We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Clean and tidy room - just wish hotels would provide two easy chairs rather than one ( a personal gripe). Bed was king size and extremely comfortable. First thoughts were that it would be too soft but that because there was a mattress topper - between that and the extra fluffy duvet it was like you'd imagine sleeping on clouds would be (if that was possible).

Food service however was a slight letdown. We had a snack of nachos before going out - it took over 35 minutes for them to arrive (nachos!). Next morning the buffet hot meals were lukewarm (scrambled eggs were actually cold) and we sent the food back; the next day was only marginally warmer. On our final day we opted for room service breakfasts so that we could pack - half of husband's breakfast was delivered and half of mine. Each time, the problem was rectified quickly and with a smile - but they shouldn't have happened in the first place.

There is a bus stop just outside the hotel which takes you into town, stopping at the Haymarket terminus right in the city centre. Buses are frequent and run into evening and on Sundays too.

Staff were lovely, very helpful and always greeted you in the corridors.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: The receptionist gave us a corner room at the end of a corridor and to the rear of hotel - absolutel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    316
    150
    59
    16
See reviews for
101
312
36
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as we were attending a charity function which was hosted there. The hotel is very nice and spacious downstairs, several lounge and bar areas. The function suite was nice and the meal lovely. The bedroom was bigger than expected and a huge double bed, flat screen tv. We did not have breakfast. There is a McDonald's across the road so we grabbed breakfast there. Well worth a stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having read the previous review I was a little worried that I had booked a Spa day here. I shouldn't have it was amazing and the lady I presume was the owner could not have been nicer or more helpful. The salon is gorgeous, all the staff attentive and the treatments to die for. I will definitely be back, can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakey_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

An overall excellent spa day. Beauty therapists and service was excellent. 8 of us enjoyed a well deserved spa day here and we could not fault the service and salon. The girls are attentive and thorough and we are now making are girly trip a regular occurance at Beauty at Gosforth Park. The treatment rooms are tastfully decorated and the lesuire club is well equiped. We could not fault anything and left feeling utterly relaxed.

Would definitely recommend a girly spa day here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is our third stay at the Marriot in Gosforth Park and I’m pleased to say that it is just as good as before.

Check in was efficient and friendly (as to be expected in Newcastle) , we were offered help with our bags up to our rooms. For this stay I had booked two suites, Room 101 (nothing like the room in 1984) and 301. The suites were excellent, comprising of a bedroom, living room and bathroom. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that I got free Wi-Fi (Normally £15 a day, eeek!, though there is good 3G coverage, phew), Access to the executive lounge (though it is only open during week days, so can’t really comment on how useful this is, you can get in at the weekend, and it is nice and quiet in there but I don’t think there is any service) one free drink per guest per day and a free Movie. I’m not sure how much of this is standard and how much was a promotion.

The suite itself was clean and very well appointed, both the bedroom area and the living room had separate heating controls. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, there was plenty of hot water, and there was a grab rail making getting in and out of the bath easier.

A nice extra in the suite livingroom is an iPod dock, there is also a food chiller. The easy chair in room 301 could do with new springs, as when you sit down on it you sink.

I had four meals from room service, two breakfasts, both delivered on time, they could have done with being a bit hotter. The other two meals from room service though were delivered quickly and were hot.

There is currently only one of the two lifts in operation, so this does mean you can wait quite a long time for the lift to arrive. But hopefully this should be sorted out by the end of March as they are having a new lift mechanism put in. The staff will help you with your luggage if you don’t want to wait.

Overall an excellent stay and looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Try out a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westiesarefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend as we were going to the races. However due to the weather , the racing was cancelled. The Hotel was top class rooms very clean , leisure facilities were very good. Although i did find the food and drink expensive. I would say however the pub across the road does excellent bar food (The Falcons Nest)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to a dinner dance and decided to stay overnight.... The show was fab,the food was fab and the staff were excellent!!Our room was really spacious and lovely and clean......last but not least the beds were like sleeping on a cloud I don't usually sleep well in hotels but the beds were sooo comfortable that I didn't stir till morning!would definitely stay there again 5*.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
5.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing