We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: TEA ROOM WHILE AWAY THE DAY ON OUR SOUTH-FACING DECK WHILE THE CHILDREN PLAY IN THE PADDOCK, OR RELAX OVER A MEAL OR SNACK IN OUR FARM TEA ROOM Eat and DrinkSince we launched Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour in 2005, our home-produced fayre has won numerous Great Taste Awards, our Sunday lunch has been voted Best in Northumberland, and our breakfast named the Best Farmhouse Breakfast in the North East. Eat and DrinkVallum Tea Room menu features our renowned homemade cakes and pastries; meat, fish and game from Bywell Smokery; and wonderful heritage vegetables and edible flowers grown in the Vallum Kitchen Garden, which you can see from our Tea Room and south-facing deck. Our award-winning ice cream now has a new home in our shop and is truly local, made here in Vallum’s Little Dairy, with our ice cream counter holding 16 rotating homemade flavours served alongside our much-loved sundaes selection. Come and relax with the family while the little ones play in the south-facing outdoor play paddock which is overlooked by the Tea room deck.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited the restaurant as a family group of 6 and were looked after extremely well by the 2 waiting staff on duty. They seemed to know just when to appear at the table which comes with a lot of experience. Food wise, everyone thought their meals were good although my mother thought the fish wasn't as good as it looked taste wise. My wife and myself had the tapas menu which (because of the World Cup) had a Brazilian theme to it. All of the 8 dishes were tasty and interesting. The house red wine is worth a mention as it was excellent and not over priced. Great views from the restaurant over the surrounding countryside helped the meal along

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    62
    26
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely day out, excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Visited Vallum Farm tea room and ice cream parlour with the Mrs and the kids last week and I must say it was the first time we had come but we will definitely be back.
Kids played in the paddock on the play area and we sat watching from the decking in the sun with scones, baked potatoes and we had to try a few bits of the cakes and bits ... AND we all had some ice cream which we thought was some of the best ice cream we have had.
All in all the kids had a great day out, sun was out, great scenery and a relaxing feel, with fantastic friendly service.
We had a great day.
Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced - poor experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Given the paragraph on the menu going into great detail about how the "Grants Ham" was cooked, and the price - £5.45 - you could be forgiven for thinking you were paying for thickly sliced homemade ham in some nice crusty bread. How wrong was I. Wafer thin ham between white bread triangles, substantial they were not. Would be less misleading to market them as finger sandwiches so small they were. Accompanied by a handful of ready salted crisps. To top it off a request for a flat white coffee baffled them. Next time I fancy wafer thin ham and crisps I'll just head to tesco cafe. Better option is Dave Kennedys opposite. Won't be back.

Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited the cafe on Sunday 25/5/14 13.30 hrs.
Good parking, unpleasant smell on the way in but it is a farm. Waited and were shown to table, table cleaned by nice young man. Room very pleasant. We looked at the menu and were amazed at the choice of only three main courses. Salmon salad (apparently the vegetarian option) beef or lamb. We were told the Beef was off. We decided we would have the Salmon salad and Earl grey tea. We waited ten minutes and despite the room not being too busy we were ignored so we left.
This is a cafe, where were the open sandwiches, baked potatoes, toasted sandwiches etc?
We will not be going back. One star and that is because it has a roof.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible food and over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have not visited here for a while and after this latest visit we will not be back. £6:10 for a piece of quiche and a bit salad was certainly well over priced and not that great to be honest, then for 4 scoops of ice cream it was nearly £7 a complete rip off. There are much better places to eat in the area, so I would avoid.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hexham12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Stocksfield, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing