We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Clean, attentive staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, Clean, attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Marriott on many occasions. The hotel has lovely leisure facilities and a nice bar area and reasonable lunch menu, the hotel has a very relaxed feel. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The hotel is a few minutes by taxi away from Newcastle Town Centre (approx £10 by taxi).

The hotel has many conference & Banqueting suites at very reasonable rates.

I will be back. x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    345
    168
    68
    18
See reviews for
114
342
39
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
drum
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a one night break here 7th April and it was very good.Had a small issue with noise but the 2 lads on reception resolved that immediately.Thank you.The restaurant was closed but they served dinner in the exec lounge.The food I have to say was very good and much better than we had expected.The lady serving us looked after us very well.Breakfast had a good choice although the hot items could have been a little warmer.All of the staff were very friendly which is important.Thanks and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I was there several years ago so wondered what would have changed if anything. Upon arrival, at the desk, a young man came up and asked if I'd like a glass of wine? Off to a great start I'd say. It was good wine too! Free Internet in the lobby so I drank my wine and caught up on email. The rooms are pretty standard Marriott rooms. Internet is £15 in the room, which I think is ridiculous these days. What I loved was that they had a selection of pillows with different firmness. I slept like a baby which doesn't often happen in hotels, for me anyway! Breakfast came with my rate and there was hot and cold food and plenty of it. Not too shabby! I continue to like this hotel and it will remain my choice when in the Newcastle area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aukgalgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night DBB after winning a monthly Living Social draw! Janice Davison and the reception staff were very obliging and we were upgraded to an executive room! The rooms were immaculately clean and the bed was spotless and typically standard of what Marriott are best known for...their luxurious beds!
We had our evening meal in the Plate restaurant and were attended to by Swimanee who was very pleasant. We could not fault the service or the food and our compliments go to the chef. My husband said it was the best steak he's had in a long while! Breakfast was of the same excellent standard and my husband had a cheese omlette freshly made in front of him by the chef.!! We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. We would recommend this hotel and will certainly be back! Many thanks to all concerned on a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORDIEJUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Easy to find, park, welcoming helpful Reception staff, very comfortable inter-connecting rooms for family. Nice pool and Beauty salon. Breakfast and Dinner fair and a 'good deal' for what we paid - the only slight 'moan' would be slow restaurant service - ?staff lacking direction. - although always pleasant.

We were happy with our choice of Gosforth Marriott for a first-time trip to Newcastle, Alnwick and Beamish.

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms 334/335.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuffyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Forced to come again due to a work event, the place has not improved. The food was average but the service staff were poor. They seemed very disinterested and gave the impression of really not wanting to be there. The tables being too tightly packed in didn't help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDED084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I stay here maybe 4-6 times a year for business and I get a very good room rate on a room only basis. Breakfast is not worth the additional costs as I start work before it opens.

The rooms are always very clean and the beds are the most comfortable ones I have stayed in. The bar and foyer are very relaxing and comfortable with very helpfully staff. 60mins of free Wi-Fi is a welcome addition but they could go the whole hog and proved it for free like most of the big hotel chains now do.

My one gripe is that in the 5 years I have been coming to the Marriott Gosforth, the menu hasn't changed that much and I think the quality of the food is not as good as it used to be.

In summary, I will continue to use this hotel as it is clean, comfortable, has friendly staff and is just a 5 min drive to my work.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
6.1 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
4.6 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing