We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
320
384
184
71
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
384
184
71
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaton burn swimming pool executive room two double beds gosforth park sauna and steam room coach party no lift the ground floor good size air con leisure facilities restaurant staff would stay again public areas family room city centre
Filter
Updating list...
621 - 626 of 993 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Have stayed here a number of times and have usually been very pleased with it. This was our best stay! We had one of the newly refurbished air conditioned rooms, although air con not needed. Room excellent - especially the very tasteful and well equipped bathroom. Fixed price menu in restaurant was very good value and our meals were tasty and well presented. All staff were efficient and pleasant, especially Faye, in Reception, and we are looking forward to our return visit later this month.

Room Tip: Ground floor refurbished room at East side of hotel look over a field and are very quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryC251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

What a wonderful review and thank you for mentioning Faye on reception - she will greatly appreciate it. Your kind comments re the bedroom and food are also appreciated and will be shared with the team. Thank you, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Have tried a few hotels out in the newcastle area. I have to say my business stay here was very comfortable . I was given one of the new rooms, which was extremely clean, with a lovely huge bed. Tara on reception was very welcoming and helpful. My only suggestion to the hotel is that the wifi in my room was slow, which isn't great if working late....much faster in the bar area. Would stay again!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your great feedback and for recognising Tara who will be chuffed to bits. Great to read that you enjoyed our new bedrooms to..Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Holiday Inn makes no pretence at being anything other than a chain. However, it knows it's business and does it very well. We stayed for one night to go to Newcastle races. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, booking us a taxi to the racecourse and handing us a card for cheaper fares back to the hotel later on. The room was spacious, very clean and had all the usual facilities one would expect. We had a drink in the bar where the batman was exceptionally helpful and friendly. I left my bottle of prosecco behind the bar for later on and it was sealed and clearly labelled on our return.
Late-ish nibbles were excellent; simple nachos were plenty after a successful day at the races! Breakfast was simple, plentiful, fresh and good value when pre-booked. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment but this was very unobtrusive; the decorators were just as lovely as the hotel staff.
Our only quibble, and the reason for four rather than five stars, was the bathroom. It was just a bit poky, a touch too dark for make-up application and the bath ran very slowly indeed. However, we reported a leaky tap on checkout which was immediately entered into the maintenance log and I believe it will be very quickly addressed. After checkout, we sat in the lounge - which is cosy and well furnished, unlike many other corporate chains - and the batman obligingly put on the cricket for my husband to watch. Again, excellent service!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you Melanie W for your wonderful comments which are a pleasure to read. And congratulations for a successful visit to the Races - not many can say that! Your kind words will be appreciated by all the departments you mention and go a long way in recognising the team. Thank you again, Norrie Oswald, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We recently stayed here with our 2 children for 3 nights. We were impressed with the room even though it wasn't one of the refurbished rooms. It was lovely and big, lots of space, very quiet, perfect when you have children. We decided to eat in the restaurant on the first evening, it wasn't busy only 6 tables being used, after ordering at 7.20pm, we were still waiting at 9pm. We did ask twice where our food was and were told by a very stressed lady 'we are busy' so we left and ended up in burgerking for something quick for the children. Reception staff were brilliant and very apologetic it was the rest of the team that night let her down. I enjoyed the use of the gym, nice and cold with enough equipment for what I needed. The children enjoyed the use of the pool, however the pool area is so hot, we had to keep having a quick shower to keep cool. The ladies changing room are really dirty, hair all over the floor in the shower area on all 3 days. Nice hotel, great location but in need of some staff that want to be there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cadrian234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies for not looking after you and your family as we would normally do. The operations team at the hotel have taken steps to ensure that our service levels are back to where they were & where they should be. Once again, my apologies.
Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Myself and two friends stayed overnight here on Saturday night (26th July). As we were going to Ladies Day at Newcastle Races we wanted to check in slightly earlier so we could be ready and at the races for the first race. The hotel were able to accommodate our request which was very much appreciated! The hotel also booked a taxi for us to take us to the races.

We were in a King Size Executive Room which was very nice - the king size bed was HUGE! We didn't have time to experience any of the hotel's facilities, other than a coffee the next morning shortly after checking out, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MarshMellowBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your great feedback and appreciation of the service and for our new Executive King beds - they are just great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews