We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosebery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosebery Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the Rosebery last month after struggling to book in to any of the chain hotels in Newcastle. Arrived with no expectations and couldn't believe our luck. We were given such a warm welcome from the lovely receptionist, who's customer service really couldn't have been better throughout the entire stay.

The hotel is gorgeously decorated, quirky and with a french/luxurious feel. My room was lovely, cosy and the bed was very comfortable.

Just when we thought it couldn't get any better we were invited to have a compliamentary glass of wine in the dining room. And there was the little fly in the ointment - the wine was horrible. Why go to such expense decorating a hotel with ecclectic furniture that scream 'good taste' and then buy the cheapest possible plonk to serve to your guests? This stuff was 8% (8%??) and a silly mistake to make - but easily fixed.

Despite the wine :) from now on the Rosebery will be my first choice when I stay in Newcastle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jensmithalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    67
    15
    9
    54
See reviews for
68
111
53
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had never been up to Newcastle and it was a lovely pleasure to come to a beautiful hotel!
The staff were so welcoming and took us up to our stunning room. The attention to detail in the bedroom and surroundings showed that a lot of care had been taken in making this hotel a destination place to relax and enjoy.

Breakfast time was also a lovely start to the day with Lesley offering a wide range of food options. Not only do you get to enjoy a lovely breakfast but also in a lovely setting of vintage chic furniture.

Night time offered the best sleep in luxury linen and vintage French beds, felt like complete luxury without the high price tags. Planning my next trip to the Rosebery Hotel very soon....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The outside is a little unprepossessing and you wonder if you have made the right decision. There is also a lack of public rooms with the exception of the excellent breakfast room. So I was feeling a tad glum and wondering if I should have "played safe" with a City Centre chain.

Imagine the pleasure on entering such a spacious, warm, clean, and beautifully decotated bedrooms (room 18 on the ground floor) with room for two double beds and large wardrobe , desk, chest of drawers and TV table. Equally positive reaction to the bathroom. The whole was a really well thought through design. not quite my taste (middle-age, balding, what do i know about anything me) but so expertly done.

I arrived early but that did not create any difficulties and the staff I met were pleasant and helfpul but frankly all i wanted to work in my room and sleep. Excellent comfortable bed and first rate linens. Free and easy access Wifi always makes my day, which is sad really.

My only quibble? If only it had a sitting room with the same attention to style and taste. But then you cannot have everything can you?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theocsbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rosebery Hotel with my teenage granddaughter as a birthday treat and I must say I was simply delighted with the hotel and it’s service. I chose the hotel because of the vintage décor, my granddaughter’s favorite, and it was stunning; every detail was considered from the bed linen to the coat hooks, all tying in perfectly with the theme of the room. The staff were also hugely accommodating to our needs, allowing us to stay in a ground floor to accommodate my limited mobility and providing vegetarian options for my granddaughter. A great location, very quiet and relaxed, much nicer than the busy hotels and bars in Newcastle city centre. Absolutely lovely, I will certainly be staying again

Room Tip: All the ones i
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michhardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Rosebery Hotel to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday particularly as she's very much into the vintage chic look which the Rosebery does to perfection the rooms are stunning. The hotel staff were so friendly and very accommodating considering we had a 3 month old with us the weekend of 18-21st January was an exceptionally a snowy weekend the staff made sure the rooms had additional heating and left fresh milk for tea & coffee upon our return in our rooms so we could have hot drinks, the breakfast was exceptional we could have any combination of cooked breakfast we wanted. We all agreed we'd definitely like to return.
Again thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stunning hotel, food yummy! Service good, staff very welcoming. Dog basket could have been a bit bigger. Location not too far from the city centre, easy to catch the bus straight into town. Clean and warm. Bath was huge! We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed back in December, in room 11, what a superb room, a good sized bathroom, walk-in shower and a large roll top. Staff kept checking we were ok, providing fresh milk, more biscuits and ensuring we were warm enough. Atmosphere was inviting. We will stay again later on in 2013, we have stayed at more expensive hotels, but the Rosebery is now are number one choice in tyne and wear.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebery Hotel

Property: Rosebery Hotel
Address: 2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosebery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosebery Hotel provides the perfect accommodation for those who are looking for that something special, rather than just a run of the mill chain hotel. The tasteful interior of the hotel provides guests with a relaxing and welcoming feel, in a quiet location, next to Jesmond Dene Park. Our rooms are light, spacious and airy, with high ceilings and charming original detailing. Offering guests free in-room continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Freeview television, free unrestricted parking and (being only 5 minutes from the city centre) a quick commute into the buzzing city of Newcastle. The Rosebery is also the nearest hotel to the Freeman Hospital, which makes us ideal for relatives of patients or locum staff, who require long term accommodation. The hotel bedrooms have comfortable, good sized beds, a flat screen television with built in DVD, a refrigerator and a seating area for breakfast. Our en suite rooms have fabulous bathrooms, some featuring roll top baths and rainforest showers and our basic rooms share a toilet and bathroom, all very nearby. We do have ground floor rooms available and we cater for vegans & those who have special dietary requirements. For longer term guests we do offer free clothes washing facilities and access to an ironing board, also we can provide use of the hotel's kitchen for use of the microwave. We provide guests who need it, luggage storage and Late and Early Check in's can be arranged with the hotel. The Rosebery is a pet friendly hotel, so if you want to bring your furry friend along, just let us know! We offer great discounts to Commercial groups, contractors, shop fitters, TV and Theatre production companies and the like. Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate party groups or Stag/Hen groups. Save up to 30% by BOOKING Direct with the hotel either by phone or via our secure booking system. Third party booking portals charge more! Booking direct is much cheaper! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Rosebery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebery Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Rosebery Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing