We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Hotel - Fantastic Food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Fantastic Food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was part of a group who stayed here for one night on business and was very impressed with the hotel. On checking in, we were given a complimentery glass of wine and some canapes - a very nice touch! The rooms were a good size and very comfortable, with a selection of tea/coffee making facilities. Good choice of tv channel as well, which I often find is a problem in some hotels.
We stayed on a DBB option and I have to say the food was excellent. We ate from the 3 course set menu and everyone in the party thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The breakfast selection the following morning was varied and really nice - there is a selection of both hot and cold foods. The service in the restaurant was also very good and the staff were friendly and polite.
The only thing I would say is that if you're visiting Newcastle for shopping/nightlife then this hotel maybe isn't for you as it's about 20mins outside of the city centre in a taxi - fine for us as we were based at the nearby business park but could be costly for those travelling in and out of the centre of Newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_jfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    315
    150
    59
    16
See reviews for
101
311
36
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just stayed at the Marriott Gosforth on the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal. It is handy for Newcastle and the Metro Centre which was great for Xmas shopping.
The hotel is nicely decorated inside and our room (executive after our free upgrade) was clean and comfortable. On arrival we had 2 single beds instead of the double we had requested but this was quickly and politely dealt with while we enjoyed 4 free drinks in the bar.
The Plate restaurant is very good for dinner and breakfast and the value was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here when visiting Newcastle for a friends birthday. It is a taxi ride in to the city centre but that is cheap and fast. The Inside is much nicer than the outside suggests. The only issue is it is a bit of a maze but the room was nice and service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel was just ok. Rooms were cold. Bathrooms were in need of a update. Our room view was very nice. Receptionist was nice, but the twice I had to go to reception folk were there complaining. The swimming pool was nice but was a bit of a walk to get too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barleyfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely staff - executive lounge staff are exceptionally welcoming. Rooms are fairly standard Marriott style furnishings. Good standard of upkeep - except the lifts which take an age and stop sporadically at floors. Worth getting a suite for the additional living room as makes huge difference when you travel a lot to have the extra room. Ample parking and just off A1 but its about £10-15 in taxi into city centre. There are some good places to eat in Gosforth itself which isn't as far as town. Plates restaurant in the hotel is actually pretty good although lacks a bit of atmosphere when its not very busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westendmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
269 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located in Gosforth Park so very handy for the Races, and easy access off the A1. Need car or taxi into Newcastle City Centre.

1960's style building and showing it's age from the outside. Inside is a typical Marriott offering, but with some nice touches

What's good:

- Very nice lobby area (good for meetings etc)
- Great Bar with decent bar food (Chats)
- Club feel to the Exec Lounge (good evening snacks)
- Pleasant rooms
- Countryside feel though very cloe to Newcastle
- Good leisure facilities (Gym overlooks Gosforth Park)
- Friendly staff (well it is the North East!)
- Free parking

What's not so good:

- Rooms are quite small
- Old metal room windows create lots of condensation
- Lifts are painfully slow
- Exec Lounge breakfast wasn't great

Worth considering if you have a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PJT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

first time here.. greeted to a warm welcome off receptionist , our room was bit small for a family of 2 bit outdated and found few hairs in the bath :S this was birthday treat leisure faclities was A bit smelly and whirlpool was out of use that day. we went to bar for a meal bit rowdy following group of stags.. breakfast was faultless best part of our stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
5.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing