We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Overall, a very good hotel which is easily accessed by road and has plenty of car parking. The staff were all very helpful and informative. We had a spacious, comfortable room and enjoyed the leisure centre which was not too crowded. Our breakfast was good and the restaurant has views of the gardens, (please managers,get the blinds dusted as they detract from the view).
We stayed on a Friday night and were rather concerned that the partygoers we met on the corridor outside our room and in the lifts may have disturbed us, but these fears were unfounded as we had a very good night's sleep.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen02ACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to use the hotel facilities. I would assure you that your housekeeping issue has been noted and acted upon.

Thank you for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention as this allows us the opportunity to meet our guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    357
    174
    69
    19
See reviews for
116
354
40
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, warm and friendly. Excellent breakfast, nice and hot and lots of variety.

The beds are extremely comfortable in a clean room.

Staff very obliging and cheerful. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, which means so much to everyone at the Gosforth Park.

We receive excellent feedback with regard to the team and it is lovely to hear that you noted the effort.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

But the service and quality wasn't what I would normally expect from a Marriott!

The hotel is located a 10 minute drive from Newcastle train station or just off the A1 if you are coming via car. I stayed here for a business conference Friday - Sunday.

First impressions weren't that great as the building is not very attraction. Check in was very quick although I wasn't given any information about the hotel (such as breakfast times, fitness centre opening times etc.) which I usually expect from a 4 star hotel. I was simply given an envelope with my room number written on and directed to the lifts.

The room (228) was tired and dated. It had dark furniture which seemed to make the room look very dark. There also wasn't a light in the entry hallway which again made the room seem darker than it probably was. The bathroom was clean and was nicely stocked with an array of toiletries. The window in the room didn't seem to shut properly and also didn't block out the noisy traffic well.

Breakfast was a nice selection and the offerings were frequently replenished. The waiting staff were very busy on both mornings and I did have to ask several times before a pot of tea was brought out. We also experienced problems on the Friday evening and had a long wait for our food.

The staff were friendly enough but not as attentive as staff at other Marriott hotels. I believe this hotel does let the Marriott brand down a little and for that I was disappointed as it wasn't up to their usual standards.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We pride ourselves on the high level of service provided to our guests and it was therefore very concerning to learn of your disappointment. Please accept our apologies and our assurance that all of your comments have been taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have visited many times for functions and whilst I am always impressed with the staff and service provided I despair over the general levels of cleanliness. When arriving for an event at 6.30 you would not expect smelly toilets. It's the first thing that hits you! By the end of the evening, the toilets, shared between a large black-tie function in one suite and a hillbilly wedding reception in the other, were disgusting. A good clean and a maintenance programme similar to The Sage Gateshead would perhaps bring the venue in line with others that charge similar exorbitant prices

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
In order to ensure the public facilities are serviced during events, a late maid is always on duty and I would apologise that you experienced a fall in standards. We will certainly be monitoring future situations in order to ensure the level of staffing is adequate for the number of guests attending. Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Just outside of the City. Confortable bed, nice gym, good helpful staff. A pity that the kitchen is sooo slow. One hour waiting for a rump steak is not normal and the food itself better. 30 mim waiting for a dessert is also frustrating....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Please accept our apologies for the delay in receiving your meal. Our kitchen brigade are very embarrassed that on this occasion service was slow. We will certainly be making improvements in order to ensure our guests are not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I thought the hotel was generally very good, bedrooms were clean and well presented, public areas maintained to a good standard. Reception staff are very friendly and efficient and our only experience of restaurant staff was for breakfast and this too was very pleasant.
We enjoyed the variety of food at breakfast , however, I thought it was lacking quality in some of the elements.....in particular bacon, sausage and sliced bread was poor quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebblesWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We were very concerned that the breakfast offerring failed to meet your expectations as we are aware that this is a very important start to the guest's day. Please accept my assurance that there has been no drop from the normal high standard of food normally offered at the Gosforth Park. We were pleased however, that overall it appears that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Without doubt the friendliest staff I've encountered, young lad in bar/restaurant, I think called Jamie, was a great guy, even put peppa pig on in restaurant for my wee boy to watch. The girl who welcomed us at breakfast was as friendly and could not have helped more. The girl in pool/gym was also really helpful and friendly, I really should have got their names but everyone was friendly! Hotel nice, clean, good rooms, sky sports always a bonus! Breakfast was great, loads of choice, always well stocked. Bar priced OK for a hotel, £8 for small wine and pint of good lager. If being super critical, car park needs re-tarmacced and family changing room too hot at pool, but receptionist did warn us about this before we went in. Would certainly go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your very kind feedback. Everyone at the Gosforth Park was pleased to be of service to you and hope that you have the opportunity to return at some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
5.7 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing