We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveler rating
317
381
181
71
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
381
181
71
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaton burnswimming poolexecutive roomtwo double bedsgosforth parksauna and steam roomno liftcoach partythe ground floorair congood sizeleisure facilitiesrestaurant staffwould stay againpublic areasfamily roomcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
621 - 626 of 983 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

we stayed for three nights and have no complaints at all. Staff all lovely and very helpful. Room clean and beds very comfortable. Breakfast was great. Kids ate free:). A lot of work going on to update the place. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paulinej63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you Pauline for your kind words and praise which is always appreciated by the team and by myself. The first section of rooms is almost there - just a few finishing touches to be added. We are very happy with the work so far. The kids eat free for breakfast was introduced by Holiday Inn many years ago and still remains very popular. Long may it continue. Hope to see you on a future visit. kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having stayed in many Holiday Inns around the country this WAS amongst our mostly highly rated until our recent stay!! Our room was so hot it was unbearable at times. There was an air-conditioning unit in the room which was not working and a small table fan. We mentioned to the receptionist about the air-conditioning and was very abruptly informed the air-con in all the rooms were out of action "which is why we do not advertise air-con on the website" She offered us a fan but the one we had was only circulating the warm air and felt another would not have made any difference. It made for 3 very uncomfortable nights.

Also each day after returning to our room after it had been serviced we found the keys did not work, again we told we this was probably because they had been kept next to phones in our pockets etc even though we kept the keys in the same place all the time and they worked when we returned to our room later in the evening.

I think the front of house staff need lessons from the housekeeping staff who were all very polite, helpful and courteous

Room Tip: As there is no lift - chose a ground floor room if your have trouble with stairs
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedslassie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you Leedslassie1 for your review after your recent stay. I can only apologise that the aircon wasn't working and yes, we don't advertise this facility but we are adding more cool rooms each month with more planned later this year. In Newcastle there isn't always a need for cool rooms however an uncomfortably hot rooms leads to an unpleasant stay & we are in the position with new ownership to be working our way through the rooms to make them more modern and cooler.
As reception said keys can be cancelled by mobiles and other things and I am sorry that was the case. The coding system is not sophisticated enough to indicate what has caused the interference unfortunately. On a future visit please do feel free to contact myself or in house reservations to ensure you have a room with a working cooling unit. We would like to change the capital "WAS" back to "IS". Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just stayed 2nights , hotel noticeably better than last time I stayed. Good points room spotless, hotel spotless, good decor, lounge a lot better nice place to sit and have a drink. Only had breakfast but it was of good quality and the dining staff were very polite and discrete in the way they served you. A general comment keep up the good work and the standards , a personal thank you to the housekeeping team they are doing a fantastic job. Look forward to seeing the results of the refurb. Hope the Stag and Hen parties that used to frequent the hotel stay away . Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coraddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you coraddo for a great review and like you I hope the Stag & Hen parties enjoy the more central located hotels! your very positive feedback is greatly received and goes a long way to appreciate the work the team do carry out. Cleanliness was always a strong point and now we are having better facilities it helps improve our customers experience. The first section of rooms are open but will need the finishing touches of artwork and corridor carpet - we expect that to be carried out within the next 10 days. The next project will new air con units. Hope to see you on your next visit. Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best feature was the big car park. Rooms were ok with probably the smallest double bed I've seen in a hotel. Didn't use the pool, but saw the gym, it looked smaller than the bed. Most disappointing feature was the buffet breakfast, it didn't need to be that average. our bedroom was hotter than the food. Not great, but I guess it one of those hotels you use for one night, and not a holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you george g for your review from your recent stay.
Our standard double room beds are 4'6" which are being replaced in our refurbished rooms with king size beds - for info the headboard needs replacing in order to change the beds. This will continue in 2014 & 2015.
We have 2 gyms available at the hotel and the plan is also to combine these - as you say they are not large rooms but very rarely is there anyone waiting to access the equipment which is more important.
I am truly sorry that the breakfast wasn't right for you and I do hope you informed the team on the day allowing them to make amends.
Thank you for your feedback, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We asked for a quiet room and stayed in 144. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings of our stay. The food was very nice, presented well and portion sizes were good. The staff were very busy but were really nice, attentive and couldn't do enough to make our experience a good one. The reception and bar staff were very good. Housekeepers kept our room spotless, beds very comfortable. Although there are currently building works taking place this did not affect our stay at all. Definitely a place we would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoventryPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your review and your very kind appreciation of the teams looking after you - it is very much appreciated. kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews