We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding”

Fratello's Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fratello's Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 1,330 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fratello's is a group of vibrant and stylish restaurants serving freshly prepared authentic Italian cuisine with a modern twist. We're located in Jesmond, Newcastle Airport and Scotch Corner and we believe in sourcing where possible only the best quality local ingredients and allowing their natural flavours to shine through. You'll enjoy watching our chefs preparing dishes using a fusion of modern and authentic methods in our open-plan kitchens with their dramatic, traditional Italian clay ovens. So whether you are looking to enjoy an intimate dinner for two or celebrate with your family or friends in traditional Italian fashion, Fratello's is the perfect choice. Trendsetters! We're a media savvy bunch at Fratello's so be sure to keep up to date with all the latest special events, offers and interesting snippets! Take tasty pics of your food and let people know where they can enjoy them or compete against friends whilst collecting points the more places you eat!
Reviewed February 11, 2013

From the welcome off the manager on arrival to every aspect of the service from the waitress (Hannah) this dinning experience was simply outstanding. There have been few times when I have walked out of a restaurant and thought Wow. When we said the it was our first visit to the restaurant the manager said we would be back. I thought this was a little arrogant. I was wrong. This guy knows what he is doing. Every single aspect of his restaurant just makes you think... When are we going back. The waitress offered a service that you'd expect from First Class on British Airways rather than a mid-range restaurant.

The food was the highest standard or Italian cuisine and the menu offered a carefully selected choice. The wine menu was expensive and had a choice for every dinners taste.

Can't wait to return..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarlWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hello there, thanks for taking the time to write us such a fabulous review!

It really does make our day when we see feedback like this – it’s makes us all smile from ear to ear! We’ll inform Hannah of your lovely comments, and compliment all our staff on making your evening so wonderful. You might be interested to know our new Spring/Summer menu is set to be launched next month with lots of new choices.

Thanks again, and hopefully see you very soon at Fratello’s!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 340 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having sussed this restaurant out last December for a Sunday lunch (previous review), we had no hesitation in choosing it for a special birthday venue. Using the Sunday lunch menu as the basis for gathering 30 friends and family in one large restaurant space, the staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Advanced notice of the menu allowed our guests to choose from the excellent 2/3 course special Sunday lunch menu so that the chef could even cater for one of the group with special dietary needs on the day. The tables were set out as requested with bottles of the house wine all ready for the guests to take their allocated seats with the minimun of fuss.The menu did not disappoint and the staff made the whole day memorable with their efficient friendly service. More than one of our group will be returning to sample the food again on the basis of their experience. Delicious food in modern surroundings at an affordable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hello there, thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review (again)!

We’re glad you had such a pleasant birthday celebration with us at Fratello's Jesmond. Hopefully we will see you and some of your party again very soon!

Fratello's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Visited this Fratello's a few weeks ago (been to the one in Ponteland before) and it was great. Service, staff and food were all fantastic. I can highly recommend their amazing pizzas - thin, crispy and delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrCuddles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hello there, thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We’re glad you enjoyed our pizzas so much, as we pride ourselves on making the best pizzas around!

You might be interested to know our new Spring/Summer menu is set to be launched next month, so look out for some new pizza choices. Thanks again and hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Decided to try here due to good reviews, word of mouth. Turned up, took them about 5 minutes to hand the menu's out to a party of 6. Looked at the menu, no potato skins...an Italian restaurant, not doing skins, probably the most popular starter in all of Newcastle for Italians. So, we asked if these were possible, they were, but for £4.95!! We were shocked to say the least but nothing else caught my eye, so we pressed ahead. What turned up were essientially thick-cut chips with the skins left on. Below average.

Main course I ordered a Pizza, it was over £8, again, yes, this is Jesmond, but you expect a higher quality for the price. Bog-tandard pizza, no special ingredients, basic taste, quite bland with the seasoning. We had also ordered chips to go with the meal between the table, and what turned up? Basically, the same as the skins starter but without the skin...these were £3. So, to summaries, we paid £1.95 for potato skin to be left on the chips.

I didnt bother with desert and won't be visiting again. This place has high stars, but seriously, there are about 10 better Italian restaurants in and around Newcastle that have a better menu, better prices and better taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to Fratello’s Jesmond.

The team are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your visit. We take all reviews very seriously, especially those that contrast our usual 4 and 5 star reviews (everyone at Fratello’s Head office had a look at this too).

We actually chose not to serve potato skins on our menus as we try to focus on producing dishes with tasty fresh ingredients. Lots of Italian restaurants do choose to keep the potato skins, deep fry them and then serve them with dips to add taste (for around £4.75 - which is around 100% margin as the skins are otherwise thrown away); we appreciate this is a popular choice for some diners. We're pleased that the kitchen was able to respond to your off menu request, but disappointed that you weren't satisfied with what was served.

There are a significant number of reviews online saying our pizzas are the best they have had. We normally have around 9 pizza varieties to chose from all of which we believe are packed with flavours, including along with the standard pizza with no special ingredients. Again, we're disappointed that your choice was not to your satisfaction.

Again, your review has been valuable to us and we are genuinely sorry that you didn’t have the same experience so many other guests have at Fratello’s Italian Restaurants. It’s great that there are so many different restaurants for people to choose from in Newcastle and we wanted to set ourselves apart from traditional Italian restaurants. We openly advertise that we offer fresh new twists on Italian dishes made with the best ingredients, set in stylish surroundings so people could experience exactly what they want which is really important to us. Our menu, with prices, is always easily available online should diners wish to check if the food is to their taste and budget.

We really hope that you can change your mind and give us a second chance. to check before you come and I'm really sure we can make this up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Most of us wouldn't think of going out for dinner to a local hotel (excluding special occasions), but Fratellos is definitely the exception. Having previously attended the hotel for other functions, and always been happy with the service, we choose Fratellos to celebrate my mothers birthday by arranging a private dinner party for a close group of family and friends. The service was impeccable, the food was great and after dinner you can mosey into the adjoining bar and listen to the live music. Everyone had a great time and we agreed we would definitely come back.

Well a little while later when I received a voucher for 25% of the total food bill, hubby and I decide to go for dinner, nothing to lose and we always enjoyed before. This is when we experienced the Gamberoni and the steak. Without exaggerating, honestly you just gotta try this combo! Can't remember the last time we had such good prawns and the steak comes with either hand cut chips, veg or salad. Felt like a pair of piggies afterwards and decided next time we should just have the Gamberoni and jump straight to desert!!!

Think we now onto our fourth visit to Fratellos and don't bother with the menu. Latest visit was just last Saturday 22nd jan and along with our friends we recommended the Gamberoni and steak. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed and still the Gamberoni is the star of the show. They are huge, meaty, well cooked and just get better every time.....can't think of anywhere else that does it better.

Well done Fratellos, what a transformation this local hotel has gone through, one would never of thought the "old imperial hotel" would be serving such cuisine in such a lovely setting. Credit to all the staff, your hard work and dedication has obviously paid off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MrsSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We’re glad you enjoyed the Gamberoni so much, this is one of our most prized dishes – so to hear such lovely feedback is extremely pleasing to everyone here! You might be interested to know our new Spring/Summer menu is set to be launched next month, but fear not – your favourite dish won’t be budging! Thanks again and we’ll hopefully see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratello's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Been to Fratello's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing