We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience at a restaurant I've ever had.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amici

Amici
Ranked #417 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience at a restaurant I've ever had.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Me and a few friends went to amicis on the 07/02/2014. First we ordered drinks which took forever to come, it then took them half an hour to take our order. During that time I asked two different waiters to take our order, one a young girl and a boy. When I asked they both looked shocked/annoyed that I had asked for our order to be taken. When our food eventually came 3/4 orders were incorrect. I had asked for no onions, although it was full of onions which ruined my meal. Me and my friend then asked for a small coke but brought us a pint size and proceeded to charge us £2.50 for it. The worst part of this experience was the service. The young girl who showed us to our seats had a horrific attitude, she claimed she couldn't take out order but took the table next to us. All the waiters seemed annoyed when we asked for anything.

I will not be going there again anytime soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EMcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    55
    25
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

good food, good service,, friendly family run restaurant ,,,,, give it try,, you wont be disappointed

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank measurement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“best pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

real Italian style pizzas, good Greek food as well; friendly staff (especially Franco) and friendly relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisandgareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Took my family here (7 of us) for a Sunday lunch. There were a number of people there but not busy. The meal came out one plate at a time over a period of 20min. One meal was completely forgotten about. There were plenty of staff standing about. We wondered if they were some sort of staff protest group. The Sunday roast of the day seemed and tasted as if it had stood since the previous Sunday. The meal was cold and was sent back. It was returned after being heated in a microwave. The paster dishes were better but not a patch on other restaurants
The beer was sent back twice. My son-in-law is a licensee and knows when beer is off. The waiter was quite prepared to argue the point. We were not! We paid the bill and left, never to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank magicdilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This has got to be one of the best places around. Great atmosphere and lovely food. You feel like you've walked into a family dinning room and become part of the family. Lovely

Helpful?
1 Thank MammyClaireM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing