We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Reviewed November 6, 2013

An excellent stay, first class service and room immacculate, keeep it up. Al the staff were friendly and helpful. Recommmend the fish and chips !!! I also enjoyed the fitness facility and pool - recommend without hesitation. Alan

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Holidayhound2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

fantastic weekend away with the family. Went on26/27th October and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. The service truly is great. Service desk was prompt and efficient, breakfast staff had my tea on the table before I sat down with my plate, dirty dishes cleared quickly and breakfast was superb. pool was lovely and warm. beds really comfy and duvets so light and snuggly could have stayed in bed! Will definately stay here again when I'm next in town.

Room Tip: no family rooms but we just got 2 interconnecting rooms - the kids thought that was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilamarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as I had come up to Newcastle for a wedding 10 miles from the hotel. The last time that I had stayed here was just over 20 years ago when it was a Thistle Hotel and was called the Gosforth Park. Back then it was probably the best hotel in Newcastle. Clearly it has gone downhill since being taken over by the Marriott Group. The reception area looks nice but the bar area is like a fast food restaurant and is not befitting for a hotel of this type. The first bedroom that we were taken to smelled of cigarette smoke and so we called reception to complain. The hotel staff very promptly moved us to a second room which was better but still could have done with decorating as it looked very tired. The net curtains were full of holes and were filthy. I love the city of Newcastle but will not stay at this hotel again when I visit in the new year.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stay for one night each October on the way to Scotland. The hotel is just off the A1 and is thus very convenient. The bar is open late, the rooms are always clean and comfortable and the breakfast is invariably excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a standard room. The hotel is well placed for Newcastle and the Metro Centre (approx 15 mins by car). We stayed on the DBB rate and found the room to be clean , comfortable and well decorated, The reception, bar and restaurant are all similarly well appointed. All the staff give an excellent level of service and the food, both at supper and breakfast was superb. We will certainly be staying again next year for Xmas shopping.

Room Tip: The DBB rate is excellent value with an extensive evening meal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This Marriot is very big and has a large function area too and on the Saturday night it was busy. On the Sunday night there were so few residents they closed the restaurant so we had to eat in the bar. The bar there isn't nice and I did not like eating a planned special dinner in a brightly lit bar room with 3 TVs on the walls playing football matches. It was quite cold in the bar but staff said the air conditioning was centrally controlled for the whole hotel when I mentioned it.

There is a nice leisure club with gym and pool for use by residence and we found this clean and well supported.

We didn't realise the Marriot so a £15 taxi journey from the railway station but there is a bus stop just outside and a large carpark.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I write this as a disabled wheelchair user. Booked this hotel whilst attending Necastle for a football match, with my wife. We stayed two nights over a weekend. I booked this hotel through the telephone booking line as the web page did not offer any disabled options.
They do not have accesible rooms with a Walk in/ Roll in Showe facility that I need, but for two nights I can put up with it, but should not have to,(disaponinting for a hotel with such a good reputation). On arrival entering the hotel was an ordeal, the access ramp was more like the north face of the eiger, so steep so beware if you are a wheelchair user, leaving is even more perilous. Booking in was a pleasure and staff good and attentive. Room was good clean and tidy, but as I say bathroom a let down for me, (management please do away with the bath, a shower will then fit into the space). The bed was large and had a matress topper which if you are not used to takes some getting used to. Other than that room was suitable.
We ate in the Plates restaurant and I can only say the meal was very good and the staff were excellent as well. Breakfast wast first class and lots of options, on the second night we ate in the chafs bar, meal was also good and the staff excellent. I would reccomend them to all. Although the prices in the bar had been a little dearer than pubs you have to remember it is a hotel so it is something you have to expect and cost into your stay.

Just one big let down, this hotels accepts DOGS with thier guests so if you are allergic to dogs or dislike them this may not be the place for you, these dogs were not service dogs. Remember the mess left in your room may be from a dog!

All said I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the fourth floor and just above the noisy extractor fans of the restaurant en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubbery36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#30 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
904 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
4.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing