We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty expensive, especially if like me you don't find a good online deal. For 3 nights, not including breakfast, I paid £259. For that I would have expected a room that had a better view than just a dirty roof and vents. The room was near enough to the lift that I could hear it in the night.

Bathroom and room were fine, but nothing out of the ordinary. Wifi in the public areas is good but you would have thought it would also be free in the bedrooms. Breakfast is £10 or if you decide on the day, £15!!!! The restaurant is very pricey and the bar extortionate. there are fridges in the room, but nothing in them, not even mineral water and that revolting uht milk! There are only 2 lifts which means waiting for ages sometimes. At the weekend you will find as we did that it was full of wedding parties each day.

All in, although it is a perfectly acceptable place, and the staff were very nice, I think that there are cheaper places that are better, or other similarly priced hotels that provide a better experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    345
    168
    68
    18
See reviews for
114
342
39
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
410 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent 3 days on a business trip, the hotel was recommended for its convenient location for the office. The staff were friendly and efficient, the food was good (especially the fish) and so was its presentation. I was asked every time whether I wanted a side order of chips with my meal (I didn't, the portions were fine without any additional chips) - which made me think that chips are either part of the staple diet or the chef's speciality. Breakfast was the standard fare, nothing spectacular.
Getting a taxi in the morning was easy, there is a company onsite.
My room was clean and tidy - overall the hotel looks dated and in need of an overhaul. There is not much ambience in the lounge or in the bar area. Having said that - the place is popular (most of the people looked past retirement age); the lounge was full with people enjoying afternoon teas, pre-dinner drinks and food (which is served in the lounge as an alternative to the restaurant and the sports bar / restaurant.
On two of the three days the lift was not working in the morning.
Would I go back - yes, I would because it's a convenient place to get to the office, I would not choose the hotel for a leisure break

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked the room as a special surprise for my wife,it was an executive room.
Nice welcome then all down hill after that.
Booked dinner in The Plate Resturant. Wife's starter was full of lumps of FAT asked the waitress's if that was normal, she replied I will ask chef...........Main Course Lamb curry ( chef's special )........
Lamb cold and curry sauce hot, asked waitress if this is normal she replied I will ask chef ..............
We were NOT offered a desert menu or even asked if we would like anything else.
We retired to the Bar area for a night cap, as part of our package we were given Vouchers to use as the Executive Lounge was closed, we then were told the vouchers could only used against certain things ie Pints and small bottled beer...........not to worrie we have ordered some ice for the room before we left for dinner the Champagne will just be chilled nicely...........back to the room....... No Ice.......will we just give in.........we turned in for the night looking forward to our Breakfast.........we were shown to our table and offered Tea or Coffee and asked to make our way to the breakfast cue....... We finally got to the front ..... You have to wait for more eggs,bacon etc by this time the cue for Toast was huge we just went back to our table and had our coffee.
There were plates stacking up around us like it was a busy kitchen area with all manor of breakfast lying on them, it did not give us a confidence about the Main kitchen area.
We then CHECKED OUT...................

Room Tip: Beware of the dried BLOOD STAINS on the en-suit door frame.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Localheromark7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnsfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

stayed here for two weeks with work.

location is a £20 taxi from from train station, rooms are fine, staff are good, the other attendees are mainly rich elderly flowery white people who can talk about their blouse/scarf combinations for endless hours so the bar/restaurant tend to lack atmosphere.

nothing to do around the area if horse racing isn't your thing (and if you're staying here, horse racing probably IS your thing) so you're working at Sage or getting a pricy cab to the cinema or whatever.

still, the place has one massively redeeming feature: the chef!

The venison pie!

The Cajun cod!

The grilled Sea Bass!

I could go on, every meal was memorable, steaks don't seem to be the speciality but this kitchen can put together a fish dish of the highest order.

in the room, the shower was appalling, the beds had a weird cover and the pillows were tiny. but it was acceptable, though the shower does need to be better.

overall, slightly dull but rescued by the food. did I mention the food?

the spa is ok, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was really looking forward to staying here as I was visiting the races with my partner. Excellent location for the races, lots of parking, easy to find. Hotel was busy (because of the guests from the races) which had a nice buzz.

Room was smaller than I imagined which was slightly disappointing. There was a few niggles, but we weren't bothered much because we were going straight out to the races. (Which was a short walk away). Breakfast was okay, good options of fruit/ yoghurt and fry up what you would expect. Overall, great location for races and if you can stay for a good price I would recommend to try it for a night. But unfortunately, old fashioned hotel, no special touches, staff aren't overly pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georginag798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked on line and got really good deal of £60 for 2 people bed and breakfast. So close to the racecourse so brilliant. Staff and facilities excellent. Location really stunning with good walks. Breakfast as much as you need and good variety. Overall very satisfied and would go again any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel was great. Hadn't been there for 27 years since our wedding reception. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and when we had a small problem entering our room due to technical failures with the key card we were offered complimentary drinks. The next day we were given a magnificent replacement suite with a bottle of fizz too. A generous gesture that has cemented our love of the north and in particular the gosforth park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
6.1 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.7 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing