We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
N.Lincs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent a weekend relaxing and doing a bit of shopping and found this hotel perfect for us.
Staff friendly and very friendly, room exceptionally clean. Only drawback was prices within hotel were a little high even for a hotel. Will use hotel again but will eat else where.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dippydennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    336
    160
    64
    17
See reviews for
106
332
37
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a meal here recently, and have to say it was enjoyable, food was nice, but the the service was a little too slow (when the restaurant wasn't particularly busy!). Staff were friendly and was reasonable value for money - ideally 3.5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have experienced this week my worst ever hotel stay. Having been delayed on the A1 and driven for four hours, I arrived just after 11pm, having rung ahead to check that hot food would be available after that time: it was. On checking in, I went to my room to find a loud sound of running water from the radiator. I asked the receoptionist if it could be sorted out, and was assured that it would be checked, as there was no other room available in the hotel that night. I went to the Bar, to find no "delicious international cuisine" in the Plate, nor "casual dining" in Chat's Cafe Bar, no, the food option promised was the 24 hour room service. The bar girl offered me only chicken tikka massala as the hot option, or a ham - or cheese - sandwich. Delightful. The generosity of the bar staff was genuine in offering me a packet of crips free of charge to go with my beer.

On returning to my room, I was locked out, so back down to reception to reactivate my keycard. Back up stairs, only to find the radiator still noisy. Now, I'm not a plumber, but it's pretty obvious to me that the radiator was full of air and needed bleeding. If I had a pair of pliers I would have done it myself. Back down to reception again, by which time, I confess, I lost patience. In my frustration, I tossed my keycard on the desk. It slid onto the floor at the night porter/receptionists' feet, who promptly lost his rag, telling me, before I had even had the chance to say anything, that my behaviour was completely unacceptable. No further help or pliers were offered; I was just told that there was nothing that could be done.

I worked out that by turning the thermostat down to a miniumum setting that the radiator valve would turn off after half an hour or so.

At least the towels were clean after I had a hot shower to warm myself up in the morning after a dreadful night.

I will not be staying at a Marriott ever again.

Despite being advertised as

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Limbic_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

our daughter & her new husband chose this hotel for thier wedding venue, we had a two night stay. most of our families booked in too! the service was excellent! staff were very friendly & could not do enough for everyone. breakfasts were fab, dinner in the plate restaurant was lovely (if a little slow service, but were informed they were short staffed). the wedding itself was perfect. fantastic wedding breakfast & evening buffet. the rooms were perfect, plenty of space, comfortable everyone raved about the soft fluffy beds. very clean, the housekeeping staff were all so lovely to everyone. this in all made everyones stay so pleasurable. well done too to kirsty mcdonald for co-ordinating the wedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jockmcnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Attended a wedding and pushed the boat out and stayed in a corner suite. Mattresses were like sleeping on a cloud, room service very quick and fabulous choice. We had a small reception for friends before the evening function and the hotel supplied all drinks and food at a very reasonable price, service was very good and the staff excelled themselves

Room Tip: The suites are divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was part of a group who stayed here for one night on business and was very impressed with the hotel. On checking in, we were given a complimentery glass of wine and some canapes - a very nice touch! The rooms were a good size and very comfortable, with a selection of tea/coffee making facilities. Good choice of tv channel as well, which I often find is a problem in some hotels.
We stayed on a DBB option and I have to say the food was excellent. We ate from the 3 course set menu and everyone in the party thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The breakfast selection the following morning was varied and really nice - there is a selection of both hot and cold foods. The service in the restaurant was also very good and the staff were friendly and polite.
The only thing I would say is that if you're visiting Newcastle for shopping/nightlife then this hotel maybe isn't for you as it's about 20mins outside of the city centre in a taxi - fine for us as we were based at the nearby business park but could be costly for those travelling in and out of the centre of Newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_jfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just stayed at the Marriott Gosforth on the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal. It is handy for Newcastle and the Metro Centre which was great for Xmas shopping.
The hotel is nicely decorated inside and our room (executive after our free upgrade) was clean and comfortable. On arrival we had 2 single beds instead of the double we had requested but this was quickly and politely dealt with while we enjoyed 4 free drinks in the bar.
The Plate restaurant is very good for dinner and breakfast and the value was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
4.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing