We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveler rating
426
464
240
94
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
426
464
240
94
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marriott hotels race course steam room leisure centre leisure club public areas pleasant stay saturday night room was spotless standard room buffet style car park following morning tea and coffee racecourse races gosforth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

I was booking for a group of 25 that over time reduced to 15 people everytime I had a query or needed to amend things the hotel was really helpful. I wanted a private area for group dining and this was arranged with the hospitality manager Aidan and was just what we wanted he even suggested a different menu which suited our party perfectly. Check in was really efficient and friendly and bag storage for all our bags was provided immediately as we were early. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. Most of our party were in close proximity to each other which was really convenient. All of the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful and we felt very well looked after. Access to the pool and was easy the Jacuzzi overlooking the woods was very relaxing. The only minor point was we were not aware it was £1 to hire a towel until we arrived poolside which was a bit inconvenient but we were given the option to return with the £1 later in the day.
The visit was booked for a special occasion for my sister and I the overall experience with the hotel and lovely staff made it an exceptional weekend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Bexsox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenS3926, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Bexsox1
Thank you for sharing detailed feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. We were delighted to hear your party had an excellent stay with us ahead of your sisters special day and that you were impressed with the service you received from the team and in particular, Aidan.
I hope you will consider the Grand Hotel Gosforth Park for your next weekend away as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay here over the weekend it was lovely, the room was clean and a very comfy bed, reception staff were very helpful, my husband was happy as there was a gym. We also ate here and the food in the bar was great and very reasonable, perfect situation for us, a great find thank you

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NCStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenS3926, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear NCStace
Many thanks for the "Perfect" review. It was most encouraging to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your weekend stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

I spent a few nights here while at a conference in New Castle. The room was comfortable, neat and smart. The staff were friendly and service was good. The breakfast restaurant offered a simple buffet and cooked breakfast options which were perfect when on the run. The gym was a great added facility and easy to access. Overall a lovely stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenS3926, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear Kerry H
Thank you for posting a review following your stay at the Grand Hotel Gosforth Park. We were delighted to hear you found the hotel perfect for your needs and that you received good friendly service. Should you be in the area again it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

We chose to stay here for one night as we got a really good deal and I’m glad we did as I couldn’t fault it. We stayed at the back of the hotel and it was really quiet even with the window open. The beds were comfortable, the shower was powerful and everything was clean. There was a good choice at breakfast (the bread was particularly nice) with the added benefit of Starbucks coffee for an extra charge. There’s a McDonalds, Costa, Subway and Co-op plus a pub a few mins walk across the road from the hotel. We didn’t use the leisure centre but it looked well equipped. The staff were lovely and friendly. We’d definitely go back.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TheRelfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenS3926, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear TheRelfster
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Grand Hotel Gosforth Park. It is great to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found the hotel to be excellent value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night. It would appear that Marriott have passed it on to Brittania rather than funding a refurb. Having said that most of the grandeur is still more than acceptable with only a few signs of tiredness in evidence. But the pricing is very much budget hotel: we paid 46 pounds for a night in a tein room. The room was comfortable serviced and the two beds were bigger than conventional singles. The bathroom was in decent repair and clean although a notch below what is becomming standard decor these days. The grounds, bar and restaurant are all attractive and a decent size. There is ample car parking. There is a good leisure club with a fair sized pool. The staff all seemed cheerful and helpful. The only slight gripe is that the cost of breakfast was a little high given the room's price point (the selection and quality were appropriately good). All in all everything made for a comfortable, relaxing stay. Take advantage while it still represents such great value.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chris-Esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenS3926, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear Chris-Esther
We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and felt you received good value for money, we do indeed have some great accommodation deals available at the moment. It was also pleasing to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy the leisure facilities and that you found the team here at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park to be both cheerful and helpful. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews