on her school holidays and was helping out. The bathroom was tiny, the shower was covered in mould, the toilet seat loose and although we pointed this out nothing was done. I would never stay there again as i think it is very poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Im sorry you were disappointed with your stay at The Avenue. The property is currently undergoing a total refurbishment and unfortunately you stayed in one of the two remaining rooms which hasnt been completed yet. We are planning to complete all work by early next year.
You only mention your bedroom having problems so I hope you enjoyed the other areas you were in which have been updated.
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#53 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: 2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing