We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveler rating
317
379
180
70
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
379
180
70
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaton burnswimming poolexecutive roomtwo double bedsgosforth parksauna and steam roomno liftcoach partythe ground floorair congood sizeleisure facilitiesrestaurant staffwould stay againpublic areasfamily roomcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 979 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best feature was the big car park. Rooms were ok with probably the smallest double bed I've seen in a hotel. Didn't use the pool, but saw the gym, it looked smaller than the bed. Most disappointing feature was the buffet breakfast, it didn't need to be that average. our bedroom was hotter than the food. Not great, but I guess it one of those hotels you use for one night, and not a holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you george g for your review from your recent stay.
Our standard double room beds are 4'6" which are being replaced in our refurbished rooms with king size beds - for info the headboard needs replacing in order to change the beds. This will continue in 2014 & 2015.
We have 2 gyms available at the hotel and the plan is also to combine these - as you say they are not large rooms but very rarely is there anyone waiting to access the equipment which is more important.
I am truly sorry that the breakfast wasn't right for you and I do hope you informed the team on the day allowing them to make amends.
Thank you for your feedback, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We asked for a quiet room and stayed in 144. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings of our stay. The food was very nice, presented well and portion sizes were good. The staff were very busy but were really nice, attentive and couldn't do enough to make our experience a good one. The reception and bar staff were very good. Housekeepers kept our room spotless, beds very comfortable. Although there are currently building works taking place this did not affect our stay at all. Definitely a place we would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoventryPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your review and your very kind appreciation of the teams looking after you - it is very much appreciated. kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A few weekends back I took a group of 18 to stay at this hotel for a long weekend, whilst we celebrated my birthday. We all had a great time and the hotels amenities were perfect for what we needed, seeing as we were out and about a lot. The rooms were a great size, as was the lounge area and the bar area was ideal for us men whilst we waited for the women to finish off getting ready! The interior décor is in great condition and they even told us they were having a massive refurb so it will be good to go back to see how it all turns out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your recent review Michael K after your recent group visit. I hoped you all enjoyed the local attractions and thanks for using our bar facilities. The first phase of bedroom refurbishment will finish late July with plans to continue doing even more rooms this year & next. It is an exciting time for the hotel and hopefully you will see even more improvements on your next visit. Kind regards, Norrie Oswald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I travel a lot for work and whenever I have an appointment in Newcastle or the surrounding areas I always stay here, simply because it’s in a prime location for getting straight onto the A1, especially when the traffic is bad. The staff are always welcoming and make me feel completely comfortable, ensuring I have everything I need to make the most out of every business trip and I like the fact that they remember my face. If anyone is travelling to the Newcastle area for a business trip or for leisure I’d absolutely recommend this place. The fact that there is free parking and wifi is also a bonus! Would say the rooms could do with a facelift but since that's already happening I will leave it at that. Looking forward to my next stay here and hopefulyl I'll be in a new room so I can check them out

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your loyal custom and for continuing to choose to stay with us when in the area. The addition of free Wi-Fi has been well received since the sale of the hotel and the current refurbishment of the bedrooms in addition to the public areas will provide great facilities for our guests and our teams. The first 40 rooms are finishing late July so please do think of booking one for your next visit. kind regards, Norrie Oswald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Me and the girls recently spent a relaxing weekend in Newcastle, staying here and we couldn't be happier with the service provided. After a long day shopping it wa the perfect place to come back to for a drink and a natter on before getting ready for a night on the town! If we all manage to get away for a weekend soon we'll most definitely be heading back there, it was ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtneyy_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your review from you ladies weekend away shopping. We are not centrally located as you will know so not ideal for the hustle bustle weekend of pubs and clubs but we do offer a relaxing space for discerning groups. Thank you, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews