We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solomons Lounge

Solomons Lounge
Ranked #343 of 1,253 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Solomons Lounge offers you delectable Punjarbi/Kashmiri cuisine surrounded in a luxurios authentic setting with second to none customer service. We pride ourselves in using only the finest of ingrediants cooked to perfection ensuring you a memorable dining experience.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited solomons on Friday 09/11/12 for a birthday party group of friends and really had a great evening excellent food and service nice surprise from the staff who come singing to the table with a birthday cake thanks lads would definetly recommend .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Too7fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    33
    20
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty but.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Parking was a problem when we arrived, but we eventually found a space. The restaurant was empty and the waiter was vacuuming when we arrived, but it was only 5 minutes after opening. The service was timely, and the staff were very friendly. The food arrived, it looked and tasted very nice. Curry, rice, naan bread all of different varieties - but all very nice. (There was four of us). Other down sides to this restaurant are, the price, and the lack of atmosphere. We found it a little expensive for what we had. And, it was a shame there was only another two people in the restaurant the whole time we were there and that was over 3 hours. (We had a lot to catch up on). Maybe if they lowered the price or had mid-week specials, they might get more customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing dining experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having visited another Solomon's venue I found this one quite disappointing. Not unpleasant but nothing to excite either the tastebuds or the eye. No atmosphere and not particularly good value for money. Wouldn't recommend and won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_LLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as i remember”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Been quite a few times since it opened...tho not for a while and not as good as i remember...sorry but its just so so now...needs to up its game...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ColWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian i've had this year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Loved the food here, really nice flavours and portions are plenty big enough with some dishes even coming to the table sizzling which I think always makes a nice touch.
The reason for a 4* rather than 5* is really due to smaller things such as really awkward parking, a slightly scruffy entrance that feels like your walking into someones house, and a lack of atmosphere due to it being so so quiet on a weekend evening, at one point we were the only ones there!
I would say don't let this put you off though, as I feel the food is worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HirSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solomons Lounge also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Solomons Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing