We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly Average”

Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: TEA ROOM WHILE AWAY THE DAY ON OUR SOUTH-FACING DECK WHILE THE CHILDREN PLAY IN THE PADDOCK, OR RELAX OVER A MEAL OR SNACK IN OUR FARM TEA ROOM Eat and DrinkSince we launched Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour in 2005, our home-produced fayre has won numerous Great Taste Awards, our Sunday lunch has been voted Best in Northumberland, and our breakfast named the Best Farmhouse Breakfast in the North East. Eat and DrinkVallum Tea Room menu features our renowned homemade cakes and pastries; meat, fish and game from Bywell Smokery; and wonderful heritage vegetables and edible flowers grown in the Vallum Kitchen Garden, which you can see from our Tea Room and south-facing deck. Our award-winning ice cream now has a new home in our shop and is truly local, made here in Vallum’s Little Dairy, with our ice cream counter holding 16 rotating homemade flavours served alongside our much-loved sundaes selection. Come and relax with the family while the little ones play in the south-facing outdoor play paddock which is overlooked by the Tea room deck.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointingly Average”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We tried the tea room as all the reviews were amazing however our experience did not live up to the hype. It was a not too busy Friday afternoon when we went but service was slow. We only ordered 2 hot drinks & 2 slices of cake but it took forever for the hot drinks to be made (I had to stand at the till the whole time watching, with another poor lady queuing behind me). Once seated I found the bakewell slice was dry & my hot chocolate tasted more of milk than chocolate. My husband was happier with his latte & chocolate cake however.

On a positive note the ice cream looked amazing, there was a huge choice of cake to be had & we did try the butchers & shop on site, making some purchases. I will try the tea room again as it sounds like maybe a one off but my expectations will be a lot lower.

Helpful?
1 Thank elaineann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    62
    25
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect in everyway!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Situated very close to the village of Wallhouses and only a short drive from the Metro Centre, trust me this is worth findng! We visited with my parents for lunch on a cold and grey Saturday afternoon, before lunch we had coffee and cake in the beautiful coffee shop, ginger cake to die for! After a walk around we had lunch in the most beautiful setting. The restaurant is on the second floor but worry not if you need help my mum cannot do stairs and there was a lift available, the restaurant manager even accompanied her as she was nervous!

The restaurant has huge windows overlooking the amazing countryside, the tables and chairs are all unique and give a comforting welcome. I had the smoked salmon terrine with caper butter, rump steak and sticky toffee pudding, two fabulous glasses of pinot, the bill for 4 of us was less than £85! so totally amazing value.

You must book to be sure of a table but any effort whatsoever you have to put in do not miss this place if you are anywhere near it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LPandGP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A real gem in Northumberland.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Vallum Farm is located near the village of East Wallhouses, only a short distance from Corbridge in Northumberland. The postal code of Vallum Farm is NE18 0LL. Vallum Farm is a hidden gem which can easily be missed when travelling along the military road. The only sign post is the brown tourist sign at the side of the road. At first when you enter the farm you wonder what lies beyond the entrance gates. Well be prepared for a very nice surprise. First you have a charming Tea room serving freshly prepared meals and snacks using the finest local produce. Those of you who follow a *Gluten Free* diet are also well catered for with Gluten Free sandwiches and some really tasty Gluten Free cakes all made on the premises. Next to the Tea Room you have a lovely Ice Cream Parlour, offering a wide choice of homemade ice cream including Passion Fruit and Mango, Fruit Berries and Chocolate Fudge Brownie to name just a few. Yes there is more, a small deli selling a selection of local produce and some very fine artisan bread and cheese. Next to the deli is a local butchers outlet selling top quality meat products that you will not find on the shelves of Morrisons or Tescos. Finally, upstairs you will also find a charming restaurant unfortunately for us it was full on the day we visited but I understand the food is to die for especially the Sunday Lunch. On leaving I did notice that there was a childrens play area and that you could also undertake walks from the farm into the fabulous countryside beyond. Overall this is a charming place well worthy of a visit . So if you are in Northumberland make sure that you visit Vallum Farm, you will not be disappointed. I certainly will be back very soon to discover more what Vallum Farm has to offer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoodlandsHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Tynedale”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wonderful ice cream in a lovely setting. The owners are a local family and serve ice cream made from their own dairy herd. New flavours often appear too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hi_han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Vallum Farm restaurant. It is very popular so it is definitely advisable to book in advance as people were being turned away.
The starters were delicious and an interesting selection. The main course was a traditional roast - hard to go wrong! Puddings were nice, though sticky toffee pudding always need a scoop of ice-cream! They have a good selection of local ales and some good wines.
We would like to go back for an evening meal to see how other main courses are as this was a very traditional sunday lunch meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Tiggy-Winkle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
North Stainley, Ripon
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing