We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food , great views”

Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: TEA ROOM WHILE AWAY THE DAY ON OUR SOUTH-FACING DECK WHILE THE CHILDREN PLAY IN THE PADDOCK, OR RELAX OVER A MEAL OR SNACK IN OUR FARM TEA ROOM Eat and DrinkSince we launched Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour in 2005, our home-produced fayre has won numerous Great Taste Awards, our Sunday lunch has been voted Best in Northumberland, and our breakfast named the Best Farmhouse Breakfast in the North East. Eat and DrinkVallum Tea Room menu features our renowned homemade cakes and pastries; meat, fish and game from Bywell Smokery; and wonderful heritage vegetables and edible flowers grown in the Vallum Kitchen Garden, which you can see from our Tea Room and south-facing deck. Our award-winning ice cream now has a new home in our shop and is truly local, made here in Vallum’s Little Dairy, with our ice cream counter holding 16 rotating homemade flavours served alongside our much-loved sundaes selection. Come and relax with the family while the little ones play in the south-facing outdoor play paddock which is overlooked by the Tea room deck.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food , great views”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

First visit to David Kennedy at Vallum. Having enjoyed a few lunchtime meals at the North Shields restaurant we thought we'd give this venue a try. We turned up on a Saturday lunchtime and were pleasantly surprised to get a table straight away. The waitress said it would be better to book in future to make sure.
Anyway we got seated ok and the views are outstanding and panoramic from from this restaurant which is on the second floor of a converted barn on the farm which also has a tea shop which does lunches as well. There is also a deli and butchers on the site and for those who like to stretch their legs a couple of walking trails to follow.
Back to our meal....
The lunchtime menu is varied and very well priced at £10 for 2 courses and £12.95 for 3 courses.
We really enjoyed the food and the lovely service we received.
We will definitely return and have already spread the word to our close family who also enjoy eating out.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    62
    26
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Mmm difficult to rate this one”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Called in and had the special set price lunch, Food was very good indeed but service not that great. Difficult to explain exactly, a bit slow. but had there been more warmth this could have been forgiven. Waiting staff appeared more bothered about arranging things than serving customers. Shame really as it has a lot to offer.The farm shop at Vallum is excellent and the tea room and ice cream parlour look great. Come on Mr Kennnedy enthuse your staff a bit more or make sure that you employ staff that 'share the dream'..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golferDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a lovely location”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed a 3 course meal here. Food was perfect, will be back.

Only negative point was that it was very quiet so lacked abit of atmosphere, but I think there had been a few cancellation s that day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An excellent place for lunch”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was such a good place to meet for lunch - lovely menu choices at such reasonable prices - 2 courses for £10 or 3 for £12.50. All great choices and something for everyone.
There is also a coffee shop and delicatessen type shop selling lovely food.
Great views and well worth the drive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ceb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Astonishingly poor”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked for Sunday lunch 29sep2013 . Got seated immediately and offered drinks ( the first and last time this happened) White wine and a lager came in at about £7.50 so reasonable prices on drinks.
Sunday lunch was 3 courses for £14.95 so for David Kennedy standards a bargain perhaps ..hmmm.
We both opted for chicken and leek terrine , with salad and a mean tiny piece of bread .This took 20 mins to arrive , was ok ,but my partners terrine contained a huge lump of gristle.. Kennedy standards? nope afraid not.
Then the waiting started , service at a glacial pace . 10 then 20 then 30 then 40 minutes passed and still no sign of the roast beef mains .While waiting the seemingly endless wait for mains we became aware the place was overly noisy .
After some 45 -50 mins my partner grabbed a waiter and reminded him we actually exisited, as from taking away the starters ,not one offer of more drinks came our way .. nobody checked on our table.We had to ask for the mains.. off he went to find out the probs..came back and said "sorry the chef wasnt aware , and had been called away!!.. where to York? , it will be 2 mins" so basically we had been forgotten about , as people who had came in an hour after us were getting served at the same time .. !
Mains arrived with a half hearted apology "for your small wait" ... 50 mins!!! for a sunday roast and pre prepped veg, still no offer of more drinks or water despite 4 empty glasses and an empty water jug , which were left on the table !!.
The beef was fine , the roast potatoes undercooked , yorkshire pud was probably good at some stage of its existance ,but now cold yet strangely warm in parts... dear oh dear.
dessert menu was plonked on the table , and we were informed the treacle tart wasnt available it had all gone... maybe if we had been served in acceptable time i may have been able to sample it before it had all gone....We opted for apple and berry crumble .The waiter brought the cutlery , noticed something on a spoon , gave it a quick scrape with a cloth and plonked it on the table.
Now after 15 mins you would expect the berry concoction to be at least hot ... Nope think again .. luke warm in parts cold in others .infact my partner doesnt really like ice cream , but assumed it would melt with the heat .. it didnt , so no threat of global warming melting the ice cap with this dessert.There were big chunks of stone cold apple, and the crumble was like a cereal bar crumbled on top .We were informed that because of our "small wait" they would knock the price of a course off , which is why i didnt send the dessert back .

So in summary over 2 hrs it took, which is inexcusable
Empty glasses left on the table for the duration
No offer of more drinks
Gristle in the starter
50mins + wait for mains
Cold to luke warm Desserts
and legs going numb through sitting for so long.

Having been to the food social i know this is not David Kennedys usual high standards and i know mistakes can happen , but this was car crash service coupled with well below par food standards.
A bad day at the office .. never again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank STEVEnALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Vallum Tea Room & Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing