We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous HotelHeidi from London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Was in Newcastle for work, was recommended this charming hotel by friends.
What a recommendation. Amazing rooms, great staff, fab breakfast, will be staying there from now on, much better than anywhere else in the city.
Great for business or pleasure...a real gem of a place with lots of charm!
I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heididollimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 385 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Rosebery not really knowing what to expect as this was a first time visit to Newcastle. I must admit I loved both the city and the hotel and would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Overall the hotel is decorated in a french shabby chic style with many quirky vintage accents that I loved.... ..quite different to any other hotel I've stayed in.

The staff were very pleasant and always willing to help with any queries I had, whether related to the hotel or the local area.

The hotel is perfectly situated for the Jesmond area and not that far in a taxi to the town center either. Food was good and my room was lovely. I slept very well during my stay, they clearly have good mattresses! Bathroom facilities were also good.

I'll definitely stay here again if I ever find myself back in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dilly02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am a student studying at Northumbria University and I needed a place for my parents to stay as they helped me move into my new accommodation over the weekend. I didn't know much about the place however my mum sent me a picture of how beautiful her room was. I came over the next morning for breakfast. Which the hotel were happy to do for a small £5 charge. The Dining room was lovely along with the breakfast. My parents stayed in room 20, a ground floor room to the front of the property, looked out onto a green. The en suite was small, with just a shower but had everything you needed and the bedroom itself was huge. Looking round the hotel, there were lots of cute objects and vintage mirrors, looked very glam. My parents enjoyed it so much they are returning for their 27th anniversary in october!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Really great hotel - we were very well looked after during our stay - excellent bathroom with roll top bath and massive shower; everything is impeccably clean, breakfast choice and portions very good indeed, very friendly staff - a joy to spend two nights here! Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone needing a well priced hotel in the Jesmond area - the location is great too - a short walk from the Dene/ jaunt to Jesmond Dene Real Tennis Club and a stroll up to the bars and restaurants on Osborne Road. Well done The Rosebery - I will be telling everyone I know who needs to stay in Newcastle all about you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Please be careful booking. Just mDe a booking yesterday for the great north run weekend for 1 night B&b. They phoned back saying it wasn't the origional £65 and it would be £95 because it was a premium weekend (new girl on reception). I agreed to this despite the extra cost.
Today I received a phonecall cancelling it unless we agree to stay 2 nights at a cost of £260!!! We cannot afford this and we have 3 young children, one of which requires a lot of medical care so cannot be left long. This was explained to reception again and the fact we've now got £96 non refundable train tickets. The receptionist was obviously ill trained to deal with this so I asked that the management get in touch.
She certainly did!! She shouted down the phone that I'd upset her staff and if I ever stepped foot on the premises or phoned again she would call the police. I'm not joking. Please be very wary of making a Booking, they are obviously after top dollar out of everyone, and not exactly professional. I 've never experience such poor customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank SallySheffeild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I must admit to a little disappointment when we arrived at the Rosebery! The hotel is clean if a little dated but it was the little things that were missing? No hand towels (only large) no toiletries, no dressing table and the shower was almost useless the pressure was so low! Breakfast was OK but the ingredients were obviously cheap?
The biggest drawback was the cost!! At just under £100 for a double on a Sunday night it puts itself in direct competition with the likes of the Hilton on the Quayside and there is no comparison! What really got my goat was the surcharge for using a debit card !!!
So - nothing really wrong with the hotel but it would not be my first choice next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cockneyjohn504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The location is very quiet and suburban, away from the busy bars and clubs - and unlike many of the Newcastle hotels which are full of loud party-goers. As a dog friendly hotel I cannot fault it – in the morning I just had to walk over one small road to get into Jesmond Dene, which is a beautiful place to walk. The staff had put a nice little dog basket on the floor of my en-suite which was a nice touch.

Parking is a problem – all roads around the hotel have restrictions. On arrival I asked the young American receptionist about the car parking and explained that I had left my car in a restricted parking zone. The receptionist seemed to be completely baffled by this information, saying “I don’t drive myself” – which seemed a little irrelevant since I was just asking for the location of the free parking. “Most people just take pot luck on the yellow lines outside” was the answer. Not what I had hoped for, and certainly not what the website had promised.

I stayed in the left wing of the hotel- this part of the hotel smelled distinctly of damp and had a large pile of green dirty laundry bags in the hallway that remained for the duration of my stay. My room was on the first floor; the room had clearly been refurbished and looked cosy and fresh. A window looked out onto the busy main road and the back yard of adjoining houses, but the double glazing was good and I was not disturbed by traffic noise as long as the window was closed.

Like the bedroom, the bathroom looked superficially beautiful, but this was all on the surface. The shower was the worst I have ever experienced; an old scratched pink shower tray, badly grouted – with water pressure so low that it was barely enough to wash myself. All I managed to get from the shower was a tiny trickle of water which became dangerously scalding if I tried to turn it up. If I increased the cold flow on the mixer tap, the water stopped completely. There was no shower gel or shampoo provided and no bath mats of any sort.

A big selling point for me had been the free wi-fi, Although my laptop tried to connect, the signal was incredibly weak and although I continued to try all that evening, I never managed to make a connection. Again I felt let down by the website, which said, “Signal strength is very good in all rooms, as boosters are located throughout the hotel.” There seemed to be no way of contacting reception staff, although I wandered around the reception area for a while.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the hotel, not the left wing.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonedelany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebery Hotel Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebery Hotel Jesmond

Address: 2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $82 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosebery Hotel Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosebery Hotel provides the perfect accommodation for those who are looking for that something special, rather than just a run of the mill chain hotel. The tasteful interior of the hotel provides guests with a relaxing and welcoming feel, in a quiet location, next to Jesmond Dene Park. Our rooms are light, spacious and airy, with high ceilings and charming original detailing. Offering guests free in-room continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Freeview television, free unrestricted parking and (being only 5 minutes from the city centre) a quick commute into the buzzing city of Newcastle. The Rosebery is also the nearest hotel to the Freeman Hospital, which makes us ideal for relatives of patients or locum staff, who require long term accommodation. The hotel bedrooms have comfortable, good sized beds, a flat screen television with built in DVD, a refrigerator and a seating area for breakfast. Our en suite rooms have fabulous bathrooms, some featuring roll top baths and rainforest showers and our basic rooms share a toilet and bathroom, all very nearby. We do have ground floor rooms available and we cater for vegans & those who have special dietary requirements. For longer term guests we do offer free clothes washing facilities and access to an ironing board, also we can provide use of the hotel's kitchen for use of the microwave. We provide guests who need it, luggage storage and Late and Early Check in's can be arranged with the hotel. The Rosebery is a pet friendly hotel, so if you want to bring your furry friend along, just let us know! We offer great discounts to Commercial groups, contractors, shop fitters, TV and Theatre production companies and the like. Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate party groups or Stag/Hen groups. Save up to 30% by BOOKING Direct with the hotel either by phone or via our secure booking system. Third party booking portals charge more! Booking direct is much cheaper! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rosebery Hotel Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebery Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Rosebery Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing