We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay gorgeous shabby chic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay gorgeous shabby chic hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel late September 2012 as I was attending a wedding in Newcastle I stayed two nights and loved it I had a single room but it could of fit two people in it, I had a gorgeous roll top bath and large bathroom tea,coffee and hot choc it was fab. Breakfast was lovely in the morning plenty of choice staff were lovely my sister was in a double room which was also lovely but it didn't have a bath. Taxis are mega cheap into Newcastle I had a lovely weekend and would happily stay at this hotel agen.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbaby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    68
    15
    9
    54
See reviews for
71
113
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Then this is for you. Advertised more of a boutique hotel Im not sure thats accurate. Quirky and girlie perhaps. The stairwells are more of a gallery of mirrors and the entrance hall an eclictic mix of things that appear to be collected because the owners like them rather than an over all look.

The Californian receptionist / chambermaid / night porter was perfectly charming and helpful.

The bedroom very clean and comfortable.

The breakfast was yummy.

Drawbacks ... slightly un nerving that there was no staff in the building in the evening. Also although its lovely smelling a cooked breakfast because the door from the kitchen dining area was left open this wafted through the building and settled in the air a bit too heavily - shut the door next time please.

I'm not sure this would appeal to men travelling on their own, maybe a couple if the man in tolerant but I know a whole host of girlies that would love it.

I chose this as I was on my own visiting uni offspring having previously stayed at the holiday inn down the road with my Partner I wanted something a little more intimate. This certainly worked.

I would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

As a couple we had a Saturday night in Newcastle; We didn't want to be amongst a hotel full of Stag and Hen parties and didn't want to spend a lot either.
What i found with Roseberry was perfect. We had free parking, free breakfast, and were able to walk into town with ease. We got great service, a free glass of wine before heading out, and also free wi-fi.
Could ask for more- would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the Rosebery last month after struggling to book in to any of the chain hotels in Newcastle. Arrived with no expectations and couldn't believe our luck. We were given such a warm welcome from the lovely receptionist, who's customer service really couldn't have been better throughout the entire stay.

The hotel is gorgeously decorated, quirky and with a french/luxurious feel. My room was lovely, cosy and the bed was very comfortable.

Just when we thought it couldn't get any better we were invited to have a compliamentary glass of wine in the dining room. And there was the little fly in the ointment - the wine was horrible. Why go to such expense decorating a hotel with ecclectic furniture that scream 'good taste' and then buy the cheapest possible plonk to serve to your guests? This stuff was 8% (8%??) and a silly mistake to make - but easily fixed.

Despite the wine :) from now on the Rosebery will be my first choice when I stay in Newcastle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensmithalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had never been up to Newcastle and it was a lovely pleasure to come to a beautiful hotel!
The staff were so welcoming and took us up to our stunning room. The attention to detail in the bedroom and surroundings showed that a lot of care had been taken in making this hotel a destination place to relax and enjoy.

Breakfast time was also a lovely start to the day with Lesley offering a wide range of food options. Not only do you get to enjoy a lovely breakfast but also in a lovely setting of vintage chic furniture.

Night time offered the best sleep in luxury linen and vintage French beds, felt like complete luxury without the high price tags. Planning my next trip to the Rosebery Hotel very soon....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The outside is a little unprepossessing and you wonder if you have made the right decision. There is also a lack of public rooms with the exception of the excellent breakfast room. So I was feeling a tad glum and wondering if I should have "played safe" with a City Centre chain.

Imagine the pleasure on entering such a spacious, warm, clean, and beautifully decotated bedrooms (room 18 on the ground floor) with room for two double beds and large wardrobe , desk, chest of drawers and TV table. Equally positive reaction to the bathroom. The whole was a really well thought through design. not quite my taste (middle-age, balding, what do i know about anything me) but so expertly done.

I arrived early but that did not create any difficulties and the staff I met were pleasant and helfpul but frankly all i wanted to work in my room and sleep. Excellent comfortable bed and first rate linens. Free and easy access Wifi always makes my day, which is sad really.

My only quibble? If only it had a sitting room with the same attention to style and taste. But then you cannot have everything can you?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theocsbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rosebery Hotel with my teenage granddaughter as a birthday treat and I must say I was simply delighted with the hotel and it’s service. I chose the hotel because of the vintage décor, my granddaughter’s favorite, and it was stunning; every detail was considered from the bed linen to the coat hooks, all tying in perfectly with the theme of the room. The staff were also hugely accommodating to our needs, allowing us to stay in a ground floor to accommodate my limited mobility and providing vegetarian options for my granddaughter. A great location, very quiet and relaxed, much nicer than the busy hotels and bars in Newcastle city centre. Absolutely lovely, I will certainly be staying again

Room Tip: All the ones i
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michhardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebery Hotel Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebery Hotel Jesmond

Property: Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Address: 2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosebery Hotel Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosebery Hotel provides the perfect accommodation for those who are looking for that something special, rather than just a run of the mill chain hotel. The tasteful interior of the hotel provides guests with a relaxing and welcoming feel, in a quiet location, next to Jesmond Dene Park. Our rooms are light, spacious and airy, with high ceilings and charming original detailing. Offering guests free in-room continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Freeview television, free unrestricted parking and (being only 5 minutes from the city centre) a quick commute into the buzzing city of Newcastle. The Rosebery is also the nearest hotel to the Freeman Hospital, which makes us ideal for relatives of patients or locum staff, who require long term accommodation. The hotel bedrooms have comfortable, good sized beds, a flat screen television with built in DVD, a refrigerator and a seating area for breakfast. Our en suite rooms have fabulous bathrooms, some featuring roll top baths and rainforest showers and our basic rooms share a toilet and bathroom, all very nearby. We do have ground floor rooms available and we cater for vegans & those who have special dietary requirements. For longer term guests we do offer free clothes washing facilities and access to an ironing board, also we can provide use of the hotel's kitchen for use of the microwave. We provide guests who need it, luggage storage and Late and Early Check in's can be arranged with the hotel. The Rosebery is a pet friendly hotel, so if you want to bring your furry friend along, just let us know! We offer great discounts to Commercial groups, contractors, shop fitters, TV and Theatre production companies and the like. Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate party groups or Stag/Hen groups. Save up to 30% by BOOKING Direct with the hotel either by phone or via our secure booking system. Third party booking portals charge more! Booking direct is much cheaper! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Rosebery Hotel Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebery Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Rosebery Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing